5/27 Mikey AMPS 54/64 Dosing Advice Needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

JenniferF

Member Since 2014
last thread

I've been trying to get a few more tests in. I'm not sure if I'm still missing him going under 50 or if he just is not getting there. Should I increase him to 1.5u to see if it will get him under 50 or just continue with 1.25u or should I try for 1u and see how he does? He definitely needs insulin because when I skip a shot he goes up past 100.
 
I usually don't give dosing advice but of this I am sure. With a amps of 54/64 you would never increase. There would be way too big a chance of a hypo. We dose based on the nadir, lowest point in the cycle and even if this is the nadir it is where you would want it to be. A week in normal numbers, 50-120 would qualify for a reduction as well.
 
Thanks! Makes sense NOT to increase. Just so frustrating because he's SO close! I was thinking the increase would earn him a reduction but now rethinking that sounds a little dangerous. Hopefully we can try a reduced amount. He's been on 1.25u for a long time with the majority of the numbers in the greens/under 100
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top