5/27 MILO AMPS 162 +4 148 +7 142 +10 157 PMPS 135

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bebe Kaye

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's Condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=96155

Low numbers again today :thumbup and thank goodness his numbers aren't as low at his PMPS. It was still low, but I gave him 1.5 units and will be testing for the next few hours to see how he travels, *fingers crossed*.

He's been a good Kitty all day but did a Houdini act late this afternoon while my DD was hanging out some washing, I usually will only let him out for supervised strolls in the fenced backyard as a few different neighbours leave cat and dog food out and he's not averse to doing a visit to ALL the houses to gather some left overs...the dogs are scared of him so yes, he has been known to get into their left overs also! When I got home from picking the DH up from work, there was my Black Beauty, sitting boldly on the driveway almost daring me to say something...cheeky rascal he is! As I pulled into the driveway he refused to move, he got up slowly took a long slow stretch before strolling out of the way with his tail up high so I could get to the garage...good to see him being his old self.

He's still a little off his food, but I think it has more to do with being sick of what I have, I opened up some FF chicken pate and he hoovered that down! So looks like he's off the whiskas for a while, I have a list printed out and now have to make a trip to the shops to see what I can buy here, I shall be buying a variety because the Ebony Prince doesn't like to eat the same too often.

He's now curled up beside me; tested, shot (sounds bad), fed, bathed and now purry. But i'll give him 5 minutes before he gets up to have another nibble of food and a drink. He's still drinking LOTS, Bowel movements are good, urine is VERY dilute, and my whole house has become his litter tray since his CKD. Luckily we're about to tear up all the carpets and replace with either floor boards or this awesome looking linoleum that looks EXACTLY like floorboards (but without having to worry about polish and scratching)...I'm still trying to convince the DH that the latter is a better option.

yes, yes, I know it's Monday, but I hope the sun is shining just a little bit brighter, the air smells a little sweeter and the start to this new week is fantabulous! Be safe and hope the Meow Meows are doing wonderfully.

Bebe and Milo *purrrrrrrr*
 
Good (whatever it is where you are)!!
Milo is looking good! Nice Blue surf !!! I love that he's "The Ebony Prince" :lol: :-D Sounds like he runs his kingdom well. Good luck with your fuds hunt. We can't let our royalty get bored with their choices!
I vote for the linoleum!! That new stuff is spectacular. looks great, stands up to anything, easy to clean.
hugs and scritches to you
 
ecurie said:
Good (whatever it is where you are)!!
Milo is looking good! Nice Blue surf !!! I love that he's "The Ebony Prince" :lol: :-D Sounds like he runs his kingdom well. Good luck with your fuds hunt. We can't let our royalty get bored with their choices!
I vote for the linoleum!! That new stuff is spectacular. looks great, stands up to anything, easy to clean.
hugs and scritches to you

I think it's night...i'm not sure anymore because Milo's BG levels think it's time to come out and play :roll: .

Oh Prince Miley surely does rule this catdom...err kingdom and we're all his willing subjects! I have lived in hope for many a long year that he would be become an obedient, fluffy little companion...not the master while I and the rest of the occupants of the house have seemingly become his ever faithful waiting servants (or slaves). He started his evil plan with those big eyes and purry smooches against our legs. Rushing to the door to greet us when we were away...'awww, he misses us, the dear sweetheart'.

Now with a simple meow, us, the ever well trained staff, rush to find what his deepest desire is...open the door "do you want out?", add more food to the ever growing pile "do you hunger?", empty and refill the water dishes (one of many located at handy locations for his convenience) "fresh water?", move over for him "your welcome to 3/4's of my bed, I really don't need to be comfortable to sleep", carefully pick him up for a rub "massage sir?".

Now Prince Milo has never been an easy housemate to live with, in his early years, there was his infatuation with snakes. Luckily snakes don't bother me in the least (country girl through and through, and the fields of red dirt and sugar cane cured me of any fear I'd ever have of snakes...especially when coming face-to-face with huge eastern browns on a regular basis), so having him walk up to me and dutifully drop his his gifts of half eaten snakes was more funny than anything. A bit harder to find humour in were the times when I not only got the uneaten parts, but also the eaten parts, which were conveniently 'brought back up' throughout the house...some of the time with a twitch of his tail and an evil glint in his eyes. On top of these were times when I was really pissed...the times when he thought it fine to bring me a live snake, and let it go in the house, or front yard. Now an ordinary snake is easy to handle as they are far more scared of us than we are of them...this changes when its been hunted, caught and now sports multiple puncture wounds from sharp teeth! An angry and injured snake is a dangerous snake...not of my liking to say the least.

In his defense, he has been rather amusing over the years, especially when he went through his tail chasing stage. There is nothing so funny than seeing a cat stalk his own tail, creeping around slowly in a circle...eyes glowing as he watches his target...getting faster, running around in the tight circle now, until finally success! He catches his own tail and bites it, feeling the pain he used to turn and glare accusingly at us as though somehow we had done it to him. Funnily enough, it wouldn't take long before the twitching of his tail would catch his attention and he'd be off on the chase again.

Where would we be without our pets. Even with all his idiosyncrasies, I can't imagine what life will be without him!
 
It's been one heck of a night, can anyone out there remind me of what that sleep thing is like, because i've lost mine! Miley's numbers have been down most of the night, even though i've fed him the gravy FF (a few times), I really think I will have to drop his insulin down to a flat 1 unit BID starting tomorrow morning, this is 3 nights in a row of low numbers and this bean needs some sleep!

PMPS 135
+1 133
+2 56
+2.5 56
+3 61
+3.5 72
+4 79
+5 72
+6 70

I shot his PMPS on time even though it was low, I can't push him back any further after the past few days. I felt confident his numbers would stay safe (stoopid bean!!!), they started to rise and now they decided to come down so it looks like it's going to be another long night! grumpy_cat :-Q grumpy_cat

A very tired Bebe and Miley
 
Oh, Bebe, you gave me a good chuckle. You put it into words so well, how our kitties have us so well trained!

Here's to your Ebony Prince! Surf safely Milo!
 
Hello.
I haven't made it to your condo yet. Welcome.
This is definitely the sleep deprived club.

And your ability to nap in various ways will improve very soon. :-D
Nothing like the lack of sleep to make your realize it's your favorite thing.... ;-)
 
If you're following the Tight Regulation protocol, numbers need to drop below 50 for a dose reduction. When you reduce, you reduce the dose by 0.25u. So, as much as I hate to say it, Milo doesn't get a dose reduction on this protocol. Milo's had a great day with his numbers and I think he's angling for a decrease but his numbers don't warrant it with TR.

If you want to follow the Start Low Go Slow (SLGS) approach, dose reductions occur when numbers drop below 90. The reduction is still 0.25u when using Lantus.

Either approach is fine. There's more research behind the TR Protocol but SLGS does work for many cats.
 
rhiannon and shadow said:
Hello.
I haven't made it to your condo yet. Welcome.
This is definitely the sleep deprived club.

And your ability to nap in various ways will improve very soon. :-D
Nothing like the lack of sleep to make your realize it's your favorite thing.... ;-)

THANK YOU!
I'm a terrible sleeper at the best of times but this is beyond a joke! I was trying to do to do a test at 4am and kept seeing two ears...poor kitty (well yes he has two ears, but at that time he had four, gahhh, i'm still not making sense!), he's been hiding from me ever since!

Sienne and Gabby said:
If you're following the Tight Regulation protocol, numbers need to drop below 50 for a dose reduction. When you reduce, you reduce the dose by 0.25u. So, as much as I hate to say it, Milo doesn't get a dose reduction on this protocol. Milo's had a great day with his numbers and I think he's angling for a decrease but his numbers don't warrant it with TR.

If you want to follow the Start Low Go Slow (SLGS) approach, dose reductions occur when numbers drop below 90. The reduction is still 0.25u when using Lantus.

Either approach is fine. There's more research behind the TR Protocol but SLGS does work for many cats.

Thank you. I'm just very wary, Milo had a hypo at 83 the other morning, so anything being down near there makes me worry greatly! During the day his numbers seem really good, but his over night numbers drop down and it's honestly getting to the point where I'm unable to stay up with him and I'm scared of going to sleep in case he goes too low.

The numbers for instance, last night, came with hourly feeds (2 cans of lc plus normal), and even eating all that, his BG stayed down. I only gave him a 1 unit shot this morning, so what should I do...keep him at 1.5 or drop to 1.25...i'm really lost. My vet called this morning to check in with his numbers and had told me to drop to 1 unit but i'd prefer to hear from people who have more knowledge of this. I just want to what's best for him and if I can get him low and regulated it would be awesome, especially with all his other health issues.

Thanks for taking the time to post!

Bebe and Milo
 
You have to take care of yourself. If you're not functioning, you can't take care of Milo. If you think it will make sense, then drop the dose to 1.0u. The worst thing that will happen is that you'll need to increase the dose.

Do you have a timed feeder? If you can get one, it may help in that it will allow food to be available during the night so you can get more sleep. FWIW, many cats experience lower numbers during the PM cycle.

Chance are that Milo has hypo symptoms since he's not used to being in lower numbers. As his body adjusts, hopefully, that won't happen again.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
You have to take care of yourself. If you're not functioning, you can't take care of Milo. If you think it will make sense, then drop the dose to 1.0u. The worst thing that will happen is that you'll need to increase the dose.

Do you have a timed feeder? If you can get one, it may help in that it will allow food to be available during the night so you can get more sleep. FWIW, many cats experience lower numbers during the PM cycle.

Chance are that Milo has hypo symptoms since he's not used to being in lower numbers. As his body adjusts, hopefully, that won't happen again.

I have no time feeder and am currently unable to purchase one with the vet bills being continuous. If anyone could help me to understand and stay on the tight regime I would really greatly appreciate it, Miley has had the 1 unit both AM and PM today I will go do his new condo now, the numbers have been higher and I see your point completely about when to and not do reduce doses. If there is someone who could help me work this out and give me a boot in the backside when I do something wrong it would help soooo much!

So, after my screw up of today with reduced doses, where should I go? Back to the 1.5 units and see where how he goes over the next 6 or so cycles? Thank you so much for your time and help!

Bebe and Milo
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top