5/27 Pumpkin AMPS 165!!! +2 221 +6 180 PMPS 166 +8 117

Jacques and Pumpkin

Member Since 2023
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-222-2-199-4-190-pmps-221-2-201-3-207.277953/

I thought Punpkin’s cycle had stopped last night around 200, but now here she is at 165 this morning (I double checked with a second test).

Well this is new and very nervous territory for me. I’m very tempted to back off the dose, especially since this is coming after a 15% increase to 23U (don’t copy dosing strategy, she has acromegaly) but I also know the advice is shoot low to stay low.

One thing I’m worried about is what if she was even lower last night and I missed it.

Okay, doing 23U and I’ll monitor her closely today. *deep breath*
 
Last edited:
@Wendy&Neko one thing that has me especially nervous is that I’m planning to take a long weekend getaway tomorrow afternoon through Tuesday while my wife looks after Pumpkin. I think we’d both be happier if Pumpkin weren’t anywhere near going hypo while I’m away. (I’ll be a couple hours away and often out of cell phone reception.)

That’s got me thinking maybe we really should drop back to 22 or 21 for the PM shot and then see how that goes while I’m away.
 
Can your wife test while you are gone? I'd be reluctant to reduce away from a dose that is finally getting her below renal threshold. But you can always go back up when you get back.
Back up to 221 at +2. I guess this is going to be one of those wonky cycles.
It's possible she went lower than 165 last night, but even if not, she hasn't been in those sorts of numbers for a long time. Perhaps a small bounce.
 
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-222-2-199-4-190-pmps-221-2-201-3-207.277953/

I thought Punpkin’s cycle had stopped last night around 200, but now here she is at 165 this morning (I double checked with a second test).

Well this is new and very nervous territory for me. I’m very tempted to back off the dose, especially since this is coming after a 15% increase to 23U (don’t copy dosing strategy, she has acromegaly) but I also know the advice is shoot low to stay low.

One thing I’m worried about is what if she was even lower last night and I missed it.

Okay, doing 23U and I’ll monitor her closely today. *deep breath*

That is what I'm wondering too with Allie, going low at night. She goes from 2am-8am without food and I barely get 6 hours of sleep at night. She will meow in the morning but it's just her telling me she's ready to eat @ 7am but she has to wait.
 
Can your wife test while you are gone? I'd be reluctant to reduce away from a dose that is finally getting her below renal threshold. But you can always go back up when you get back.

She can test, but if she has to nurse Pumpkin through her first hypo on my first weekend getaway, I might never get to travel again!

We'll see how it goes. If she stays above 100 we'll just hold this dose until I get back. If she gets down into the greens I think we'll ease off just a touch while I'm gone.

Pumpkin already feels a little bit more herself. She was grooming her face this afternoon, which I don't remember happening in a while. More cuddling time too.
 
Back
Top