5/27-28 Bagheera AMPS 223 PMPS 194 AMPS 237

Status
Not open for further replies.

bagheerathediabeticcat

Member Since 2013
It looks like we are starting to get things under control. We had two greens. On that night, my human didn't shoot at first because that 70 made him very nervous. When my blood sugar started to go back up, he did. So that PMPS really was a +12 and then my human did give me my insulin when he came back from working out and my blood sugar levels had started to rise.

I think we will do one last dose increase, to 5.5 units, and then I think we will be done.

Prior Condition
 
Very nice! :mrgreen: It's like a night-and-day difference from just a couple of months ago. No more nasty numbers over 400, either! :thumbup

I would hold off on the dose increase for just a bit. He seems to be doing really well with this 5.25 and we don't know how much lower he might have been before that 70. Try to get a few more tests in throughout the day/night before increase the dose again because I really think this 5.25 is the right dose for right now. Maybe hold off on an increase until after you can do a curve?
 
What do you mean done?? I am curious about bagheera since he reminds me of Tiggy, looks like him too. But also fairly young when diagnosed. Have you discussed high dose conditions with anyone?
 
I mean done as in having found the right dose.

It is kind of you to say that I am a relatively young cat, but I am eight years old now. I was diagnosed with diabetes when I was seven. So I am not that young.

My human has not discussed a high dose condition with anyone. I think the dosing level has to be high because I am a big cat. Remember, I am 18 pounds, and I am definitely not a fat cat. When my human stands over me, he can see the indentation between where my ribs end and where my rear legs begin.

My human picks on me because I have fur that hangs below my belly and he says it makes me look like a fat cat. But I am not fat. Even tiny little Jacey has this. It must be a bengal thing.

Wendy&Tiggy said:
What do you mean done?? I am curious about bagheera since he reminds me of Tiggy, looks like him too. But also fairly young when diagnosed. Have you discussed high dose conditions with anyone?
 
I mean done as in having found the right dose.
I hope that is the case. I thought it was for Tiggy and for a few weeks the dose would hold but a few weeks later the dose stopped working..and the cycle repeated. We are now at 9IU BID.

It is kind of you to say that I am a relatively young cat, but I am eight years old now. I was diagnosed with diabetes when I was seven. So I am not that young.
The experienced guys on here may contradict me but from what I can see the vast majority of cats on here are 11+. So I think 7 is young.

My human has not discussed a high dose condition with anyone. I think the dosing level has to be high because I am a big cat. Remember, I am 18 pounds, and I am definitely not a fat cat. When my human stands over me, he can see the indentation between where my ribs end and where my rear legs begin.
Tiggy is 17.4lbs and isnt fat either. He has big paws and is a big cat naturally. He might also have a high dose condition, he is at 9 units now. Check my SS. I am just about to have him tested.

Anyway I am just saying, it looks kinda familiar to me and it made me wonder. Something to consider.
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
The experienced guys on here may contradict me but from what I can see the vast majority of cats on here are 11+. So I think 7 is young.

I agree, Wendy, and have thought this from the beginning. Especially since this is something I track personally due to Michelangelo's rare young age. The majority of cats diagnosed are considered "senior" with mostly 10-12 year olds or much older and the occasional 9 year old.

I've suggested high dose conditions in passing, but I think starting out, most people wanted to see if he really needed that much insulin or was over-prescribed. Since then, he's systematically increased back up to almost the same dose, yet with quite a different reaction than the first time around (no more crazy bounces or borderline hypos and much more level numbers).

I know they say it's usually not considered till the cat starts getting up to 10u a day, but even with Bagheera's larger size, I think it's something worth considering in this case perhaps.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top