5/27 Willow PMPS~82, +3~54, +4~56

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 5/27 Willow AMPS~172, +4~71, +5~24

Wow! That 24 pretty low!
May I ask what are you giving Willow to bring up the bg? i am facing the same situation with Rosy at the moment...
 
Re: 5/27 Willow AMPS~172, +4~71, +5~24

Right now he's getting some HC (high carb). After next test, if he's not rising enough, he'll be getting honey.
 
Re: 5/27 Willow AMPS~172, +4~71, +5~24

You want him out of the 20s. Did you get another test, yet?
 
Re: 5/27 Willow AMPS~172, +4~71, +5~24, +5.25~41

Dyana, he just likes to prove the point that the dosecrease was earned. He's a bit overdramatic. lol I'm glad he's decided that today is a good day to respond to HC... for now. Next check in 15.
 
Re: 5/27 Willow AMPS~172, +4~71, +5~24, +5.25~41

Whew! I would call that a definite 0.25 dose reduction coming up.
Keep up the testing, in case the HC wears off. His nadir is around +8?
 
Re: 5/27 Willow AMPS~172, +4~71, +5~24, +5.25~41

I think his nadir is earlier... I don't have enough data to decide definitely though. Waiting for him to come out from under the bed for next test (the dog kissed him so he went into hiding :roll: )
 
Re: 5/27 Willow AMPS~172, +4~71, +5~24, +5.25~41

Willow is so cute! He hates the dog kiss? It's not the kiss of the cat woman! :lol:
Congrats on the reducie! I'd have panic with that 24! nailbite_smile
 
Re: 5/27 Willow AMPS~172, +6~41, +6.25~47

Just realized I messed up on time, so it's been fixed in the subject line. He's up to 47 and now he's getting the grumpies.
 
Re: 5/27 Willow AMPS~172, +6~41, +6.25~47

The :lol: was for the yucky doggy kisses.

I would keep that 24 whatever time it was in your first Subject line, just so people can see it, who may be helping you or supporting you.

He got HC at +6 and again at +6.25?
 
Re: 5/27 Willow AMPS~172, +4~71, +5~24, +5.25~41

tortie58 said:
Willow is so cute! He hates the dog kiss? It's not the kiss of the cat woman! :lol:
Congrats on the reducie! I'd have panic with that 24! nailbite_smile

Thanks! If it was a kiss from another cat, especially from cat woman, he'd be horrified. The love of his life is MR. Printer. lol No panic on Willow's lows only because we've been at this awhile (he's been diabetic since the end of 2006), he has a fondness for steep out of the blue drops (he loves LO on the meter) and very high highs. We definitely had panic moments early on, and last year he had some lows that he couldn't get out of (because he decided to stop eating totally and wasn't responding to HC, honey, syrup, etc. so we ended up at the emergency vet.
 
Re: 5/27 Willow AMPS~172, +6~41, +6.25~47

Dyana said:
The :lol: was for the yucky doggy kisses.

I would keep that 24 whatever time it was in your first Subject line, just so people can see it, who may be helping you or supporting you.

He got HC at +6 and again at +6.25?


LOL I figured as much. Edited subject to add back the 24. Since the dose reduction point was made very clear, he got a little over 1.5 tbsp of HC at +5.75 for the 24, and about a tsp at +6, then MC at +6.25. He'll get more HC at +6.5 if he's not still rising.
 
Re: 5/27 Willow AMPS~172, +5.75~24, +6~41, +6.25~47

I think if he wants to surf the 40s that's okay, and you can stay with a bit of MC with each test.
If he goes lower than 47, then give him a teaspoon of HC.

Ah, I see you updated. Okay, now it's time to surf, Willow.
 
Re: 5/27 Willow AMPS~172, +5.75~24, +6~41, +6.25~47, +6.5~56

Such a nice boy, Willow! Responding so well to the HC. 56's better. I'd feel more 'secure"! :lol:
 
Re: 5/27 Willow AMPS~172, +5.75~24, +6.5~56, +7~64

Willow is lovely & you are doing great with helping him to surf.
Ive screwed up with giving too much HC, the girl is in yellow now! ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 5/27 Willow AMPS~172, +5.75~24, +6.5~56, +7~64

tortie58 said:
Willow is lovely & you are doing great with helping him to surf.
Ive screwed up with giving too much HC, the girl is in yellow now! ohmygod_smile

It's a learning curve though. I know he differs from a lot of the kitties because they readily take HC in small amounts at each test and then surf. If he's low and has earned the dosecrease, I usually just give a good amount of HC with that first test and hope he responds to it because I know he tends to refuse to eat completely when he's low and I'm needing to test frequently. In addition to that, he never use to surf before, so this is a new thing for us.
 
Re: 5/27 Willow AMPS~172, +5.75~24, +6.5~56, +7~64

and a new insulin. Keep surfing Willow.
 
Re: 5/27 Willow AMPS~172, +5.75~24, +8~57

Sienne and Gabby said:
Hey Jordan -- Can you put a note on your SS when you switched to Lev?


It was at PM shot on 5/10. I've added a more visible note in the remarks column.
 
Re: 5/27 Willow AMPS~172, +11.75~36, +12~38

Oh man. I guess you're going to have to stall, and feed too, I think. I'm trying to get some other eyes on this.
I've had a rare experience like this and had to stall for quite some time. Do you have to work tomorrow?
 
Re: 5/27 Willow +12~38, +12.25~65

He's free fed, so he'd have food regardless, but I gave HC and he's up to 65.
 
Re: 5/27 Willow +12~38, +12.25~65

The only reference I could find quickly was my experience (and we were still using Lantus at the time) on 05/29/10
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...melpVbUpsVHZ6N1pYa0h5a1J0S3c&hl=en&ui=1#gid=0
It looks like I was feeding him at +12, +12.5, +12.75, and finally shot his regular dose at +13.75.
How flexible is your schedule? I think you should get a couple rising numbers, and then shoot his new reduced dose.
Hopefully, someone else will come along to confirm.
 
Re: 5/27 Willow +12~38, +12.25~65

Are you OK re. your schedule with stalling?

Generally, I'd suggest trying LC and re-testing in 15 - 20 min. You don't know if it's the HC that bumped up the numbers or if Willow's numbers are coming up more on their own.
 
Re: 5/27 Willow +12~38, +12.25~65, +12.75~89

Yep, I have no plans tonight and I'm off tomorrow, so I'm good schedule wise. I gave a little HC for the 36, a bit more for the 38 just to try to tempt him to eat, then switched him back to LC.
 
Re: 5/27 Willow +12~38, +12.25~65, +12.75~89

If you're okay with your schedule being off, how about 1 more test at +13?
 
Re: 5/27 Willow +12~38, +12.25~65, +12.75~89

Okay. She told you twice today, that she needs a reduction. Can you do a s1.25? Maybe you can practice that for those 10 minutes.
 
Re: 5/27 Willow +12~38, +12.75~89, +13~82

Ya, he's definitely stuck on this reduction thing. I can shoot s1.25.
 
Re: 5/27 Willow PMPS~82

It's okay. If ever you were going to do a fur shot, this would be the time ;-) Hopefully, most if not all, got in.

Again, the HC will wear off, so test at +1 and +2 to start your night. Uh, you don't have to sleep tonight, do ya?
 
Re: 5/27 Willow PMPS~82

It kind of looks to me like he's onsetting around +4 or +5 which would be typical with lev and perhaps why you got that 24 this morning. Keep in mind, too, that lev can get a second dip like lantus. Which "might" be what you are seeing with this low number this late. Ad I do emphasize that that is a "might" because who knows for sure with him this sson on lev.

But something to consider.
 
Re: 5/27 Willow PMPS~82

Dyana... sleep? What's that? lol No need for sleep, I'm battling an upper respiratory infection, in addition to my usual insomnia so not sure sleep was in the cards anyway.

Thanks for the input Marjorie. Definitely something to consider.
 
Re: 5/27 Willow PMPS~82

You're welcome. :-D

Hope you feel better soon Jordan and hope Willow responds as well to lev as Gracie has. :-D :-D
 
Re: 5/27 Willow PMPS~82

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Hope you feel better soon Jordan and hope Willow responds as well to lev as Gracie has. :-D :-D
I hope you feel better soon, too, Jordan. Take care of you too. Like sips of juice and naps whenever you can.
I think Willow is already responding very well to Lev ;-)
 
Re: 5/27 Willow PMPS~82, +1~72, +2~70, +3~54

Wow! Willow is still surfing! My salute, good boy! You need some of the "strong stuff" Rosy got? :lol:
The bean, pls get a bit of nap time! Take care! Hugs!
 
I am so happy with Willow's numbers, as I'm sure you are too :mrgreen:

Did you get any more tests last night? Because onset is just around +4, usually, with Lev.
Hope any bounce he gets is gentle. And, good luck with the new dose :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top