kimouette
Member Since 2012
Hi everyone,
As you might know, I am helping a person living in Paris to deal with her cat's diabetes. If you look at his spreadsheet (the link is in my signature), you will notice that the cat is pretty unstable in terms of nadirs. He eats many little meals (low carb food), we held the initial dose for 14 cycles.. but still, his nadirs keep appearing at random times of the day. Poor Sylvie was hoping she could at least know around what time of the day to test, but it seems like her kitty is going to require a lot more attention than we though.
This morning we increased the dose for the first time (since we started Lantus on May 20th), and it seems like this is one of these days where he gets a really late nadir! She will be testing the +10 in an hour so we'll have more information, but I'm trying to anticipate here what might, and probably will, happen tonight or during the next days...
The protocol says :
I mean, is it safe to consider that we are talking about a nadir and not a preshot, and stay with the same dosage (cuz logically the next shot should start working later anyway), or are we taking a huge risk here?
I am always puzzled because of this cat's nadirs happening anywhere between +3 and +11, he even had a sort of inactive cycle yesterday. I do know that I want to see more blue and green values, but his profile never really fits into the protocol's rules so often I'm just confused!
Any advise would be greatly appreciated! Either about tonight's injection or "how to deal with a cat with random nadirs"
Thanks for your help!
Kim, Sylvie, and Kabaret (that's the cat's name)
cat_pet_icon
As you might know, I am helping a person living in Paris to deal with her cat's diabetes. If you look at his spreadsheet (the link is in my signature), you will notice that the cat is pretty unstable in terms of nadirs. He eats many little meals (low carb food), we held the initial dose for 14 cycles.. but still, his nadirs keep appearing at random times of the day. Poor Sylvie was hoping she could at least know around what time of the day to test, but it seems like her kitty is going to require a lot more attention than we though.
This morning we increased the dose for the first time (since we started Lantus on May 20th), and it seems like this is one of these days where he gets a really late nadir! She will be testing the +10 in an hour so we'll have more information, but I'm trying to anticipate here what might, and probably will, happen tonight or during the next days...
The protocol says :
But does the same rule apply when you cat has his nadirs at +9, +10 or +11 ?when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
I mean, is it safe to consider that we are talking about a nadir and not a preshot, and stay with the same dosage (cuz logically the next shot should start working later anyway), or are we taking a huge risk here?
I am always puzzled because of this cat's nadirs happening anywhere between +3 and +11, he even had a sort of inactive cycle yesterday. I do know that I want to see more blue and green values, but his profile never really fits into the protocol's rules so often I'm just confused!
Any advise would be greatly appreciated! Either about tonight's injection or "how to deal with a cat with random nadirs"
Thanks for your help!
Kim, Sylvie, and Kabaret (that's the cat's name)
cat_pet_icon