5/27 Rocky PMPS 396 +1 415 +3 279 +338

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Good morning!

I gave Rocky his shot 15 minutes early today instead of one hour early as when I tested him at one hour early his BG was at 286. I was thinking I should not give him his shot one hour early if his BG was not in the 300s? confused_cat

So, then I stupidly went ahead and fed him 1/2 can of the FF Classic Chicken at one hour early. I shouldn't have fed him. ohmygod_smile I think he had a food spike and so at nearly one hour later, when I did give the shot, he was at 386. :YMSIGH:

I think I need to increase his insulin dose but have thought that I shouldn't do that while continuing to move his shot time early? We are still not back to the 9am to 9pm shot times.

Yesterday's Condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=119356

Yesterday's SS:
AMPS 355 +2 292 +5 225 +10 300
PMPS 292 +2 333 +4 174 +11 268
 
Re: 5/27 Rocky AMPS 386 +2 309 +5 266

i thought i saw someone answer this - was it on another post too?

yes, you're right that it wouldn't be a great idea to both increase the dose and shoot significantly earlier. do one or the other, but not both.

there's not a magic number for when it's safe to shoot early. it depends on the cat. i mentioned 300 as an example for Rocky when i said that, but it's one of those things that you will want to take notes on and see how Rocky does with early shots at different BG numbers.
 
PM shot early w/ .25u dosecrease 5/27 Rocky PMPS 396 +1 415

Thank you Julie! It looks like Rocky's typical 'NWD" has set in, with possibly a food spike as well, at PMPS +1. @-)

I did increase his insulin dose tonight up to 2.0u from the 1.75u because his BG was 396 at PM shot time. That is pretty high!!

I also gave Rocky his shot 15 minutes earlier, so at 9:30pm.

If I would have gotten home sooner and he had been in the upper 300s or higher, I would have definitely shot one hour earlier.

I will for certain monitor him tonight to make sure that he is safe. With that BG of 415 at PMPS +1 it doesn't look like he will be coming down tonight though. :roll:
 
Tina, just remember the dosing decision should come from the nadir, not necessarily from a high preshot BG. So instead of increasing because the preshot was 396, I would agree a dosecrease was in order because Rocky hadn't had a nadir below 100 since 5/20. A lot of lurkers read our condos. We don't want anyone to think they should raise their cat's dose because they got a high preshot, especially if their midcycle numbers are low or if they aren't getting those tests in.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top