5/26 Wonton

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wonton

Member Since 2012
Good morning LL, wondering how to handle a 115 reading. Should I not feed and stall or should I feed and shoot .5u (1.25u is her usual dose)? I don't have enough data to know how she reacts, like how long does it take to stall and increase her number? And at what higher number would be safe to shoot?
I guess I need alittle hand holding today ;o)
 
Re: 5/26 Wonton 115 Should I shoot or stall?

Stalling: first reading 115 at 6:30am, 114 at 7:00am. I'm going to feed her and shoot .5u and get readings every hour. We'll see how it goes. I'll post back....
 
Re: 5/26 Wonton 115 Should I shoot or stall?

You should be ok since you will be around. Just keep an eye on her. Do you have some HC and karo handy just in case? Have a wonderful day!
 
Re: 5/26 Wonton 115 Should I shoot or stall?

Yes, I have HC food and karo just in case. I'll be getting hourly readings....
Thank you.
Have a great day!!
 
Re: 5/26 Wonton 115 Should I shoot or stall?

I'm wondering if you should reduce your dose overall again, so you can feel comfortable shooting the same amount both morning and evenings. I'm afraid with the BCSs and skipped shots, her shed is all sorts of wonky and Wonton won't settle into a nice flat curve. Maybe 1U twice a day would be a better starting point for Wonton.

I have to head to work now, but maybe post that you have a question about reducing to see what other's think....it just may be a bit slower on the board, since it's a holiday weekend...but hopefully a few folks will be around.

Have a great day!!

Amy
 
Re: 5/26 Wonton 115 Should I shoot or stall?

I was thinking the same thing as Amy.
Wonton needs to get on a consistant dose every 12 hours. I was also thinking maybe you would feel more comfortable trying 1 unit twice a day, and see how she does with that, for awhile. What do you think?
 
Re: 5/26 Wonton 115 Should I shoot or stall?

Yes, I would like to go with 1u /2x daily. She seems pretty level right now at 111 at +4. I realize I'll need to continue to watch her. Thanks Dyana and Amy!
Do you think by +6 and she's not under 100 that it's safe for me to leave the house for a few hours??
 
Re: 5/26 Wonton Question on reducing dose

I think you can reduce to 1.0u BID if that makes you more comfortable. I also think you are going to need to start thinking about shooting lower numbers. It can be hard to wrap your head around the idea but it will be important that you begin preparing yourself to do this if you want Wonton to achieve regulation. It's not an all or nothing thing -- you can begin to gradually shoot lower.
 
Re: 5/26 Wonton Question on reducing dose

Level is good. Yup, I think you could head out if she's still hanging where she is at +6.

1U twice a day sounds perfect, and the long weekend is the ideal time to try it out! It does get easier, and it does get less nerve-wracking!!!
 
Re: 5/26 Wonton Question on reducing dose

Thank you Sienne and Amy for your replies, especially on this holiday weekend. Yes, I'm comfortable with changing to 1u/2x daily. Sienne, you say to shoot lower numbers gradually...is there a guideline you could recommend? Like if she's between 50-80 to shoot .5; if she's 80-100 shoot 1? Or should I try to shoot 1 in the morning no matter her reading?
 
Re: 5/26 Wonton Question on reducing dose

Her BG at 12:45pm is 160 so she's going up now. I need to leave the house for alittle while, will leave her a snack, and will shoot her 1u this evening.
thank you all for guiding me this morning, it's very much appreciated.
Enjoy your Saturday!! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 5/26 Wonton Question on reducing dose

Wonton said:
Sienne, you say to shoot lower numbers gradually...is there a guideline you could recommend? Like if she's between 50-80 to shoot .5; if she's 80-100 shoot 1? Or should I try to shoot 1 in the morning no matter her reading?

Carolyn....what we try to teach you is to gradually learn to shoot the full dose for any number above 50. We don't set up a sliding scale beforehand. If you get a number lower than what you've shot before, then post the number and ask for help. Then we can walk you through the steps. If you look in my signature block, it has a link to "Dealing with Low Preshots". This can help you and I suggest you print it off for quick reference. We do not recommend that you shoot below 50 and we'd really like to help you as you learn to shoot lower.

For example, if you get a dropping number, we might have you stall just a bit to see if Wonton comes up before you shoot. We want you to learn what she does at low numbers and how she responds. But the goal is to shoot the full, current dose when safe to do so....and we teach you when "safe" is :-D

Once your questions have been answered, we aske that you take off the "?" icon and also fix your subject line to provide the numbers you are getting so we can see at a glance that it's going up...or down and you might need more help.

Thanks, Carolyn. Enjoy your day.
 
Thank you, Marje, I have a better understanding from your explanation. I did shoot her at 1u this evening. Her pre-shot was 256, so her levels rose but not too bad. Will see where she's at tomorrow morning.
Have a wonderful evening!
Carolyn
 
Good deal!! I hope you're good to go with shooting 1U tomorrow...it would be great to see you guys get on a consistent dose and schedule. I'm not working tomorrow...I've got a few things I do need to take care of around the house, but for the most part I'll be around to help if you need it. Trix's shot is at 5:45, and I know I'll be going BTB (back to bed) after it, but I'll keep my eyes peeled for you.
 
Yes, I will shoot 1u in the morning. Thank you Amy, please get your rest. I will post as I go along and I'm anticipating that all will go well. I understand that keeping her dose consistent will get her regulated. I'm getting better with pricking her ears and getting a good blood bubble on the first try. I'm really proud of her as I know she hates the testing but endures like a little trooper. Sometimes she tries to make a run for it, but I gently hold her down and she settles down.
You and Trix have a restful evening! :YMHUG:
 
You guys are definitely getting "there". Wonton responds so well, I just know that once you get on a regular schedule, she'll be an easy-to-manage kitty...just a gut feeling I have, and my gut is very rarely wrong!

You have a restful evening, too!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top