5/27 Sly AMPS 108 +2 122 +3.5 112 +5.5 115 PMPS 103 +5 90

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melanie and Smokey

Member Since 2010
Sly's having a little blue streak. I was going to get a test on him last night before bed to see if he went back down, then I just fell asleep.

Talked to the shelter manager yesterday. She understands Sly's uncooperative nature in changing foods and doesn't see a reason to force the issue as long as he isn't puking. I was giving him some Fortiflora when he wasn't feeling good, maybe that and the flagyl will have righted something wrong in his tummy and we won't see the vomiting again.


Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-25-sly-amps-91-2-5-84-6-93-pmps-85-3-95.138422/
 
Is it just me or doesn't he just about earn a dose reduction for staying at normal numbers for another week? Glad to see he's feeling so much better- amazing how good it feels not to be puking! go Sly!!
 
Yes, tomorrow would be Sly's 7th day and we were looking at starting a trial off of insulin for him. (don't ask me to do less than 0.1U, I usually skip that, hubby's been whining all week on measuring that dose!)
But...
I hesitate to stop the insulin if we are going to be trying to change his food to a 16-17% carb. I was also told by that vet who is looking at his stomach that I was not to take him off of the insulin. Waiting for the followup call from them to see what happens when they find out he won't eat that food and we've stopped the clavamox.
With these higher numbers today, he might just be at home puking too, his puking streaks were usually accompanied by blues.
So I am kind of playing things by the cuff. If he looks better tomorrow and back into greens, I will probably email or text the shelter manager and talk to her about taking him off of insulin. We need to get him back on the adoption list at some point here!
 
My husband would insist there is nothing coming out :rolleyes: But I can see that there is insulin in the barrel. I pull insulin in and then push back to just touch above the 0 line and I can see the insulin still below that line. If my husband is following those instructions when he has been giving the shot at night I do not know, but he knows how important consistency is so I am sure he is trying. He just has fat fingers and bad eyes:oops:

Sly was a bit off today so the higher numbers were not a surprise. The last couple of mornings he's been VERY playful and snuggly. Today he was back up on the back of the couch napping.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top