5/26 Zin pmps 484

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa and Do Lou (GA)

Member Since 2010
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=96146

Morning LL wow weird making 2 condos I would sure like to see this be short lived with her but who knows... I was happy to see her eat all the dry dm yes I know this is not the best food but IMO better then her regular food we shall see if she likes the young again when I get that she will not touch wellness core. She is happy perky with all Ps in place still peeing a lot but drinking did slow down a bit she is not hanging by the bowl this morning :cool: Ok off to make Do Lou a condo :-D
 
Re: 5/26 Zin amps 526

Morning Lisa ~O) ~O) ~O) Oh wow, you have another FD kitty! How wonderful that you are caring for another. Good luck with the foods, such a process it can be to get them transitioned over. Good luck! And come on down Zin!
 
Re: 5/26 Zin amps 526

Michelle and Mannie (GA) said:
Morning Lisa ~O) ~O) ~O) Oh wow, you have another FD kitty! How wonderful that you are caring for another. Good luck with the foods, such a process it can be to get them transitioned over. Good luck! And come on down Zin!

Hi Michelle I am so hoping its just short lived from her steroid shot that I gave a week ago since they are something she has been on all her life almost ( she is almost 14) for IBD anyhoo time will tell she has to get into the vet this week also to get checked out I want to see if anything else could be going on we were going to do all this when she had a dental ( due in July) but going to get checked now and proceed from there and yeah last thing I needed was another FD kid @-) :YMSIGH: oh well when you have pets just gotta roll with it don't you :lol:
 
Re: 5/26 Zin amps 526

The other lower carb dry is EVO cat and kitten.

I don't know if you think it's worthwhile trying to transition Zin to canned food. Combining the dry with canned may work.

One other thought... Did you use the weight based formula to calculate Zin's initial dose?
 
Re: 5/26 Zin amps 526

Sienne and Gabby said:
The other lower carb dry is EVO cat and kitten.

I don't know if you think it's worthwhile trying to transition Zin to canned food. Combining the dry with canned may work.

One other thought... Did you use the weight based formula to calculate Zin's initial dose?
Actually no Sienne I just kinda gave her the .5u I had planned to weigh her today I will do that now how do you calculate the dose for weight??
 
Re: 5/26 Zin amps 526? for Sienne below

well no loss of weight yet she has gained since I last weighed her she weighs 8.9?? so should I give more lantus? jeeez this makes be feel like such a greenhorn you know I just thought hmmmm start her low you know... :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops:
 
Re: 5/26 Zin amps 526? for Sienne below

Lol!! The formula is initial dose = 0.25 x ideal weight in kilograms.

If Zin's weight is close to her ideal weight, the starting dose would be 1.0u. (initial dose = 0.25 x 4 kg). You can certainly start lower -- and many people do. As you know, it's easier on the nerves to work the dose up than have to chew on your fingernails if you've started too high. You're an experienced caregiver and know your kitties. I think it's your call. Knowing that you may have started lower may give you the room to push the dose up as you see how Zin reacts.
 
Re: 5/26 Zin amps 526? for Sienne below

Hi Lisa,
I'm sorry to hear that Zin has diabetes and hope that it will subside once you get the steroids under control. But thank goodness you know how to proceed! EVO Cat & Kitten dry food is 7% carbs. Stu loved it (he was a dry food addict, too, but he got used to wet food in time). I hope that the senior work-up will give a generally good report and that all will go well with getting Zin on track.

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: and scritches to Do Lou, Zin, and all the kitties,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 5/26 Zin amps 526? for Sienne below

Sienne and Gabby said:
Lol!! The formula is initial dose = 0.25 x ideal weight in kilograms.

If Zin's weight is close to her ideal weight, the starting dose would be 1.0u. (initial dose = 0.25 x 4 kg). You can certainly start lower -- and many people do. As you know, it's easier on the nerves to work the dose up than have to chew on your fingernails if you've started too high. You're an experienced caregiver and know your kitties. I think it's your call. Knowing that you may have started lower may give you the room to push the dose up as you see how Zin reacts.


Ok thanks Sienne for the formula :mrgreen: but yeah guess I will just go slow since she is so lost with me sticking her right now but you know overall she is tolerating it super like I said yesterday I have kept a eye on her BG well kinda since DL was dx since he had a history of steroid use for allergies but she has been on depo injections for years its the only thing we ever found to truly help keep her IBD under control so just gotta find a balance here and we see what the vet says this week once I get her in for a check hoping nothing else is going on but you never know with a cat her age :roll:
 
+ 8 391
pmps 484

doing pretty good tonight but I think I may go ahead and go with 1u like Sienne said was her dose per weight if she keeps remaining so darn high we shall see how things go tonight and tomorrow I know the shed is in the building up stage
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top