5/26 Rocky PMPS 292 +2 333 +4 174 +11 268

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Good evening everyone,

Rocky had 8 hours of a flat yellow AM cycle, and a lot of yellow overnight too. But with the pink numbers in there this looks to be a bounce from the blue streak he had the day before.... :roll:

I kept his shot time at 10am and will give him his shot at 10pm tonight. Tomorrow morning I plan to move him back to 9am and then 9pm.

I think probably Rocky's BG will stay in the yellows and pinks overnight. I think the only reason that he has been seeing the blue numbers is because of the insulin 'overlap'. I believe I'm going to have to increase here sometime pretty soon but I wanted to first make sure that we got back on his normal shot time schedule.

Yesterday's condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=119306&p=1247459#p1247459

Yesterday's SS:
AMPS 286 +1 358 +4 281 +9 301
PMPS 285 +2 287 +5 285 +10 349

Elise and Amy, I left a note on the person's car last night and told me to call them when they could. They live very close to me and were just at a party on my street. The wife's mother lives two doors down from me on the same side of the street. I don't know how much this is going to cost me. Not a lot of damage to my car, some white paint and a tiny dent. Their car, on the other hand, was dented in near the headlight on the left side of the car. I drive an old 2003 Ford Focus and we are probably only going to keep it another 2 years, if it lasts that long, so we won't repair my car. (But there's nothing to repair.) The guy was very happy that I left the note as they've been hit before and that time the person wasn't so responsible.
 
Re: 5/26 Rocky AMPS 355 +2 292 +6 225 +10 300

I hope it won't cost a lot to fix it and maybe you won't need to go through insurance.

Julie posted with some condos to read on bouncing so have a look at my condo when you have some time.
 
Re: 5/26 Rocky PMPS 292

I didn't suggest that I just pay for the repair and we not go through insurance. I wonder if we should do that?

I did read one condo where Jill posted about manipulating the food. I didn't realize that I shouldn't give Rocky carbs above LC unless he was having trouble staying above 50... I just so much want to avoid a reduction that I think I usually bump up his carbs too much. :YMSIGH:

About the recommended feeding schedule, I already feed Rocky mini-meals. I feed him a pre-shot meal, then a +1, +2 and then sometimes I give him a +3. It just depends on how much food I want to feed him for the day. If I want him to eat less then I still break the meals into mini-meals. I just have been feeding him a little more food at +1 and +2 then for the pre-shot meal.

I've had Rocky on 1.75u of insulin now for 26 cycles, since 5/14...
 
Re: 5/26 Rocky PMPS 292

Rocky's had 12 cycles since he last saw green numbers. Even with blue and green nadirs, the protocol suggests increasing after 6-10 cycles. I'd increase his dose by 0.25u.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
Re: 5/26 Rocky PMPS 292

Hi Julie,

I've fed Rocky a lot of food and a lot of high carbs during this 1.75u run, and, he has gone below 50 2x on this dose of 1.75u, once on 5/18 and another time on 5/20. I was afraid to increase his dose while I was at the same time moving his shot time EARLIER, which was overlapping the shots and as I understand it, so acts like an increase? :roll:

With reaching the 2x under 50 and not reducing on this dose when he did go under 50 I was afraid to raise his insulin by .25u, although I do think that he needs it. I just wanted to make sure we were back on the 9am to 9pm shooting schedule again.

Even tomorrow, I will be giving him a shot one hour EARLIER in the morning, at 9am instead of at 10am, so should I go ahead and increase by .25u in the morning anyway even though there is going to be this overlap of insulin? confused_cat
 
Re: DOSE QUESTION! 5/26 Rocky PMPS 292 +2 333 +4 174

I would not increase AND shoot an hour earlier at the same time....that could definitely/possibly produce too much overlap. I'd go with one or the other, and since it sounds like you need to shoot an hour early, I would hold off on the increase until the evening at the earliest.

FWIW, shooting an hour early MAY have some funky effects on Rocky's numbers, too, since Lantus prefers its 12/12 consistency. So, I would be sure to get a +1 and +2 when shooting this much earlier than usual, and don't be surprised if you see "unusual activity" during the cycle.

I hope all works out with the car. If the damage is minimal and the owner is willing, I'd avoid going through insurance, too.
 
Re: 5/26 Rocky PMPS 292 +2 333 +4 174

Thank you Amy.. He was at 268 at AMBG so I decided to give his shot 15 minutes early instead of one hour early. I have been working our way back to the 9am to 9pm shot schedule. Julie had said that sometimes you can take advantage of an early shot time if the cat is bouncing or is in the 300s. Because Rocky wasn't in the 300s I didn't want to shoot one hour early. If he is in the 300s by tonight's shot time though, I probably will do that.

However, I stupidly fed him 1/2 can of the FF Classic Chicken now without giving the shot. I wish that I had not done that. ohmygod_smile Oh well..

About the car accident, I have asked them to get an estimate and then we'll check with our insurance company to find out what our deductible is. If it costs more than our deductible to repair it then we'll go ahead and cover it through insurance. I just wish that this wouldn't have happened. :YMSIGH: I swear, I don't think anybody could have seen that black car in the dark and they had parked across the street just behind my car.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top