5/26: Sammy - AMPS 78; +6 86; PMPS 85; +2 56; +6 48

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Sammy

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo

Sammy is doing quite well on the slightly increased dose of a fat .25u. Yesterday, just before PMPS he did throw me a few higher numbers, but I am guessing that was probably a bit of NDW happening, he ended up dropping down under 100 by +3 and remained their for the rest of the evening and even surfed pretty steady from +7 to AMPS this morning.

He didn't seem that interested in food this morning at AMPS, so I don't know what is up with that. I will be checking him again in a little bit at +2 and try to stimulate more eating.

Hope everyone has a wonderful day.
 
Nice start for Sammy. :D I hope he eats for you today.

Still not eating that great. I think it is the kidney issues that might be causing the upset stomach, so I gave him famotidine. I probably should talk to the vet to find out if it would be okay to give it to him every day for awhile because he seems to have these days where he just doesn't want to eat, but within 12 - 24 hours of giving the famotidine he is back to eating just fine.
 
CKD really can mess with their appies. Trix gets the max dose of famotadine (5mg) twice a day along with cerenia every 36 hours, and both of those things really seem to help her. I've tried a few times to wean her off and/or reduce her doses, but that always fails, so I don't mess with her meds at all any more. Getting Sammy's phos levels down will help with appy issues, too....hopefully the ConSeal will get there today. (I have a tracking number but it's at home and I'm at work). Of course you want to work out the plan for Sammy with your vetty - just sharing what is working for trix.

Great greens, Sammy....now just eat a bit, OK?
 
CKD really can mess with their appies. Trix gets the max dose of famotadine (5mg) twice a day along with cerenia every 36 hours, and both of those things really seem to help her. I've tried a few times to wean her off and/or reduce her doses, but that always fails, so I don't mess with her meds at all any more. Getting Sammy's phos levels down will help with appy issues, too....hopefully the ConSeal will get there today. (I have a tracking number but it's at home and I'm at work). Of course you want to work out the plan for Sammy with your vetty - just sharing what is working for trix.

Great greens, Sammy....now just eat a bit, OK?


@Amy&TrixieCat Yep, the ConSeal came today and I gave the first little bit to Sammy with his first evening meal. I try to give him 5 meals each cycle so I cut the pill up into five slices. It seemed to cut pretty well. I wasn't sure how I was going to give it to him. I was nervous that if I mixed it into the food and he didn't eat all the food he might not get the binder. So I put it off to the side on the plate and pointed it out to him before he started eating. He gobbled it right down before moving on to the food, which I was very happy about. My plan is to give him 1 pill, divided by 5 during each cycle for at least 2 weeks and then have his phosphorous checked again. Do you think that would be enough time to see if there is a change happening?

I talked to my vet today and they have tried to call the company to get a supply of the ConSeal, but when I talked to them this evening they had not heard back from the company yet. They will call me once they know pricing and such. I will also talk to them about dosing as well and see if they think I should give more or less than 2 pills a day.

Thanks again for sending it. I was very anxious to get it started.
 
I'm glad it made it to you already! For Trix, I shave it off the capsule and then mix it in to her food. She won't eat it by itself (she became very suspicious of ALL "treats" after she got sick last year and still hasn't gotten over it), and she flick out chunks, so shaving works for her. I'm glad Sammy gobbled it up! I do think it acts fairly quickly, although as I've mentioned we don't test Trix any more since she gets sick after vetty visits. But I'm fairly certain that 2 weeks should be enough time to start seeing results in Sammy's BW. I hope your vet is able to get some in for you!
 
After PMPS this evening I was really expecting +2 to be a bit higher. I accidentally left Crystal's food on the floor after dinner for a little bit, because DH and I were watching one of the baby birds that got out of the nest today. Before I knew it Sammy was eating Crystal's food which is a bit higher in carbs than his normal food. Still low carb, but more like 8-9% rather than 4-5%. I didn't know how much he ate, so I didn't know how it was going to affect him.

Well, either he didn't get very much or it helped him use the insulin more efficiently tonight because he gave me a 56 at +2. So I gave him a bit more of that same food at +2. It will either slow down the drop now or raise him up a bit. I am fine with either, because I really hope to get some sleep tonight and I don't want him to earn a reduction just yet.
 
What a beautiful day for Sammy! His spreadsheet is right back to being awesome. Surf safe tonight Sammy - no grabbing a reduction just yet! :D
 
Hey Sammy that's far enough. Back up now please!

Sammy, I'z gonna come and kick you back into the shallow end if you don't come back up there by yourself! - Rosa
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top