5/27 Rory am292 +3 245 +5 green to +10 PM 108 /109

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 5/27 Rory am292 +3 245 +6 133 +7 79 HELP PLEASE

Hi Var-ee, congrats on your first green. These are nice normal numbers, although a little scary the first time you see them. How about giving Rory a little bit of low carb food, a couple teaspoons full. That might help him surf there. We normally don't give high carb or honey until they go under 50. I'd feed a little low carb food and test again 1/2 hour after he eats.
 
Re: 5/27 Rory am292 +3 245 +6 133 +7 79 HELP PLEASE

OK I will try but he ate just before I tested a bit so it may be hard to feed him.. I will try TY ❤
 
Re: 5/27 Rory am292 +3 245 +6 133 +7 79 HELP PLEASE

Just a little bit of food. We might want him to eat a bit more later so want him a little hungry. It normally takes at least 20 minutes after feeding for the carbs to hit the blood stream, so that's why I said to wait 30 minutes to test. If you fed him right before testing, those carbs might not have been in his system yet. How much did he eat before you tested? And how long.

You are doing great. Remember to breathe!
 
Re: 5/27 Rory am292 +3 245 +6 133 +7 79 HELP PLEASE

I fed him BFF right before the test I feed him right where he gets tested and about 1 quarter size of a fancy feast can, plus a little bacon my mom gave him lol... it has zero carbs.. bff is 80% water
 
Re: 5/27 Rory am292 +3 245 +6 133 +7 79 HELP PLEASE

Sounds good. I'll be around waiting for that 7.5 test and that'll tell us what to do next.
 
Re: 5/27 Rory am292 +3 245 +6 133 +7 79 HELP PLEASE

its already been 30 minutes since his last test and I JUST got about 3/4 of a tsp of fancy feast grilled chicken into his belly.. I would like to do a test now then in another 20 minutes if possible just to see if he went lower.. would that be OK
 
Re: 5/27 Rory am292 +3 245 +6 133 +7 79 HELP PLEASE

Sounds good. No problem with testing more if the cat is OK with that.
 
Re: 5/27 Rory am292 +3 245 +6 133 +7 79 HELP PLEASE

No he really isnt OK with it but is getting it anyway.. he went down a bit to 72 and I will check again in half an hour
 
Re: 5/27 Rory am292 +3 245 +6 133 +7 79 +8 72

Is that 72 a +7.5 or a +8? Just wondering when you are going to test next. It's good to see Rory slow down a little.

You might want to keep track of what food (low, medium, high carb, how much) you gave Rory at what time when he's in the greens. After tracking food for a while with Neko, I have a pretty good idea of what food will do for her numbers and for how long. It's a useful tool to have to help you manage numbers when he gets lower.
 
Re: 5/27 Rory am292 +3 245 +6 133 +7 79 +8 72

Woohoo for green! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Those are great numbers. Scary, but great. :-D Great job, Var-ee!
Liz
 
Re: 5/27 Rory am292 +3 245 +6 133 +7 79 +8 72

its actually a 7.5 and will test at 8.. I dont know how to tweak the chart to add more colums or else I would
I took all the food away and will only feed as needed.. I fed him about 5 minutes befor the last test so I still have 12 more minutes to go before the next 30 minutes are up
 
Re: 5/27 Rory am292 +3 245 +6 133 +7 79 +8 72

he increased to 76 and I needed a second person to help.. he isnt happy :( I guess it is too much but I will wait for your reply.. I changed the chart times a bit, down one
 
Re: 5/27 Rory am292 +3 245 +6 133 +7 79 +8 72

Surf it Rory!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: This would be a great place for him to hang out for a while. You can probably wait an hour before your next test now.

If you take a look at Neko's SS, there are many a time I've had to enter multiple entries in one hour. I put a ";" in between on the SS, but then I have to manually colour it, then go to the US tab and reenter the US numbers and change the colour. For example, under Rory's +7 today, you could put "4.4; 4@7.5". Then go up to the tipped over paint can on the tools row, and select green. Then go to the US tab and in the +7 column for today, erase the formula, then enter 79; 72 @7.5 and then change the colour.

Oh, if you want to do a bit of bragging, if you don't have any more questions, you can change the icon on your first post of the day to be :mrgreen: instead of ?
 
Re: 5/27 Rory am292 +3 245 +6 133 +7 79 +8 72

hahahaa I will.. Rory is really really looking for food and licking the carpet by where the food is :cry:
 
Re: 5/27 Rory am292 +3 245 +6 133 +7 79 +8 72

He's not used to these kind of numbers so feeling hungry. We still want him to eat dinner, so just small snacks. My cat would act crazy starved the first time she got into greens. You are going to want a +10 or +11 test. Just remember, no food after +10. I half suspect Rory might stay in greens for a while.
 
Re: 5/27 Rory am292 +3 245 +6 133 +7 79 +8 72

Rory is decreasing went down to 65 so I gave him a spoonful of fancyfeast grilled chicken.. no wonder he was looking for food.. now Im getting worried again :!:
 
Re: 5/27 Rory am292 +3 245 +5 133 +6 79 +6 72 +8 76 +9 65

+10 77 fed more ff grilled chicken about 1 tsp at test time because I need to give his ears a break he is getting stressed out, it will be last feed before pm
 
Re: 5/27 Rory am292 +3 245 +5 133 +6 79 +6 72 +8 76 +9 65

Is it safe to shoot? I am pretty nervous I cant stay up all night tonight
 
Re: 5/27 Rory am292 +3 245 +5 133 +6 79 +6 72 +8 76 +9 65

Hi Var-ee, could you change your first post to something like +12 108 safe to shoot?

I have to head out for an hour for a meeting. Change your first post to add the question mark back. Some questions:
- do you have lots of strips?, hi carb food?
- how late can you stay up?

One thing you might want to do is stall for 1/2 hour, without feeding, and test again. If he's risen a decent amount, you may feel more comfortable shooting that.
 
Rory went up a little bit my last test before I fed him,and I fed him before seeing your message..but I dont think it went up a decent amount.. he had a big fight with his brother because he got to eat, even though it was behind closed doors.. I normally feed him 3 times this amount and wont have a problem giving him more when necessary
 
Im half an hour late for shot time... and already fed him half an hour ago "AFTER" my last test. He went up slightly but I dont feel comfortable shooting tonight
 
Im just scared to shoot because he is low, I did an increase and he tends to go low hours after the shot. I am 45 minutes late for the shot now and not sure what to do since I already fed him. I wasnt sure how long to wait because he was freaking out not getting fed and leas licking the carpet and fighting with Reilly.. it isnt too late to give it to him since its in the needle waiting to go now.. and I could put out more food if needed

I did do a new test
 
OK I just gave him 1.25u I would have given him a little more but I emptied the needle a bit too much he read 151 10 minutes ago
 
It's your decision about shooting. If you shoot, that will be his new shot time. You can adjust by 30 mins per day. It might be best to skip the shot if your schedule can't be adjusted.
Liz
 
Looks like Rory might be starting his bounce from those beautiful :mrgreen: :mrgreen: today. That +3 will be interesting.

A favour to ask of you on your spreadsheet. Could you change the absolute times to relative times? For example, his +7 column today would be 4.4; 4.0@+7.5 and the US version would be 79; 72@+7.5. It's easier for us to read the SS in +times instead of actual times because we all shoot at different times in different time zones.

BTW, you and Rory did great today. Lots of time in lovely healing numbers for him. :-D :-D It does get easier, but the first few times you see green are nerve wracking. I know that one of the hardest things for me to wrap my head around was the fact that when they start at a lower PS, they don't drop as far and the cycle ends up a lot flatter. I think Rory will be giving you lots more opportunities to become used to shooting lower numbers. But days like today are a good way to see what happens and build the data you need to eventually shoot lower.
 
I'm not sure if I have the times exactly right, but you can correct it if need. What you could do is put the 108@+11.45 in the +11 column and put the 119@+12; 151@12.75 in the +12 column. That tells us you shot 45 minutes late at 151.

I hope he stays in nice flat blues tonight.
 
well I wasnt planning on testing him tonight because his ears are so raw and I need some sleep.. but if you think he may go too low I will make an effort
 
Just leave a good portion of food for Rory to snack on tonight if he goes lower. Have a good sleep.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top