Caitlin & Mr. Kink
Member Since 2012
Yesterday
So, I just woke up an hour late (WAH! @-)) and raced to get up and test him so I could feed and shoot, and just got an AMPS of 110! I tested twice to be sure, first was 119, then 110.
What do I do!?
I just read the protocol, but either a) I'm still asleep or b) I just don't get it.
If blood glucose at the time of the next insulin injection 50-100 mg/dl (2.8-5.6 mmol/L)
a. Feed cat and reduce the dose by 0.25-0.5 IU depending on if cat on low or high dose of insulin
b. Feed the cat, wait 1-2 hours and when the glucose concentration increases to >100 mg/dL give the normal dose. If the glucose concentration does not increase within 1-2 hours, reduce the dose by 0.25 IU or 0.5 IU (as above).
I just fed him, so should I just re-test in an hour? I know he's over 100, but not by much, so I'm scared to shoot!
So, I just woke up an hour late (WAH! @-)) and raced to get up and test him so I could feed and shoot, and just got an AMPS of 110! I tested twice to be sure, first was 119, then 110.
What do I do!?
I just read the protocol, but either a) I'm still asleep or b) I just don't get it.
If blood glucose at the time of the next insulin injection 50-100 mg/dl (2.8-5.6 mmol/L)
a. Feed cat and reduce the dose by 0.25-0.5 IU depending on if cat on low or high dose of insulin
b. Feed the cat, wait 1-2 hours and when the glucose concentration increases to >100 mg/dL give the normal dose. If the glucose concentration does not increase within 1-2 hours, reduce the dose by 0.25 IU or 0.5 IU (as above).
I just fed him, so should I just re-test in an hour? I know he's over 100, but not by much, so I'm scared to shoot!