? 5/27 Shiloh ~ AMPS 221, +10 236, PMPS 263, +1 263, +3 160!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Are you following Start Low Go Slow (SLGS) or Tight Regulation (TR) for dosing? If you could put either TR or SLGS in your signature, then I can stop asking. ;) Whether you increase or not depends on the answer to that question.

Sweet on the leg pats - love it when they ask for attention. :)
 
You do test enough for TR, so thanks for putting that in your signature. From the protocol sticky:

Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
Shiloh is seeing quite a bit of blues. I might hold for the 8th cycle (tomorrow) and if you don't see green before then, you can increase tomorrow night.
 
Thanks Wendy. My two main concerns with TR are 1) I haven't tested for ketones (which applies to both), and I haven't started feeding canned food. I know it is greatly encouraged, and I used to feed canned twice a day (one can of FF split between three cats, 1/3 for each, twice a day). But for the last five years, Shiloh has only eaten dry, as has my civie. Plus I work all day, very seldom have the chance to come home and check during the day. So I have free-fed for years.

There have been so many changes for her in the last two weeks, I have been delaying (or avoiding) the switch.
 
Ahh, if you are still feeding dry food, then you need to stick with SLGS for now. In that case, you wait a week at a dose, then do either a 12 hour or 18 hour curve, then make a decision on dose. So hold the dose for now, and do a curve on the weekend and decide after that.

Most people here who work during the day either leave plates of wet food out (if their cat is a grazer) or use automatic feeders (if the cat is a hoover). Doing changes slowly is a good thing, then you can see the impact of each change.
 
I just hate to separate them during the day. They are very bonded. Have been together for 11 years.
 

Attachments

  • 1960856_10201698809812501_1230182791_o.jpg
    1960856_10201698809812501_1230182791_o.jpg
    70.1 KB · Views: 63
  • 1920405_10201611537030736_85422178_n.jpg
    1920405_10201611537030736_85422178_n.jpg
    76.9 KB · Views: 56
Is there any way that one meal in the morning, one at about 5pm and a snack about 9pm works?

Or can I feed those meals and leave some dry out for grazing?
 
Last edited:
If you can, I'd get a +4 test.

It's ideal to feed most of their food before nadir, or in the first half of the cycle. If you think of the insulin curve, in the last half of the cycle the effect of the insulin easing off and coasting towards preshot time. If you add carbs at that point, it's like slamming on the brakes, which would result in higher preshots. What time is your shot time? Not sure what 5PM and 9PM means in relation to that.
 
What I meant to say was feeding in the morning after her am shot at 7, then 5 pm when I get home, before her 7 pm shot, then about 9pm or 10pm before bed.
 
The PM feeding is fine. We try to make sure they don't have food for at least two hours before the shot, as it could influence the preshot number. That can be an issue if you get a low preshot and don't know whether or not it is food influenced.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top