Heike & BInie
Member Since 2024
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-25-binie-amps-500-3-318-6-156.290420/#post-3182140
Good evening,
we went to the vet today because Binie started to lick her wound from the surgery and I started to get worried, because two little holes from the stiches opened up a little. Besides I could see some thread coming out of her.
The vet said, that the thread is part of the self-dissolving threads they use for the deeper layers of the skin. She just cut it off. Some cats get an immune reaction to them and that is why Binie is licking. It is iching and doesn't feel nice. The usual treatment is to give some cortisone. Because of the diabetes that is not a good choice but she suggested to give a tiny dose. I asked her for some time to do research, if there is an alternative. If we don't give cortisone, she said it will take some days before the immune reaction stops by itself. The problem is, that Binie then will continue to lick and maybe we get a bacterial infection.
Usually you would think about a cone now but Binie is already high-end stressed to the point, that I never know if I can give her the insulin or not because she is fighting back. So far I always managend (and gave one fur shot because she jumped) but it is getting more difficult most of the time. So a cone is also not really an option.
I had in mind that in Ayurvedic medicine they give boswellia serrata (incense) instead of cortisone. I used it myself when I had inflammatory intestinal problems and it worked quite well.
My question: Does anyone has experience with boswellia in cats? When I used the search funktion I saw that @Diane Tyler's Mom used a product which contained boswellia as one of many ingredients. I wonder what the dosage is, if you give boswellia alone? Or is there another alternative to cortisone which I didn't think of? And if we end up using cortisone, does it really affect the diabetes so much?
What the vet did today was to put local antibiotics in the wound to treat any bacterial problem which may be there in addition. We will repeat that on friday and than talk about the cortisone again.
Besides that she found that Binie looks much better and awake. The downside was, that she became quite angry again and it was very difficult to treat her. In the good and in the bad, she becomes her old self again...
I was not happy with the time of the vet appointment because they could only offer me something two hours before her shot and I knew, if we come back from the vet I will not be able to inject her because she will be in such an agitated mood. So the vet offered me to inject her and saw not such a big problem in two hours earlier. I was not convinced but I took the option because I thought it is better to shoot early than not being able to inject at all. For safety reasons we took a reduced dose of 2.75 instead of 3 IU. So far I think it is o.k. and we will not have problems tonight. I am sorry for the depot but I was really worried I would not manage to inject her tonight. I hope everything goes well tomorrow morning, today she was running away from me when I came with her food but I finally managed. I hope we don't run out of luck.
Hope everyone has a nice evening and all kittys are well and safe!


Good evening,
we went to the vet today because Binie started to lick her wound from the surgery and I started to get worried, because two little holes from the stiches opened up a little. Besides I could see some thread coming out of her.
The vet said, that the thread is part of the self-dissolving threads they use for the deeper layers of the skin. She just cut it off. Some cats get an immune reaction to them and that is why Binie is licking. It is iching and doesn't feel nice. The usual treatment is to give some cortisone. Because of the diabetes that is not a good choice but she suggested to give a tiny dose. I asked her for some time to do research, if there is an alternative. If we don't give cortisone, she said it will take some days before the immune reaction stops by itself. The problem is, that Binie then will continue to lick and maybe we get a bacterial infection.
Usually you would think about a cone now but Binie is already high-end stressed to the point, that I never know if I can give her the insulin or not because she is fighting back. So far I always managend (and gave one fur shot because she jumped) but it is getting more difficult most of the time. So a cone is also not really an option.
I had in mind that in Ayurvedic medicine they give boswellia serrata (incense) instead of cortisone. I used it myself when I had inflammatory intestinal problems and it worked quite well.
My question: Does anyone has experience with boswellia in cats? When I used the search funktion I saw that @Diane Tyler's Mom used a product which contained boswellia as one of many ingredients. I wonder what the dosage is, if you give boswellia alone? Or is there another alternative to cortisone which I didn't think of? And if we end up using cortisone, does it really affect the diabetes so much?
What the vet did today was to put local antibiotics in the wound to treat any bacterial problem which may be there in addition. We will repeat that on friday and than talk about the cortisone again.
Besides that she found that Binie looks much better and awake. The downside was, that she became quite angry again and it was very difficult to treat her. In the good and in the bad, she becomes her old self again...
I was not happy with the time of the vet appointment because they could only offer me something two hours before her shot and I knew, if we come back from the vet I will not be able to inject her because she will be in such an agitated mood. So the vet offered me to inject her and saw not such a big problem in two hours earlier. I was not convinced but I took the option because I thought it is better to shoot early than not being able to inject at all. For safety reasons we took a reduced dose of 2.75 instead of 3 IU. So far I think it is o.k. and we will not have problems tonight. I am sorry for the depot but I was really worried I would not manage to inject her tonight. I hope everything goes well tomorrow morning, today she was running away from me when I came with her food but I finally managed. I hope we don't run out of luck.
Hope everyone has a nice evening and all kittys are well and safe!



