5/26 Suzie AMPS 96 +1 85 +2 86

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi all,

Not posted for a few days, it's been horribly hectic, I've had to go into the office rather than work from home. Gotta earn a living to pay for Suzie's treatment & supplies ;-) This morning I had to run out the door, but DH could stick around a little to see where she went and test her before he had to leave too.

She was on a dropping trend this morning, so postponed the shot, even on being fed she kept dropping, so we reduced the dose, esp as I am not home to watch her. DH will try to drop in on her during the day and test.

Overall though, she is doing great. She is showing great interest in eating grass (garden is enclosed, she can't go anywhere). Now that she is grooming again, she probably has the need to deal with hairballs. Of course, with no teeth, she's not managing to eat any. What can I give her to help that is low-carb? I have some hairball remedy at home but suspect it's HC.

Maria & Suzie
 
Good Morning Suzie great numbers today not sure about LC hairball I am sure someone will have some suggestions for you I am curious myself :mrgreen:
 
Suzie is looking very good! Hope she keeps moving in this direction!

About the hairballs I have no idea....I think I have heard of some people giving some kind of oil? Mine do eat grass but not specifically to get up hairballs.
 
Re: 5/26 Suzie AMPS 96 +1 85 +2 86 +7 128

DH just puther latest test of 128 on her spreadsheet, so she's slowly going up, but nice greens & blues today. Here I am in the office, doing remote feline diabetes management... that google doc spreadsheet sure is handy! Nothing more to worry about today then...

She's always nibbled grass, I always felt she knew she was doing, whether it was for hairballs or just to keep her bowels moving along, but now that she has no teeth, I'll probably have to help nature along a little.

Is Spooky feeling ok today ? (saw the other post)
 
Hi Maria!

Glad to hear that Suzie is enjoying the garden!

Couple of things I'll like to point out.... housekeeping and protocol type too.

Housekeeping -> in your SS, the BG you shot goes into the AMPS box. If the shot is delayed, you can make a note in the comment section.

Protocol -> I understand your concern with respect to the number you were faced with this morning... however... there are a couple of things you have to consider. It's normal to be nervous.... I was a total drama queen when I was there.... bottom line is that you have to take advantage of collecting data when you are home to monitor.... shooting full dose is the 1st option (disclaimer, under most circumstances), shooting a reduced dose is also an option. Also.. the words "dropping number" scared the poop out of me... and that's what you think you were facing this morning. Lowering and dropping isn't quite the same, make sense? Both need attention, but one requires more than the other.

Also, some cats are double dipper and you'll only know if Suzie is one of those cats when you'll have the data. Getting a +11 number also buys you more time to decide what to do.

And also... don't forget about the shed. The shed give you a little bit of umph, so giving a reduced dose doesn't necessarily mean no action... make sense?

And lastly before you start to hate me... a dose decrease is typically earned... meaning that you should catch a reading below 50. Has your heart stopped yet? When someone told me that the 1st time, my almost did stop :lol: . Suzie has or doesn't have enough insulin.... that's the point I'm trying to make. So technically, she has to indicate that she's outgrown her current dose. So with that said, if you want to keep her at 2.5 for a few days to see what happens, for you to collect data and ease your nerves, go ahead.... it's ok. We understand that the learning curve is steep for the hooman too. :-D

Suzie is looking great! Keep up the good work!!
 
I agree with everything that Helene said. You should be shooting 2.75u tonight - Suzie did not earn a decrease. She may have if you did not intervene with food this morning.

Also, if you shot at +2.5, your PMPS is 12 hours from your AM shot time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top