5/27 Merlin AMPS 124;+2/169,+3/154,+5/143,+8/154,+9/205

Status
Not open for further replies.

Merlin

Very Active Member
5/27
AMPS 133

Yikes and yeah. He must have flatten in the blues last night. Don't feed and stall for one hour? The first reading I got was 124 and didn't think that was true so I took another one and it was 133. I am thinking that I should stall and test him again in one hour.
 
Re: 5/27 Merlin AMPS 124 Stalling ???

I think that a good idea I wish I would have done it last night but fear got the best of me and of course hungry eyes of 5 cats :lol: tons of healing green light coming your way......I have no advice just sometimes nice to see a friendly reply!!!! ~O)
 
Re: 5/27 Merlin AMPS 124 Stalling ???

Good morning Cindi!

I'm not sure how far off you are on shot time now, but I'd test every 20-30 mins stalling without feeding and wait until he's CLEARLY on the rise and at 200 or really close - IF you are available to monitor pretty closely - like getting a +2, +3, etc. to ensure he is rising fast enough after shooting.
 
Re: 5/27 Merlin AMPS 124 Stalling ???

I imagine you have already decided whether to shoot or skip, but I wanted to WHOO HOO over that amps!
 
Re: 5/27 Merlin AMPS 124 Stalling ???

Okay I am only 40 minutes off from the schedule. Will take a test now and can monitor +1 and +2 after shot. Will give an update. Thanks!!!!
 
Re: 5/27 Merlin AMPS 124 Stalling ???

Sounds good. I would probably anticipate a movement up because he will most likely bounce from a low overnight - if he follows the pattern - but who knows. But it is nice to see a lower number!
 
Re: 5/27 Merlin AMPS 124 Stalling ???

He is at 160 40 minutes after shot time. Should I wait another 20 minutes?
 
Re: 5/27 Merlin AMPS 124 Stalling ???

Will you be around? He is definitely rising but understand your hesitation. How badly will another stall mess up your schedule?
 
Re: 5/27 Merlin AMPS 124 Stalling ???

I hope Sue adds her thoughts too, but that's not a super-fast rise yet. To be safe, I'd probably test again in about 20 mins or so, if you don't mind tinkering with your shooting schedule some.
 
Re: 5/27 Merlin AMPS 124 Stalling ???

I will be at home today. The only errand I have to do is to leave for one hour this morning to go feed my parents cat.
 
Re: 5/27 Merlin AMPS 124 Stalling ???

At 7:08am he is at 175. On top of this all, he is going in for his dental tonight i.e. an overnight stay at the hospital so he can get IV fluids before his dental tomorrow am. Wouldn't you know it that today couldn't be a regular, simple shot day???
 
Re: 5/27 Merlin AMPS 124 Stalling ???

Hi Cindi,

Of course he would give you this "problem" on the day before he goes in for the dental. :smile: What time does he go in tonight? Will you be shooting before he goes in? Will they monitor his BG - I apologize if you posted this elsewhere.

I think you're OK to shoot the 175, but I think you'll need to monitor pretty closely. He's not going up super fast yet, but if you can get the insulin into him before he hits the roof, you may be able to get him to continue to stay in these nice numbers. The risk is that you get too much overlap, and he drops really fast early in the cycle. You could also try a reduced dose...maybe 0.8 or 0.6?

Let's see what Sue thinks, too.
 
Re: 5/27 Merlin AMPS 124 Stalling ???

Tested again at 7:33am and he is still at 175.

The vet's office stays open till 7pm tonight so I am suppose to feed and shoot at 6pm (as normal) and then take him in at 6:30pm. I doubt that they will test him through out the night. I don't think they have anyone there in the middle of the night. I am assuming that the IV fluids they want to give tonight is continuous but I am going to check. I have to run over to my parents house so do you think if I shoot that I can immediately run over there and get back in one hour?

It is kind of funny but I have four cats all lining up, staring at me and howling to get fed. As soon as I get up from the couch, it is a mad rush down the hallway where they get fed. Sounds like Kath's household...thanks for the woo hoo! It is like the keystone cops around here.

Ok back to the issue. I am not sure what to do. I am thinking a .8u to give.
 
Re: 5/27 Merlin AMPS 124 Stalling ???

I am going to test him again at 8am which is in about 10 minutes. If he is still around 175 I am going to shoot .8 (he must have heard us talking yesterday about lowering his dose :smile: ). If he is close to 200, I am going to shoot 1u. Then I am going to run over to my parents house to feed their cat and then run home.
 
Re: 5/27 Merlin AMPS 124 Stalling ???

He's still not really climbing much, is he?

I *think* you should be OK with the 0.8 on the 175. The insulin shouldn't onset until around +2, but you should be OK with a quick trip to feed your parents' cats. The food you feed should bump him up enough to tide him over. I would definitely get a +2 when you get back and go from there.

This may mess up your shooting schedule tonight. You might want to check, but I'm pretty sure I've read that fluids can lower BG numbers, so something to be aware of when you shoot tonight if they aren't monitoring Merlin's BG....
 
Re: 5/27 Merlin AMPS 124 Stalling ???

Oh good point regarding the IV fluids. I remember reading something about that too. Last time he went for the dental, the night before I gave him a reduced shot because he couldn't eat after 8pm and I didn't want to deal with a number and having to give him some food. I think then, I gave him a .6 so maybe I will have to do the same thing. Will let you know what his BG number in about 10 minutes. Thanks.
 
Re: 5/27 Merlin AMPS 124 Stalling ???

What?????? At 8:03am he is at 162. Now I don't know what to do? Skip? This is making me just as nervous (but exciting) as being in the hypo, low numbers. Weird.
 
Re: 5/27 Merlin AMPS 124 Stalling ??? 162 at 8:03am

Well, hmm. He's just surfing, isn't he.

You could try a BCS (Big Chicken Shot and/or Big ChickenSh*t) shot of something around half a unit or less, you could feed just a little LC now - not a full meal, and see where Merlin's at in a half hour or an hour- but that's probably really going to screw up your shot time tonight, or you could skip. What are you thinking?
 
Re: 5/27 Merlin AMPS 124 Stalling ??? 162 at 8:03am

I hate to skip. I am thinking a BCS of a fat .4 now. I am thinking his eating will take him up a little. Do you think a +2 would be ok?
 
Re: 5/27 Merlin AMPS 124 Stalling ??? 162 at 8:03am

Yeah, a +2 should be fine. The insulin shouldn't onset until then, and the food will bump him up a little by the time the insulin onsets. I think a BCS is a good option.
 
Re: 5/27 Merlin AMPS 124 Stalling ??? 162 at 8:03am

Good morning! Wow! What a number! I might do like a .4 just to give something. Since you can monitor, I would thin it would be ok. Hope Jen or Sue chimes in since they have more experience here, but you do have good data and a smaller shot would still give some insulin without as much worry. Just keep a close eye and try to get some numbers just for data collection.
 
Re: 5/27 Merlin AMPS 124; Stalling ???

Sorry. I hate it when people post and then leave. ohmygod_smile but Jen was here and as always gave great advice. I think a chicken €£¥#{ shot when he starts up is a good idea.

Yes, right before the dental, giving you the kind of numbers we have been hoping to see! Let's celebrate this lovely surf and figure he will get back again.
 
Re: 5/27 Merlin AMPS 124; Stalling ???

Well I chickened out on the chicken %@$# shot and gave him a straight .4 rather than a fat .4. Anyway, at +2 he is at 169. I don't know if that is a scary number at this time or good one. I am thinking that it is a good one. Next test should be at +4 you think? He was hungry at the +2 so I gave him a little LC food again.
 
Re: 5/27 Merlin AMPS 124; Stalled 2 hrs; +2 169

It could be that the insulin hasn't kicked in yet, but he really hasn't started to rise yet. I think I'd get a +3 if you are able. Merlin sometimes likes to start dropping pretty early.
 
Re: 5/27 Merlin AMPS 124; Stalled 2 hrs; +2 169

5/27
AMPS 124 (6am) - decided to stall
7:08am - 160
7:33am - 175
8:03am - 175
8:15am - 162 - decided to shoot .4u
+2 - 169
+3 - 154

Well at +3 is 154. Going down slowly.
 
Re: 5/27 Merlin AMPS 124; Stalled 2 hrs; +2/169,+3/154,+5/14

5/27
AMPS 124 (6am) - decided to stall
7:08am - 160
7:33am - 175
8:03am - 175
8:15am - 162 - decided to shoot .4u
+2 - 169
+3 - 154
+5 - 143

Just looks like he is more like paddling today on pretty flat water. Do you see any particular hour that I need any data? With the stalling, I won't have a 12 hour schedule today but rather a 10 hour schedule because I will need to test him say around 5:30pm because I will need to get him test, fed and shot all before 6:15pm because I need to get him transported to the vet to arrive by 6:30pm. Hopefully you will be around that time because I am not sure what I am going to do with his dose. Is it possible to shoot at ten hours?
 
Re: 5/27 Merlin AMPS 124; Stalled 2 hrs; +2/169,+3/154,+5/14

I'll try to be around. Yes, you can shoot at +10 if he is sure rising, but since he has been flat all day and under 180-200, I'd be cautious. They are unlikely to check overnight, right? I'd be tempted to give a tiny token dose unless he shoots way up.

Darn, we would have had fun with this beautiful cycle if it wasn't dental time.
 
Re: 5/27 Merlin AMPS 124; Stalled 2 hrs; +2/169,+3/154,+5/14

So if I will be checking him at 5:30 then I should check him one hour before to see if he is rising, correct?

Now the million dollar question. If he didn't have his dental tonight, would I have gone ahead and given him 1u at AMPS? Or something different?
 
Re: 5/27 Merlin AMPS 124; Stalled 2 hrs; +2/169,+3/154,+5/14

If he was near 180+, i would have been tempted with maybe .8/.6 ? This has been a nice cycle after probably a lower one last night. I am thinking lower is the way to go.
 
Re: 5/27 Merlin AMPS 124; Stalled 2 hrs; +2/169,+3/154,+5/14

What time is it for you now? I'll try to be around...driving home now. :-D
 
Re: 5/27 Merlin AMPS 124; Stalled 2 hrs; +2/169,+3/154,+5/14

Hello. Right now it is 4:30pm (Pacific Coast Time). So my plan is to test at 5:30pm and will post a few minutes after that.
 
Re: 5/27 Merlin AMPS 124;+2/169,+3/154,+5/143,+8/154

5/27
AMPS 124 (6am) - decided to stall
7:08am - 160
7:33am - 175
8:03am - 175
8:15am - 162 - decided to shoot .4u
+2 - 169
+3 - 154
+5 - 143
+8 - 154

So it is 4:30pm and I will take my last test at 5:30pm. I can't believe what is happening...I am not sure what is happening. I am thinking that he did not go low last night but stayed in the blues as he has today. Stay tuned.
 
Re: 5/27 Merlin AMPS 124;+2/169,+3/154,+5/143,+8/154

Beautiful surf! :-D If I had to guess, Merlin got a really stretched out cycle because he cleared out a bounce from the PM last night, and had a late nadir and just kept surfing through to the AM. You timed it just right with just the right dose, and were able to keep him surfing. :smile:

I'd say unless he's significantly going up by +10, your safest option might be to skip or to shoot just a tiny dose.

I'll keep an eye out for his +10.
 
Re: 5/27 Merlin AMPS 124;+2/169,+3/154,+5/143,+8/154

I won't be able to test him at +10 because after the +9; he is off to the vet. So do you think he could have possibly been at a dangerous level sometime early in the morning? Maybe when he comes back tomorrow afternoon from the vet that I should start him with a .8u.
 
Re: 5/27 Merlin AMPS 124;+2/169,+3/154,+5/143,+8/154

I'm with Jen - probably a long surf. I think I'd skip. No one will be monitoring tonight, right? We'll get him back after the dental.

Be thinking of you both tomorrow.
 
Re: 5/27 Merlin AMPS 124;+2/169,+3/154,+5/143,+8/154

His numbers have been amazing all day! Interesting to see what the dental does.
 
5/27
AMPS 124 (6am) - decided to stall
7:08am - 160
7:33am - 175
8:03am - 175
8:15am - 162 - decided to shoot .4u
+2 - 169
+3 - 154
+5 - 143
+8 - 154
+9 - 205

Dog gone it Merlin...I was already to skip it. Give a little maybe .4 again or skip?
 
With the fluids tonight and without being able to monitor, I guess I lean towards suggesting skipping. Let's see what Sue says.
 
Skipping it is...I feel much better with that decision. Thank you all for help today. It was a wonderful day for Merlin. I will be sure to keep you updated tomorrow of his dental. Thanks again...so much!
 
Sending safe and successful dental vines for you and Merlin! We'll be waiting to hear that everything went well. :smile:
 
So I took Merlin to the vet along with his food, sleeping pad and blankets that he likes to sleep on. They were so accommodating and gave him a nice big kennel. He will be the only patient staying over night tonight and there will be no monitoring. I took my spreadsheet and explained to the vet tech today's event and that i didn't shoot tonight. I live about 10 minutes from the vet and once I got home, I got a phone call asking if I can bring the insulin back to the office. The doctor wanted to give him insulin tonight. I dropped it off but everyone was busy so I couldn't find out how much they are going to give him. I also dropped off two U100 syringes and my conversion table. Seems weird without Merlin in the house... :sad:
 
((((Merlin))))) sending you tons and tons of prayers and healing green light Angels to keep you company tonight be safe and angels to guide vets hands and heart in all they do Hugs have a great sleep ......Will be watching for updates tomorrow Merlin & Trey had a awesome day!!!!! ~O)
 
Wondering how Merlin is doing sending him tons of healing green light and angels surround him for a speedy recovery Hugsssssssssss ~O)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top