? 5/27 Low pre-shot number AMPS 113 +11 103 PMPS 85 +1 81 +2 86 +3 77 +4 85

We don't change doses based on preshots. Lantus can give you lovely flat cycles when you shoot low.
Since you can monitor, you want to feed and give the full 0.5U.
 
We don't change doses based on preshots. Lantus can give you lovely flat cycles when you shoot low.
Since you can monitor, you want to feed and give the full 0.5U.

I already gave her 0.25U. I'm way too afraid she will have low blood sugar especially when the sensor is not accurate at all. So I should go back to giving her 0.5U tomorrow morning?
 
Just to ask what may be a dumb question, but if you don't feel like the Libre is accurate, why don't you just use a handheld meter? It looks like you get random checks to compare the data.

Also, if you are going to follow TR, you need to evaluate the dose every 3 days/6 cycles unless a dose reduction is indicated.
 
Just to ask what may be a dumb question, but if you don't feel like the Libre is accurate, why don't you just use a handheld meter? It looks like you get random checks to compare the data.

Also, if you are going to follow TR, you need to evaluate the dose every 3 days/6 cycles unless a dose reduction is indicated.

I usually check her PMPS and +4 by handheld meter. She really doesn't like being pricked by her ears or paws. It's hard to get enough blood. So I don't test her by handheld meter that often.

Yes, I'm following TR. I still don't really know when to increase the dose after 6 cycles.
 
You increase the dose if your cat's numbers are outside of normal range. What I would suggest, is that you post and ask for input if you're not sure what to do.

One of the difficulties for most new Lantus users is to getting used to shooting low numbers. The basic idea with Lantus is to "shoot low to stay low." As such, it would have been better to stick with your 0.5u dose this evening. (You actually shot a 0.75u dose with a PMPS of 90 back in early April.) If you change the dose, the count for consecutive cycle starts over. Thus, you are back to cycle one at 0.5u tomorrow morning.
 
Back
Top