5/27/2018 Thomas AMPS 148

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sara & Cats

Member Since 2018
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-amps-464-7-416-pmps-427.195975/#post-2194262

Good morning,

Thomas has been having some good numbers the last few days which I'm thankful to see. He's been sleeping a lot, he seems more active when he's 300-375. Hopefully his body gets used to these lower numbers.

We got a last minute vet appointment on Wednesday May 23 due to a cancellation. The vet took a good look at his teeth. There's a small amount of periodontal disease but not enough to cause the resistance to insulin that we're seeing and also not worth removing. Blood work for acro and IAA was drawn. I hope to hear results by the end of next week. I've also updated all the bloodwork in my labs tab with my spreadsheet.
 
Morning Sara!
Those blues are definitely great to see, and I hope they continue for you! My buddy Lou is scheduled for a dental in mid-June even though the vet really thought he didn't need it. It's been something on our to-do list for many months, so we scheduled it while we thought about the pros and cons. I think at this point I'm tempted to just get one done to say that I have, and if it helps great. If not, then at least we tried.... the problem is it's a pretty spendy procedure for a "let's just try this out" thing. :p I really hope you get some answers from the acro and IAA bloodwork. Do you mind if I ask you how much your vet charged you for the two tests? I see it costs $78 for both on the MSU website, but my vet quoted me at $130 without shipping. I have to follow up with them, but I hope they're not going to charge me $50 for the blood draw :/.

I hope Thomas has a good day today!
 
It's good to see more blues start showing up on Thomas's SS. :) He will eventually get used to nicer numbers. The first time Neko saw green, she hid under the bed. She used to feel best in low 300's. I knew then if she went to play with her toys, that's where she was. :rolleyes: But thankfully over time that changed as she spent more time in lower numbers, and low blues became her happy zone.

Speaking of spreadsheets, time for a couple comments. First, now that you are seeing blues, you do have to make sure you hold each dose at least six consecutive cycles. That means if you skip or fur shot, the cycle count starts over. You do need to make sure the depot is full before you can evalluate how the dose is doing. 9.5 units was only held for 4 cycles, in spite of seeing blues, and you only held the 10 unit dose for 2 cycles after the fur shots. Believe me, I know how frustrating those fur shots are and how hard it is to wait. :oops: From this point on, if you see low blues, I'd think about holding the dose 8 cycles. TR suggests holding the dose for 6-10 cycles if you are seeing nadirs under 200.

Your vet is right that dental disease wouldn't cause the need for the amount of insulin Thomas needs now. But it is hard to tell what is happening below the gum line. Neko had dentals where her mouth looked fine on visual inspection by the dental specialist vet, but the x-rays meant extractions.

If the blood work gets to Michigan State U by Tuesday, the tests are run that week (starting on the Wednesday), so you should know the answers by next Friday on the high dose tests.

@Amanda and a Loudogg You don't want to know what Canadians pay for the MSU tests. Let's just say, significantly more. :mad: In addition to the blood draw and MSU costs, cross border shipping is quite a bit more.
 
Morning Sara!
Those blues are definitely great to see, and I hope they continue for you! My buddy Lou is scheduled for a dental in mid-June even though the vet really thought he didn't need it. It's been something on our to-do list for many months, so we scheduled it while we thought about the pros and cons. I think at this point I'm tempted to just get one done to say that I have, and if it helps great. If not, then at least we tried.... the problem is it's a pretty spendy procedure for a "let's just try this out" thing. :p I really hope you get some answers from the acro and IAA bloodwork. Do you mind if I ask you how much your vet charged you for the two tests? I see it costs $78 for both on the MSU website, but my vet quoted me at $130 without shipping. I have to follow up with them, but I hope they're not going to charge me $50 for the blood draw :/.

I hope Thomas has a good day today!

I had checked out the price with MSU as well. Was charged $350 Canadian for the draw and to send both tests. I may consider a dental at some point but at the moment it's not in the cards
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top