5/26 Marvin amps 423 pM 171 do I shoot?

Status
Not open for further replies.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ps-331-vet-visit-this-am.178382/#post-1969207

Good Morning, Marvin is doing well. I still need to bring his food bowl to him a few times, will see if he eats it all this morning or leaves some for later. Just heard a thud, so guess he's leaving some for later:cat:

Disappointed that his BG is back to red this morning.
I know! Isn't it discouraging?! I'm trying to stop letting the whole tone of my day be set by Callie's numbers. Hope Marvin gets out of those reds soon! :bighug:
 
If he's bouncing from the blue and yellows on the 23rd, he will hopefully clear it today or tonight. Paws crossed!


If you figure out how to do that, please share with the group. I know a lot of us have that issue! ;)
Well, it's good to know I'm not the only one, but please don't count on me figuring it out. Ain't happening! But if somehow it does, I will definitely share. LOL :cat: :banghead: :facepalm: o_O :nailbiting: :eek: o_O :cat: :bighug:
 
Just Tested Marvin BG at +10.5 and wow he's at 212 :) I honestly didn't expect to see that. I am going to have an sneak out and buy some lancets am out. So it was a bounce :).... I am guessing this maybe why he isn't hungry, his body is reacting to insulin.
 
ok, I feed him, but didn't give him a shot. I remembered vet told me not to shoot at 10 or lower. I know that you do here, but not comfy doing it on my own. I am 30 minutes past the 12 hrs, so not sure what the right thing to do is. Will test him after he is finished eating.
 
ok, I feed him, but didn't give him a shot. I remembered vet told me not to shoot at 10 or lower. I know that you do here, but not comfy doing it on my own. I am 30 minutes past the 12 hrs, so not sure what the right thing to do is. Will test him after he is finished eating.
What number did you get?
 
Hi there :cool:

I'm not personally experienced with SLGS however below are guidelines from the sticky:

How to handle a lower than normal preshot number:

In the beginning we suggest following the guidelines in the FDMB's FAQ Q4.4:
Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A4.4.
There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
  • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
  • Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options: a.) give nothing; b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose); c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value.
  • Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
  • In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine.
  • Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher.
Keep in mind these are general guidelines, and they should be personalized to your own cat's response to insulin. If your experience is that your cat does not became hypoglycemic with a dose which is close to her usual, then personal experience should be your guide.
 
I'm not familiar with the meter you're using. When Callie was first diagnosed I didn't shoot below 200 with the ReliOn meter as SLGS recommended. Later my no shoot number was below 150. You have to be comfortable shooting it though and able to monitor.
 
Thanks, I think that was the right decision for tonight. I will test him again soon just to see how he is doing. I guess I am a bit nervous, weird week for Marvin and I. I am just happy to see lower numbers, surprise and happy. I though his low number a couple days ago was just a fluke, but looks like it's not, which is really good news. :cat:
 
Thanks, I think that was the right decision for tonight. I will test him again soon just to see how he is doing. I guess I am a bit nervous, weird week for Marvin and I. I am just happy to see lower numbers, surprise and happy. I though his low number a couple days ago was just a fluke, but looks like it's not, which is really good news. :cat:
I'm always nervous when Callie's numbers aren't what I expect. Glad you're seeing lower numbers with Marvin. It IS good news when that begins to happen. Have a great evening. :bighug: :cat:
 
Marvin might be a late nadir cat, or he could have been breaking a bounce today, which often leads to later nadirs. If so, you will eventually have to get used to shooting lower numbers. Now you will be able to see what happens when you skip. Next time, you might try something else. Another option would have been to delay feeding by 1/2 hour, then test again to see if he had stopped dropping or started back up. All good data to have. Over time you can lower your no shoot number. On SLGS, people with the data to do so will shoot as low as 90. Over time you will get there. :bighug:

Nice to see those blues return though.
 
Last edited:
Marvin might be a late nadir cat, or he could have been breaking a bounce today, which often leads to la the nadirs. If so, you will eventually have to get used to shooting lower numbers. Now you will be able to see what happens when you skip. Next time, you might try something else. Another option would have been to delay feeding by 1/2 hour, then test again to see if he had stopped dropping or started back up. All good data to have. Over time you can lower your no shoot number. On SLGS, people with the data to do so will shoot as low as 90. Over time you will get there. :bighug:

Nice to see those blues return though.

Thank you Wendy, He is at 211 now, I think he is breaking the bounce from the other day. When you decide to delay shooting, do you start the 12hr cycle at the time you shoot? What about a reduced shot?
 
You can change your dose time by 1/2 hour a day, or 15 minutes for each cycle. So if you delay 1/2 hour without feeding and test again and he's high enough you feel comfortable shooting, then it's easy to get back on schedule. And yes, reduced shots are also an option.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top