5/26 Musette amps 189, +3~235, +6~177, +9~166, pmps~289

Status
Not open for further replies.

MommaOfMuse

Member Since 2010
Last night I started her back on 1u and got a nice response by +3 last night, but since this whole feeding tube is a completely new game for me I decided this morning with an amps of 189 to roll back to .5u and hold there...I just don't want to risk her also going hypo on me with everything else she has going on right now. I figure we can always go up if .5 proves to not be enough, but a hypo right now ...well don't even want to think about trying to deal with that one right now...one disaster at a time for awhile please.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 5/26 Musette amps 189

So very glad that Musette is home with mommy again! I'll bet her recovery will be rapid now that she's home.

I hope you get to rest up this weekend, Mel. What you went through last week was pretty stressful, and you certainly deserve some R & R time!

Suze
 
Re: 5/26 Musette amps 189

That sounds reasonable - reducing the dose - and I have been thinking the same thing with Jeddie the past 24 hours too. His numbers are lower, so I keep reducing the dose. I just don't want to deal with a super low number when his appetite is off and getting HC into him might be an issue.

Are you offering food to her periodically? I know with Beau, after a p-titis flare, he would just suddenly decide to eat what I offered - at least a few bites. I always had to make it super enticing though by warming it. He always seemed partial to ham baby food when he was coming out of not eating.

Will she eat yogurt? Beau likes warm, plain Greek yogurt. 2% fat, not fat free - and just a tsp at a time. I used to give that to him after his pepcid 20 mins before trying to feed him. He likes it so much I still give it to him whenever I eat yogurt.
 
Re: 5/26 Musette amps 189, +3-235

I have a bowl of tuna juice sitting in there for her, and I have been offering her bits of tuna today..so far it is a no go, a little later I'm going to see if perhaps she will find the beef baby food I just picked up more to her liking..she is a big beef fan and before she got sick would just about crawl in our mouths for a bite of steak or hamburger.

They didn't give me anything for nausea for her but I do have generic pepsid here so I'm thinking about crushing up some and giving that to her via her feeding tube about 1/2 hour before feeding, she acts to me like she needs something for an upset tummy, she is doing a lot of hard swallowing and lip licking.

I'm also wondering about maybe trying to at least syringing a little water in her mouth to to keep it moist...sure she is eating through a tube but I would think since she isn't drinking either that maybe a little moisture in the mouth would be a good thing. I know when I'm sick if my mouth is dry, food is less appealing. maybe even try giving her a little food by mouth with a syringe. Just so she can remember what food tastes like. Maybe I will ask on health or send a PM to Hope & Baby I think Hope has a lot of experience with tube feeding.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 5/26 Musette amps 189, +3~235

I'm not sure if you saw my response to your post on the first tube feeding, but there's some info there. Also, for people, we absolutely do keep their mouths moist. There are flavored mouth products made especially for it, but I think your bits of water through a syringe make perfect sense!

There's a human drug called Zofran (ondansetron) indicated for nausea that comes in a pill form. It's very effective in cats and much less expensive than the injectable Cerenia. It gives you a little more flexibility in when you use it as well. It can be crushed and go right into the tube no problem. Perhaps your Vet could get a script. In cats, the usual dose is 0.11 mg per pound (0.22 mg/kg) every 8 to 12 hours.

Please feel free to send me any questions, I tube feed patients almost every day and am pretty sure I can either answer or find the answer for you!
 
Re: 5/26 Musette amps 189, +3~235

Thanks Jessica,

Yeah it just makes sense to me that she is going to have dry mouth if she is getting nothing by mouth that is why I was thinking either water or tuna juice so she gets moisture as well as with the tuna juice a little flavor so she remembers what food tastes like. I know that unlike dogs, cats are learned hunters..if mom doesn't teach them its food they don't eat it, so once they go off food it would seem logical that they need to be retaught what food is.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 5/26 Musette amps 189, +3~235

Oh to answer your question on the first post, her's is an e-tube so in her esophagus...what I am finding that seems to work the best for us on the feedings is to use the plunger on the syringe but only to apply enough pressure to keep it against the fluid as gravity does its work if that makes sense..not sure how else to explain it. On her first feeding last night I would just fill the tube and watch to see how fast it went in so I knew about what rate I needed to give it at.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Taking the small things in a whole new light with my sweet girl....Never thought I would be so happy to report ....She pooped and peed in the litter box and while still pretty loose at least it wasn't pure liquid! When I first got her home she was pooping and peeing next to the box even thought it has very low sides it is the one I normally use for tiny kittens...but tonight she made it all the way in! :-D

Never thought I would be this happy for a cat hitting the litter box, also the last time I let her out of the bathroom to wander around the bedroom she actually ran over to check out Maxwell's and Lady Jane's dish...of course it was empty as it always is when she use to check but just seeing her at least go to check it gives me hope that maybe just maybe it won't be too long and she will want to eat on her own again. <saying lots of nom nom prayers>

Mel, Maxwell, Musette, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Great accomplishments for Musette, after only being home for 24 hours! Sounds like she's regaining her strength, quickly. Hopefully, eating on her own will follow very soon!

Suze
 
So glad Musette is home.I was just catching up on everyone.
You are doing an awsome job with the feeding tube! Hope she is feeling better real soon!
 
Great update! So happy that she's using the lb. When will you let her integrate with Maxwell and Lady Jane again? Maybe they will help her heal.
Continuing to send nom, nom, nom, on her own prayers.
 
She is allowed out with them when mom is around to supervise...but Lady Jane will play with anything that remotely dangles and has an obession for socks and bandages so until Musette is feeling a lot better and can hold her own with two rough and tumble Maine Coonish playmates...mom wants to be there to keep an eye out that no one is trying to help her with the feeding tube.

And well until the poop firms up some more and I am sure she is making it to the litter box EVERY time...our bedroom is white and baby blue...and well...really don't want to do California King Size bedding everyday due to kitty poop stains. :roll: I know its not her fault but I just can't have her where she can make a mess that isn't easy to clean up. And right now while she is on the Bupe she really doesn't act like she wants much company besides mom and dad....I know she really wants to be sleeping on my pillow again but I have to make sure she is well enough not to leave me presents there.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top