5/27 Rusty PMPS 130, +4.5 136

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

Member Since 2010
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=44155

Good Friday Morning, Everyone,

The rains have subsided for the moment (expected back big time this afternoon). It is warm & humid and feels like "hurricane weather". Rusty is GREEN at AMPS!! He had a good night and was eager for breakfast, which was served in 3 sittings to avoid scarf 'n barf. He was so good during the storms yesterday. They didn't seem to faze him a bit. We had a brief play with Red Ears and his string this morning, but since he gets to go outside, Rusty hasn't been much interested in his old games. That's winter stuff, I guess!

Lots of chores today: my DS comes tomorrow for the holiday weekend, which includes our first "official" paddle of the season and a picnic on Monday. She has lots of physical "hurts" this spring and wonders if she'll be able to paddle. This weekend will be the indicator whether or not she'll be able to come to Canoe Outing in July (the $ is due on 1 June). I hope she'll be able to paddle. I don't like to see her giving up stuff she likes to do (she's 83).
Cellar bailing has been done for this morning (a mess: we had so much rain yesterday). House has been cleaned. Rusty has been combed (by Edward), and we are about to walk to the post office before it starts to rain again. Grocery shopping this afternoon. I'll be checking in from time to time.

Enjoy the day, and all ailing kitties: feel better,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 5/27 Rusty AMPS 90

Pretty AMPS, Ella! :mrgreen: I think Rusty likes this dose. I'm sorry I haven't gotten to your condo lately, life is busy. I hope your swimming hole becomes a cellar again soon, what a chore to have to deal with that constantly this spring! I hope you will get a stretch of drier weather and it will help lower the water table.....let's send the rain to Texas, they need it! We have gotten a lot of rain too, but it hasn't created any problems for us so far, other than trying to get a chance to mow the grass before it gets knee high! I hope your DS will be able to paddle, staying active keeps you young!

Have a great day!
 
Re: 5/27 Rusty AMPS 90

Gorgeous amps!
Rusty is like his Beans, outdoorsy!

Hope your DS can go paddling and you enjoy your long weekend together
 
Re: 5/27 Rusty AMPS 90

Hi guys .. love, love, love the green start to the day rusty!! You are looking good! Glad the storms didn't faze him yesterday .. I hope that your DS can also go on the paddling trip with you .. even though when I read that she was 83 I felt like crawling back into bed in shame :lol: Hope you guys have a great day!
 
Re: 5/27 Rusty AMPS 90

Beautiful start for the day! Rusty is an amazing cat, likes to ride in the car and isn't afraid of thunder. We don't get many thunder boomers here (I actually miss them) but when we do Tess heads straight under the comforter!
 
Re: 5/27 Rusty AMPS 90, +5.5 36(!), +6.5 69 Dose ?

Hi again,
Wow, 36 at +5.5! Tested again and got 37. Fed him his lunch, but mixed his usual Wellness turkey with FF T&G (which is only 3% but which has the effect of MC on Rusty). Retested 45 minutes later, at +6.5, and he was up to 69, but there is probably a food spike there. Will test again at +7.5 to get a more accurate reading.

Question: Rusty has been on a dose of fat 0.75 for 11 cycles. I know that the 36 is an automatic reduction. Should I take it down to a "regular" 0.75 (which he was on for 10 cycles), or go back to a skinny 0.75 (which he had been on for 80 cycles). Advice is much appreciated.

No rain yet today!!! But it looks threatening.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 5/27 Rusty AMPS 90, +5.5 36(!), +6.5 69 Dose ?

Bumpin you up

Nice goin Rusty! Hooray for the dose reduction.

Unbelievable that you are still getting rain....will it ever let up?

Have a great weekend with the DS paddling, sounds like fun.
 
Re: 5/27 Rusty AMPS 90, +5.5 36(!), +6.5 69, +7.5 72 Dose ?

Rusty got a dose Crease!!! WHOOO HOOOOO!!!!! Hope you have a great weekend with DS !
Look at those numbers! Rusty is doing amazing--What a great job you are doing with him... ;-) ;-) ;-)
Hope your basement will be dry as a bone soon--NY is supposed to be dry for several days now--Paws & fingers crossed for ya!
Have a great weekend & enjoy tonite--Lub & Hugs from us!! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
Rusty could you come down here for a beach party?? It's a perfect night--surfs up, Moon's out, fishes all over to eat- come on down--Lubs you Moonie
 
Re: 5/27 Rusty AMPS 90 +5.5 36 +6.5 69 +7.5 72 +9.5 90 Dose

Hi again,
With the exception of the 36 at +5.5, Rusty's numbers today thus far have been similar to yesterday. I wonder if the 36 was an aberration? I think I'll take the reduction, but to a "regular" 0.75 and see what happens. Any opinion/advice?

Violent thunderstorms with very heavy rain from mid-afternoon on. I got stuck in Lake Placid without my raingear! (fortunately I had an umbrella in the car). Rusty and Edward listened to Wagner's Lohengrin. Rusty howled when he heard Franz Volker (the tenor). He had listened carefully up to that point. Edward was amused and turned it off!!

Ella
 
Re: 5/27 Rusty AMPS 90 +5.5 36 +6.5 69 +7.5 72 +9.5 90 Dose

Congratulations on the dosecrease; I can't believe Rusty's numbers. Sorry about more storms.
 
Re: 5/27 Rusty AMPS 90, +5.5 36(!), +6.5 69, +7.5 72 Dose ?

Hi Ella, congrats on the dosecrease!

I'm not as familiar with Rusty, but I took a look at his SS, and here are my thoughts. He seems to be a little like Tinkles in that he is pretty sensitive to small dose adjustments, so I think you could take a smaller adjustment than the full 0.25u even though he did go down into the 30s. He has also been diagnosed for more than a year, so he should have to work a little harder to earn reductions, by going below 40 (or below 50 three times). You could take the smaller reduction to 0.75u if you are able to monitor and are comfortable doing that, or you could go with a larger reduction, to s0.75u...he did get down into the 30s, after all! Are you going to be able to get mid cycle checks this weekend? I know you usually do, but I wasn't sure if you had plans to be out of the house all day..that would be the deciding factor for me.

Personally, I would lean toward the larger reduction if I were in your shoes, because it was a number in the 30s. You can always go back up if the reduction fails.

Maybe others will chime in, they may think differently.
 
Re: 5/27 Rusty AMPS 90 +5.5 36 +6.5 69 +7.5 72 +9.5 90 Dose

IMHO, the deciding factor regarding dose, for me, would be whether you're going to be around to monitor over the next few days.
 
Re: 5/27 Rusty AMPS 90 +5.5 36 +6.5 69 +7.5 72 +9.5 90 Dose

Via phone .... WOW on the numbers today. Very nice! Sorry to be so brief .... typing on this thing is so much fun!!! Have a nice evening!
 
Re: 5/27 Rusty AMPS 90 +5.5 36 +6.5 69 +7.5 72 +9.5 90 PMPS

Thanks so much Laurie and Sienne, I decided on the "regular" 0.75 because with my sister here this weekend and being out on a paddle for much of the day on Monday, I didn't want to rock the boat (as it were ) too much. I don't think he'll go too low on the shave, since he didn't a week ago, when that was his dose.

So tonight he bounced up to 130. In retrospect I should have shot through the bounce and taken the reduction tomorrow morning, but I didn't!
So Rusty's new dose will be 0.75 (easier to measure, too). I hope he can hold it and that I don't give too many fur shots.

Everyone have a good evening. Thanks again for the advice.

Ella & Rusty

p.s. I don't think my head is on straight this evening. To err on the side of caution would have been to take the full reduction to a skinny 0.75!! Oh well, I'll be around to monitor tomorrow and much of Sunday, so if it looks like the 0.75 is too much juice, I'll go down to the skinny 0.75.
 
Ella: I know it is late there...just getting to condos. What a day Rusty had!!! Congrats on the reduction and I hope he continues to do well. Especially if it is a shave..he'll probably motor right along. What a great kitty he is....he seems to fit so well into your lives.

Wow...your DS is 83 and she still paddles!!! My mom is 83 and she barely gets out of her wheelchair. Most likely your DS has been active her entire life. I hope she gets past her aches and pains to do the things she loves.

Hope it dries out and you can reclaim your cellar!!! Have a good sleepus.
 
I sounds like you have a really fun weekend planned! I hope your DS feels up to participate. I'm sure it can't be fun when there are things you want to do and your body refuses to cooperate. It seems Rusty is a little tropper and will just soldier on with the adjustment in his dose. Good luck and have a fantastic, safe weekend!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top