5/27 Harvey AMPS 106 +3.75 61 +4.75 55 +5.75 48 +6.25 58 +7 66 AM+9.75 128 PMPS 124 +3.75 79 +5.5 76

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

Member Since 2011
5/26 Recap
1.0 units bid
AMPS: 131
AM+3.5: 98
AM+6: 96
AM+8.25: 87
PMPS: 229 :(
PM+3.75: 90
PM+5: 96
PM+7: 96
PM+8: 106

Last Condo

Hmm, looks like I'm getting into an every other day habit. Guess I need to work on that. o_O

Harvey was pretty flat yesterday, with a lovely 90s surf that was interrupted by that ugly yellow PMPS which messed up our beautiful spreadsheet. :arghh: I wish DH had retested, as I question the validity of that number, but I wasn't home until more than an hour later, so we'll never know.
icon_rolleyes.gif


This morning Harvey ate all of his t/f/s meal, but didn't want his breakfast. I was all set to give him tummy meds when I heard his
I'm going to throw up meow from the top of the stairs. :eek: I went up just in time to see him barf. :( Usually when that happens, he comes down and eats a few minutes later. Not today. So I gave him the Ond & Cypro. He ate a couple of bites of cat food and a lick or two of baby food about an hour later, but nothing more, and his numbers were dropping, so I gave him Cerenia and another 1/4 tablet of Cypro. I'm just waiting for that to kick in. I guess the couple bites of food helped to pull him out of the shark-infested waters, but he's still in a little too deep for my taste. He is really ticked at having his ears poked so much. ETA: Despite not eating more, he's still coming up. One concern down, one to go.

DH commented that the Bupe must really be helping him, as yesterday he had to chase Harvey around to give him his morning shot for the first time in ages! I was pleased, but DH was less so. :p I watched him bunnyhop slowly down the stairs this morning and gave him another dose.

Yesterday was my podiatrist appointment. I had intended to leave an hour early to account for people starting their holiday weekend early, but that didn't workout - left at the same time I would any other day. I ended up getting there 35 minutes late. :facepalm: The doctor said he would still see me, but I'd have to wait until he was done seeing the other patients that were already there. I was fine with that - just didn't want it to be a wasted trip! He actually got to me sooner than I expected. He's not one for small talk - gets right to the point and then he's out of there. He picked up my foot and tapped the bottom of my heel and I about stood up. He nodded. "Yup. That's Plantar Fasciitis!" He said I need to rest it, continue to ice it, and if something hurts (like walking), it means I'm doing too much. He said to always wear my supportive shoes and orthotics, from the time I get up until I go to bed. :confused: :( He gave me a cortisone shot. :eek::arghh: Yeeeoooowwwww! That sucker hurt as bad as the ones in my fingers. He said it might be torn, which should heal on it's own. He said if I follow his instructions, it should be better in a month. If I'm not, I'm to call and get a follow up appointment. Guess my low impact aerobics are out of the picture. :( I've gotta do what he says, as the NASCAR race at Sonoma is in just under a month, and I have to be able to walk for that - it's a road course and crutches or even a wheelchair just wouldn't work there.

Day 12 of the challenge!! Almost to half way! Getting sick of eggs for breakfast, but they do fill me up. Most days I don't even want lunch and just have some fruit.

I've got a couple of projects I can tackle today that don't require a lot of walking around, so I'd better get to it. Hope everyone is enjoying their Friday, and US peeps, stay safe this holiday weekend. Let's all keep in mind that the reason we have a Memorial Day isn't so we can have a day off work to sleep in, party, etc. It's to honor those that gave the ultimate sacrifice to keep us all safe and free. Where would we be without them?
a-soldier-saluting-smiley-emoticon.png


Sending healing vines to all in need, especially Toby and Neko, and hugs to all their beans, especially Peg and Wendy. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Appy vines for Harvey...I hate that pre-barf yowl.

Ugh on your foot...quick healing vines for that!! Yay for Day 12!!!
 
I hope Harvey's tummy has settled down and his appy picks up. I'd say 229 was a bad test. It just doesn't fit. I hope your foot heals soon. Sending prayers.
 
Sorry for the poor appy but it's great he was running from his shot...well, like you said, not so fun for DH. Ouch on the shot, those things hurt like heck! I have falling arches and should wear my orthotics more religiously:oops: Surf safely Harvey and plleaasee eat your fuds little man.
 
Hope Harvey's appy is better tonight! Sorry about the plantar faciaitis! It's painful! Hope you heal in time for the race!
 
That PMPS does seem out of place among the rest of his numbers. Glad to hear Harvey's moving around like that though and hopefully his appetite will be back for tonight. Hope your foot feels better soon too:bighug:
 
:bighug::bighug: I had that once. I was given sonething to use topically and had to go back to the dermatologist a few times for him to work on it. It hurt like h----!

Great that Harvey is getting relief.
 
The drugs and vines kicked in about half an hour ago and he's almost finished the can!

WOO HOO!! Harvey, why don't you just eat your fuds? Then mama wouldn't have to shove those pills down your throat and she wouldn't have to worry about you!!

Hope that if you had to endure the pain of the cortisone shot in your foot that it is at least helping some today!

Yo Deputy Harvey!! What's with dat trip into da shark infested water today? We iz supposed to be good examples for da other kitties you know! I'll gives you da benefit of da doubt today since you turned around quick and came back when I hollered at you. We gots a busy holiday weekend the next few days so I hopes you plan on being on duty!! A girl can only do so much when all the tourist kittehs show up!
 
Yo Deputy Harvey, surf safe, man! As Deputy China says: we need you at your top form, not chasing mermaids.
~ LagoonMeister Rusty

Hi Tricia, I'm sorry that you got a painful cortisone shot. What did the doctor say about ultrasound? I had gotten to the point where I couldn't put any weight on my foot (and I was a competitive racewalker). The ultrasound session cured the plantar faciaitis immediately.
I hope Harvey keeps on eating this evening,

Hugs, scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Lots of lovely greens and low blues for Mr Harvey... what the heck is with that yellow? Reminds me of that Sesame Street song "One of these things is not like the others". Ouchie on the cortisone shot, I've heard those things are super-painful, hope you get some relief from it.
 
@Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA), he said the cortisone was as effective and quicker and easier, as he could do it right then and there and the ultrasound would involve scheduling an appointment with a physical therapist. If it still hurts in a month, I'll ask him again.

@Tara & Ivana, indeed they do hurt just like that! I get them in my fingers every four months and it's miserable. I didn't think this would be as bad, as they say fingers hurt so much because it's a smaller joint. Apparently, "they" have never had a cortisone shot in the bottom of their foot! :eek:

It does hurt a bit less today, but it still hurts. I HATE having to wear my big, clunky shoes all the time, but I want to get better, so....

For any lurkers, since Harvey hit 48 today, he's technically earned a reduction. However, he was not eating at all, and I don't think he would have gone that low had he been eating. Therefore I am not taking the reduction. This decision is specific to this cat in these circumstances and should not be considered standard.

I was once again out at PMPS. Thank goodness no surprises there! Harvey only ate a little of his food, but then DH just used what was already open and you know how it is with leftovers! :rolleyes: I just dished him up something from a fresh can and am waiting for him to come downstairs - we just had a drinking and petting session up in the bathroom and he wanted to linger, but I had things to do! Speaking of which, BBL!
 
Last edited:
Tricia, I had plantar fasciitis many years ago when I was trudging the footpaths looking for a house to buy in unsuitable footwear. I know how painful it is and I thought I would have it forever it was so bad. There are exercises you can do which help it. Google plantation fasciitis exercises. Mine healed after a time and I have not had it since.
 
Ouch, ouch, ouch. Both the foot condition and the treatment. Wear those shoes! And catch these vines.

Lots of wishes that Harvey discovers his appy before the meds. At least, though, the meds are working their magic. And that's good.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Ugh the pre barf meow :eek:
Rico sounds so awful when he does that.
How often do you give cyproheptadine ?
1 x a day ? 2?
I hope your feeling better :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thanks for visiting us, Bron, Marilyn and Jayla. Harvey still isn't eating. Just gave him another dose of Ond & Cypro. @jayla-n-Drevon , the vet said I could give 1/2 a tablet of Cypro twice a day. This morning I only gave him 1/4 tablet and that didn't work, so I gave him the other 1/4 tablet a little later. Tonight I went ahead with the entire 1/2 tablet. Sometimes the 1/4 tablet is enough, and sometimes it isn't.

Harvey looked really uncomfortable coming down the stairs a little while ago, so I gave him some more Bupe. He's back in the lagoon, but with his not eating I'm not really excited about that. :confused:
 
Harvey, Harvey, Harvey..... No swimming with the sharks!!! And start eating your food, it's much better than pills.
Hope your foot heals soon!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top