? 5/26, Mia, AMPS =101 | 68@+3 | Question about dental surgery

Billyjoe A

Member Since 2021
Previous Thread

1 drop lantus....

Mia has had lovely numbers of almost all green for over a week..... with one elevated blue (113) three days ago. I feel like we are so close to an OTJ trial!

I have her booked for Xrays and a dental (extraction and cleaning) on June 3 (8 days). There are signs of infection in her mouth. I am beginning to worry a bit that she may drop low during the surgery or after the anesthetic wears off. Is there anything that I should be doing before that day? I had hoped that we would be in our OTJ trial..... but Mia likes to throw the occasional curveball in my nicely laid out plans....o_O
 
Typically the vet will give instruction on what to do with a diabetic cat. When they call you, or you call them, remind them she is diabetic. I expect you would go without insulin (if she's still on it then) the morning of, and possibly night before. Depending on what anaesthesia protocol they are following (there is one for diabetics), no food after midnight, or just a small snack first thing the morning of. And depending which anaesthesia induction drug they use, her BG could drop or go up. They should be monitoring her BG. Are you going to a dental specialist?

Some light reading: Info on Dental Procedures (including pictures)
 
Typically the vet will give instruction on what to do with a diabetic cat. When they call you, or you call them, remind them she is diabetic. I expect you would go without insulin (if she's still on it then) the morning of, and possibly night before. Depending on what anaesthesia protocol they are following (there is one for diabetics), no food after midnight, or just a small snack first thing the morning of. And depending which anaesthesia induction drug they use, her BG could drop or go up. They should be monitoring her BG. Are you going to a dental specialist?

Some light reading: Info on Dental Procedures (including pictures)
No specialist. The vet who diagnosed her diabetes is doing the surgery. That has always been my practice with all the other pets. I will contact them regarding anesthesia. It may even be in my quote. I will specifically ask that they monitor her BG. And look at the reading you attached tonight. Thank you!
 
Back
Top