5/27 Aurora AMPS 111 +2 69, +4 84, +6 70, +8 73 PMPS 75, +2 81, +3 87, +9 121 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

5/27 Aurora AMPS 111 +2 69, +4 84, +6 70, +8 73 PMPS 75, +2 81, +3 87, +9 121

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nicole Z

Member since 2017
Yesterday

Morning everyone! Well, Aurora isn't off to the best start this morning, was hoping my efforts getting up at +9 to check and give a snack would help keep her in the lagoon this morning for the AMPS but apparently she had other plans. Beautiful day coming up here in Chicago, sunny and mid 70's windows open, Aurora has had multiple beauty treatments courtesy of her daddy and everyone is enjoying the day so far. Wishing everyone a good surf!
 
Very nice start!

http://www.diabetes.org/living-with...re/blood-glucose-control/dawn-phenomenon.html

Dawn Phenomenon
All people have the “dawn phenomenon,” if they have diabetes or not.

The dawn phenomenon is a surge of hormones that the body produces daily around 4:00 a.m. to 5:00 a.m.

People with diabetes don't have normal insulin responses to adjust for this, and may see their fasting glucose go up.

The rise in glucose is mostly because your body is making less insulin and more glucagon (a hormone that increases blood glucose) than it needs. The less insulin made by the pancreas, the more glucagon the pancreas makes as a result. Glucagon signals the liver to break down glycogen into glucose. This is why high fasting blood glucose levels are common in people with type 2.

Steps that may help:

  • Eat dinner earlier in the evening
  • Do something active after dinner (such as going for a walk)
If your fasting glucose continues to be high, your health care provider may prescribe medication.

- See more at: http://www.diabetes.org/living-with...rol/dawn-phenomenon.html#sthash.UT9TQuSw.dpuf
 
@LizzieInTexas , I'm not sure the same is true with cats. Many here find feeding a +9 snack gets the pancreas working and lowers preshot numbers, especially if the cat is close to remission or on a low dose of insulin. Perhaps another odd thing about felines.

I'd continue the +9 snacks.
 
Yes it was!
She didn't sleep a wink the entire day. We have a pet stroller to take them out for walks so we rotated both of them most of the day and had them outside with us on the patio in the shade - they loved it! We were either doing that or she was inside following daddy all over the house. No way she's going to be wanting a +9 snack, she'll be out cold zonked.
 
She didn't sleep a wink the entire day. We have a pet stroller to take them out for walks so we rotated both of them most of the day and had them outside with us on the patio in the shade - they loved it! We were either doing that or she was inside following daddy all over the house. No way she's going to be wanting a +9 snack, she'll be out cold zonked.
Stroller walks sounds wonderful!

It will be an experiment without the + 9 snack. . If the AMBG's are higher tomorrow, you will know that it is a helpful tool when they get to this point. ;)
 
+2 is 81. Hopefully I'll just need the +3 and off to bed. Aurora is exhausted from her day in the fresh air today, she can barely stay awake on her chair!
 
Momma bean woke up again at 330am to do a +9 and she was at 121, gave a small snack of rat cat raw and went back to bed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top