? 5/27, Binie, Is there a good alternative for cortisone? Boswellia maybe?

Heike & BInie

Very Active Member
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-25-binie-amps-500-3-318-6-156.290420/#post-3182140

Good evening,

we went to the vet today because Binie started to lick her wound from the surgery and I started to get worried, because two little holes from the stiches opened up a little. Besides I could see some thread coming out of her.

The vet said, that the thread is part of the self-dissolving threads they use for the deeper layers of the skin. She just cut it off. Some cats get an immune reaction to them and that is why Binie is licking. It is iching and doesn't feel nice. The usual treatment is to give some cortisone. Because of the diabetes that is not a good choice but she suggested to give a tiny dose. I asked her for some time to do research, if there is an alternative. If we don't give cortisone, she said it will take some days before the immune reaction stops by itself. The problem is, that Binie then will continue to lick and maybe we get a bacterial infection.

Usually you would think about a cone now but Binie is already high-end stressed to the point, that I never know if I can give her the insulin or not because she is fighting back. So far I always managend (and gave one fur shot because she jumped) but it is getting more difficult most of the time. So a cone is also not really an option.

I had in mind that in Ayurvedic medicine they give boswellia serrata (incense) instead of cortisone. I used it myself when I had inflammatory intestinal problems and it worked quite well.

My question: Does anyone has experience with boswellia in cats? When I used the search funktion I saw that @Diane Tyler's Mom used a product which contained boswellia as one of many ingredients. I wonder what the dosage is, if you give boswellia alone? Or is there another alternative to cortisone which I didn't think of? And if we end up using cortisone, does it really affect the diabetes so much?

What the vet did today was to put local antibiotics in the wound to treat any bacterial problem which may be there in addition. We will repeat that on friday and than talk about the cortisone again.

Besides that she found that Binie looks much better and awake. The downside was, that she became quite angry again and it was very difficult to treat her. In the good and in the bad, she becomes her old self again...

I was not happy with the time of the vet appointment because they could only offer me something two hours before her shot and I knew, if we come back from the vet I will not be able to inject her because she will be in such an agitated mood. So the vet offered me to inject her and saw not such a big problem in two hours earlier. I was not convinced but I took the option because I thought it is better to shoot early than not being able to inject at all. For safety reasons we took a reduced dose of 2.75 instead of 3 IU. So far I think it is o.k. and we will not have problems tonight. I am sorry for the depot but I was really worried I would not manage to inject her tonight. I hope everything goes well tomorrow morning, today she was running away from me when I came with her food but I finally managed. I hope we don't run out of luck. :(

Hope everyone has a nice evening and all kittys are well and safe! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
@Heike & BInie
Hi Heike I think you were talking about this boswellia-for-dogs-and-cats


Cosequin-for-Cats-Sprinkle-Capsules-60ct-Carton-Professional-Line_32f817de-13be-4ed1-bf13-1da9690d749f_540x.png


What does Boswellia do for cats?
Boswellia for dogs and cats plays an important role in maintaining healthy joint function, which can impact a pet's everyday life. Boswellia has been used forthousands of years and has over 400 independent clinical studies supporting its use


I see you must have read this article
https://www.holistic-pet-care.com/blog/98694-5-reasons-boswellia-is-great-for-your-pet

I have never given it alone
I really don't know anything about ,I just used it because I saw that Tyler was getting up a little slower after he was laying down
Here is another article I found when I googled it
https://www.tribe-organics.com/blogs/pet-health/boswellia-for-dogs-and-cats

I would ask your vet about it
Sorry I couldn't be more help :bighug: :cat:
 
Last edited:
@Heike & BInie
Hi Heike I think you were talking about this boswellia-for-dogs-and-cats


Cosequin-for-Cats-Sprinkle-Capsules-60ct-Carton-Professional-Line_32f817de-13be-4ed1-bf13-1da9690d749f_540x.png


What does Boswellia do for cats?
Boswellia for dogs and cats plays an important role in maintaining healthy joint function, which can impact a pet's everyday life. Boswellia has been used forthousands of years and has over 400 independent clinical studies supporting its use


I see you must have read this article
https://www.holistic-pet-care.com/blog/98694-5-reasons-boswellia-is-great-for-your-pet

I have never given it alone
I really don't know anything about ,I just used it because I saw that Tyler was getting up a little slower after he was laying down
Here is another article I found when I googled it
https://www.tribe-organics.com/blogs/pet-health/boswellia-for-dogs-and-cats

I would ask your vet about it
Sorry I couldn't be more help :bighug: :cat:

Thank you so much Diane! Yes, that was the post I saw but I didn't saw the articles. Thank you! The information in the article helped and have been another confirmation, that it could be useful. Now I have to find the proper dosage. Unfortunately my vet (today I saw the young one) has never heard about boswellia so far but she was quite interested. I will see, how google could help me tonight. Hope you have a beautiful day and thank you so much Diane! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-25-binie-amps-500-3-318-6-156.290420/#post-3182140

Good evening,

we went to the vet today because Binie started to lick her wound from the surgery and I started to get worried, because two little holes from the stiches opened up a little. Besides I could see some thread coming out of her.

The vet said, that the thread is part of the self-dissolving threads they use for the deeper layers of the skin. She just cut it off. Some cats get an immune reaction to them and that is why Binie is licking. It is iching and doesn't feel nice. The usual treatment is to give some cortisone. Because of the diabetes that is not a good choice but she suggested to give a tiny dose. I asked her for some time to do research, if there is an alternative. If we don't give cortisone, she said it will take some days before the immune reaction stops by itself. The problem is, that Binie then will continue to lick and maybe we get a bacterial infection.

Usually you would think about a cone now but Binie is already high-end stressed to the point, that I never know if I can give her the insulin or not because she is fighting back. So far I always managend (and gave one fur shot because she jumped) but it is getting more difficult most of the time. So a cone is also not really an option.

I had in mind that in Ayurvedic medicine they give boswellia serrata (incense) instead of cortisone. I used it myself when I had inflammatory intestinal problems and it worked quite well.

My question: Does anyone has experience with boswellia in cats? When I used the search funktion I saw that @Diane Tyler's Mom used a product which contained boswellia as one of many ingredients. I wonder what the dosage is, if you give boswellia alone? Or is there another alternative to cortisone which I didn't think of? And if we end up using cortisone, does it really affect the diabetes so much?

What the vet did today was to put local antibiotics in the wound to treat any bacterial problem which may be there in addition. We will repeat that on friday and than talk about the cortisone again.

Besides that she found that Binie looks much better and awake. The downside was, that she became quite angry again and it was very difficult to treat her. In the good and in the bad, she becomes her old self again...

I was not happy with the time of the vet appointment because they could only offer me something two hours before her shot and I knew, if we come back from the vet I will not be able to inject her because she will be in such an agitated mood. So the vet offered me to inject her and saw not such a big problem in two hours earlier. I was not convinced but I took the option because I thought it is better to shoot early than not being able to inject at all. For safety reasons we took a reduced dose of 2.75 instead of 3 IU. So far I think it is o.k. and we will not have problems tonight. I am sorry for the depot but I was really worried I would not manage to inject her tonight. I hope everything goes well tomorrow morning, today she was running away from me when I came with her food but I finally managed. I hope we don't run out of luck. :(

Hope everyone has a nice evening and all kittys are well and safe! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Heike, I hope Binie will feel better from that antibiotic. Let’s hope the wound heals so she can feel better overall.
You’re doing such a great job with her. Remember to take care of yourself, too.
I hope you both sleep well tonight :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
I haven't seen many people try boswellia, so that's probably why you couldn't find much by searching.

My vet had me use diluted hibitane (10 to 1). Dab on, leave for a few minutes, rinse off, then repeat. That was for itchy sores. That was pure hibitane. I see by searching there are ointments with hibitane for pets.
 
Hi Heike, I hope Binie will feel better from that antibiotic. Let’s hope the wound heals so she can feel better overall.
You’re doing such a great job with her. Remember to take care of yourself, too.
I hope you both sleep well tonight :bighug::cat::bighug:

Thank you Staci, I hope so too, that she feels better soon. It is enough for her now. I ordered the boswellia and hopefully it does a good job too. I forgot to ask the vet how long the immune reaction can take. It makes a difference if we talk about days or about weeks. Yesterday my sister reminded me that my brother had a similar problem with the threads after a brain surgery. He had to do a second surgery to get them removed. I hope Binie is more lucky. I hope you have a nice day Staci! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thank you Diane! :bighug::bighug::bighug: You even found a German product, so it is easy for me to get it. I ordered it this morning after I found out that is is safer to use boswellia especially for cats and not the boswellia I bought for myself. Boswellia for humans can contian terpenes which can be poisenous for cats.
You're welcome , I did notice it was a German product also .
I really hope it helps your sweet girl :bighug::bighug::bighug:
@Heike & BInie
 
I haven't seen many people try boswellia, so that's probably why you couldn't find much by searching.

My vet had me use diluted hibitane (10 to 1). Dab on, leave for a few minutes, rinse off, then repeat. That was for itchy sores. That was pure hibitane. I see by searching there are ointments with hibitane for pets.

Thank you Wendy! :bighug::bighug::bighug: I decided to give the boswellia a try. It is quite popular in Germany as a healthy version of cortisone and I ordered something especially for cats. Thank you for the idea with the hibitane. I found some products available in Germany and I will ask my vet about it. Maybe this is something I can use at home besides the leukase cones she gets at the vet. I will let you know how it works! Have a beautiful day! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top