5/27 Rudy AMPS 321, +2 275, +4 206, +8 174 PMPS 133, +2 79, +3 70, +4 91

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen1218

Member Since 2017
We're back. I'm still frustrated and don't want to deal with this disease, but what am I supposed to do? Rudy picked me out at the shelter 6 years ago for a reason - this must be it.

Rudy also wants me to send love and thanks for the kind words and support. He thinks we need to be here, so here we are...

Rudy had a rotten day of numbers yesterday. And after 6 cycles of mostly rotten numbers - I moved him back up to 3 units. I don't think a failed reduction exists with SLGS, but I'm chalking it up to one.

After several test tests - he also started using his new meter full-time this morning. It's the Arkray Glucocard Vital. On the test runs - the results were within 5-10 points of the Relion. And the strips are MUCH cheaper, so we've switched.

Last post:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/1969509/
 
I am so so so happy to see your post! You and Rudy have been on my mind and in my thoughts now since the other night.
I'm still frustrated and don't want to deal with this disease, but what am I supposed to do? Rudy picked me out at the shelter 6 years ago for a reason - this must be it.
Rudy definitely picked you for a reason just as Bubba picked me. It is one of the most frustrating dances ever. But, he is really responding and doing so well. The last NS and a reduction the next cycle stalled him a bit. But as Sharon said, you'll get back on track. It'll all a learning curve for us beans too as we learn what works and doesn't work for our cats.

You, Jen, have made my day! I have happy tears right now. :bighug:
 
Hopefully he'll be back on track with the increase this morning.

For now - I'm off to the ER with the dog. He's passing a little bright red blood. Needs to be looked at and of course the regular vet is closed for the holiday.
 
I hope it's nothing serious with your dog. Sending prayers.

I'm glad to see a post today. I know managing FD can be frustrating, but you're doing your best for Rudy. Remember he is more than his numbers. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Sending vines to puppy and hope it is something minor. :bighug: And good that Rudy is running low today so you don't have him to worry about while you are gone. Keep us posted about your puppy.
 
Back from the vet with Jack (the dog). Gastroenteritis is the diagnosis. Should resolve in a few days with metronidazole, Pepcid and a bland diet. They also gave him fluids and cerenia in the office. He's resting now.

Peau (the Sphynx) is hanging in there. She's not curable - just manageable. Just started her on Pepcid too since she's had a few episodes of vomiting her food this past week.

Kiki (other civvie) also needs the dermatologist. She's been mighty itchy lately. Last time we went - the steroid sort of helped, but she can't be on that long-term. She was on Atopica, but that did nothing. I tried Benadryl and Zyrtec - neither one helped. I'm starting to think her scratching is a neurotic behavior. For now - I have a topical itch spray that also doesn't seem to work and she absolutely hates.

Meanwhile - my pet pharmacy grows...
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top