5/26 Rusty AMPS 113, +5 42, PMPS 107,+4.5 51; reducie

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday

Hi Everyone,

Rusty may get a reduction tonight, although I don't see how I can measure his dose any smaller on the Monoject syringes. It's practically at the zero line now! So-so appetite again this morning, but he is eating when we hold the bowl for him. Another cold, rainy day. Rusty is camped out in his bed next to the radiator (amazing that we put the heat on this morning--at the end of May!!!)

The piano tuner is here now and as soon as he finishes Edward and I are making a quick trip down to camp to bring back 2 solo canoes that we have a buyer for (we are "downsizing" our fleet).

bbl (sometime this evening; Rusty has a full plate of food :cat:)
 
In all these years, I don't think I have ever looked at Rusty's SS before. :oops: That's a lot of blue and green!

I know you use calipers, so I'm sure you can figure out how to measure a smaller dose (better you than me - I could never work the things).

Rusty, I think you should patrol the shallow waters while the beans are out. You've already verified that the shark nets are intact and the other kitties are safe.
 
We had a good trip to camp in the rain and the canoes are now here. The purchaser is coming tomorrow morning. He's a friend of a friend--the best kind of person to sell wonderful canoes to.
Rusty didn't eat much, if anything, while we were out. He was so happy to see us. We took his dose down a smidgen, to what I am calling 0.15?Unit (0.20mm on the digital calipers, Monoject syringe--down from 0.22mm). We'll see what happens next.

Gotta go start the dough for cookies ("cimmamum", i.e., ginger snaps) now for the Memorial Day picnic on Monday. Our group always has a paddle and later a picnic at someone's house. Rain is forecast, but we are hoping that the paddle will go on anyway. If not, there's always the picnic. Tobey, my Other Best Boy: come and help do the baking tomorrow, OK? (@Marje and Gracie )
 
Why do you use these if they are difficult to dose with? Just curious.:rolleyes:
Terumo syringes (the best) were discontinued about 1 1/2 years ago. I had a stockpile of them. And my friends here on the board gave me even more (@Ann & Tess GA , @Chris & China , @rhiannon and shadow (GA) . Now I have only about 2 weeks worth and I am saving them for when I will really need them when on vacation this summer. In the meantime I tried every syringe I could find and found the Monojects to be the best of the lot. They don't get bubbles very often and they have good markings. But the barrel is so much fatter than the Terumo barrel that it makes it difficult to draw up Rusty's tiny dose. Even with calipers it is difficult because the Monojects have a "cone", and insulin can hide in the cone and make the dose larger than intended. Anyway. I used to use Monojects before Marje convinced me that Terumos were so much better. I switched, and got spoiled!
I never did manage to get his cookie recipe from Tobey when I met him. And yes, I did ask him about cookies. :)
I'll send you the recipe. The only thing it lacks is the paw print that Tobey supplies.

Rusty didn't eat well today. But tonight he is full of energy and is playing with the cap from the toilet bolt.

'night, all.
 
Glad Rusty is feeling spunky even though he didn't have a good appetite. Sorry the syringe thing is so stressful. I think almost a full drop can hide up in the hub of the BDs I use and if there is a bubble up there I can't get out, well there goes the perfect dose, calipers or not :facepalm:
Congrats on the reduction!
 
We had a good trip to camp in the rain and the canoes are now here. The purchaser is coming tomorrow morning. He's a friend of a friend--the best kind of person to sell wonderful canoes to.
Rusty didn't eat much, if anything, while we were out. He was so happy to see us. We took his dose down a smidgen, to what I am calling 0.15?Unit (0.20mm on the digital calipers, Monoject syringe--down from 0.22mm). We'll see what happens next.

Gotta go start the dough for cookies ("cimmamum", i.e., ginger snaps) now for the Memorial Day picnic on Monday. Our group always has a paddle and later a picnic at someone's house. Rain is forecast, but we are hoping that the paddle will go on anyway. If not, there's always the picnic. Tobey, my Other Best Boy: come and help do the baking tomorrow, OK? (@Marje and Gracie )
Tobey read Rusty’s condo and headed up there pronto to help out. He said I need to get on the ball but we’ve had so much company lately that I haven’t had a chance to be on the board.

I hope you got in your paddle!! Enjoy the picnic and I hope Tobey was a big help with all things cimmamum.

Terumo syringes (the best) were discontinued about 1 1/2 years ago. I had a stockpile of them. And my friends here on the board gave me even more (@Ann & Tess GA , @Chris & China , @rhiannon and shadow (GA) .

I'll send you the recipe. The only thing it lacks is the paw print that Tobey supplies.

Tobey is stingy with that recipe but he will be glad to provide the coup de gras with his pawprint just for his beloved Auntie Ellabean and Auntie Wendy.

By the way, I have heard that the CarePoint Vet syringes from ADW are similar to the Terumos. I never got the chance to try them but just thought I’d pass that along.
 
By the way, I have heard that the CarePoint Vet syringes from ADW are similar to the Terumos. I never got the chance to try them but just thought I’d pass that along.
Thanks, Marje. I tried the CarePoint Vet syringes and had little success with them (huge bubbles that were impossible to expell; sticky plunger). Maybe I got a bad box. Please tell Tobey that his paw prints look great in the batch of cimmamum cookies I made today for Monday's party.
 
Thanks, Marje. I tried the CarePoint Vet syringes and had little success with them (huge bubbles that were impossible to expell; sticky plunger). Maybe I got a bad box. Please tell Tobey that his paw prints look great in the batch of cimmamum cookies I made today for Monday's party.
That's good to know about those syringes. I'm sorry they didn't work. I know how frustrating it is to deal with horrible syringes. I had decided if the CarePoint didn't work, I'd try the BD but they are expensive!

Tobey came home dusted in cimmamum and dough between his little toes but very happy. Have fun Monday!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top