5/27 MIMI AMPS 114 +2 170 Whisper dose at 9.20am +2.5 85 +4 153 +9 284 PMPS 345

Hmm, that's a hard one. Stalling for 30 minutes to see if she increases isn't a bad idea. I'm more concerned about the not eating though. It seems like this has been an on and off issue for Mimi. If she's not eating and you're not convinced she will this cycle, it might be best to skip. Will you be home this cycle?
 
yes, we will be home for the next two weeks again to take care of her. She just had a little of the MC food she likes. Should I skip or give her reduced dose? She went down to 87 in her last cycle.
 
Oh good, I'm so glad she's eating. I think if you are home and are prepared, it might be a good idea to give her regular dose to see how she does. This is as long as you know you can keep her eating something. If you don't think she'll keep eating, it might be best to skip. Unfortunately I'm not super familiar with microdosing, so I'm not sure what a reduced dose would be for the 0.1.
 
When you stall that long (over an hour) & then give insulin you will need to adjust the PM dose to match. The shots are given 12 hours apart.You can adjust in 15 minute increments each time till you're back to the correct time you want to shoot.
Lantus insulin isn't like the old fast working insulin. I have fed Ravan an hour or more "after" his shot without any problem. Just a teaspoon of food is enough.
As I said before I don't give dosing advice. But if it was me ,with such a small dose I would have just skipped.

Glad the testing is getting easier! Those "treats" seem to help!

images
 
If her nadir was 85, should I stay on 0.1 or give her another whisper dose? The numbers went a bit up because we had to go out and left her with a couple teaspoons of Dr Elseys just in case.. Clearly the dry food really affects her even in the smallest dose and even with only 5% carbs in it..
 
I would be inclined to say keep the dose at 0.1u, unless the appetite is still an issue. Mid 80s are still safe nadirs, and the rest of the tests are still where it seems 0.1u for a little while longer would benefit her. And, as Marje mentioned yesterday, the 0.25u can affect numbers for up to six cycles. But if you feel more comfortable trying the drop dose and seeing how she does, you can certainly try that, and go back up if you start seeing numbers trending upward. Has testing gotten a little easier?

ETA, I should have also noted, technically, with SLGS under 90 does earn a reduction, and you did have a bit of dry in the mix today, for very good reason since you had to leave and wanted to make sure she would be ok, so if you want to keep following SLGS, then it would be better to give the drop dose.
 
Last edited:
Tonight she asked for food and didn't even fuss with testing, knowing she would get a greenie and food probably. We gave her the 0.1 unit on the skinny side. I didn't see your message in time, so probably half way between 0.1 and the whisper dose. Would like not to have to test much tonight with work in the morning. Maybe a +4?
 
Excellent, I'm glad she was feeling better! That should work, even if you don't test, can you keep offering small portions of wet food, maybe at +2 and +3. She may not drop like she did previously, this would be the 4th cycle since you reduced from 0.25u, so maybe tomorrow if her numbers stay pretty even tonight, you can adjust the proportion of LC to MC so you have a bit more of the LC in the mix, unless the numbers tell you otherwise.
 
Back
Top