5/26 Kasha AMPS 420 +7.25 HI! PMPS HI!

Status
Not open for further replies.

kryskat

Very Active Member
Hmmm... wonder what happened last night - I fell asleep too early - BF called at 10:15 (or + 3.75 as I now refer to it) and I missed the call, so I have an idea how early I fell asleep.

Have to leave work at lunchtime to take Kasha to the vet to get a urine sample and culture. Today is day 13 - tonight will be her 13th Baytril. I hope she cultures clear so we can start our additional 2 weeks on Baytril. If not, we are going to have to switch to something else and I just don't like doing that when the vet offices are going to be closed all weekend.

Ate well this morning - in spite of herself. I suspect that often whatever food I put down first will not be a hit. She ate a little over 1 Tbsp kitten food. Then refused the rest. I waited till I was done cleaning up and gave her another Tbsp of FF (with some probiotic stuff). She ate that. So I gave her another Tbsp of FF and she ate about 1/2 of that. A little math and... she ate a little over 2 1/2 Tbsp, which is stellar for her. She has her chicken out to snack on over the day, so that should be plenty...

Yesterday
 
Re: 5/26 Kasha AMPS 420 +7.25 HI!

I am so extremely depressed right now. I have no words.

They are doing a urine culture at the vet (not her regular vet, who's gone for the week). I would not say that the sample they got was exactly sterile, but they are culturing it anyway (she peed all over everything and they got some of it). They also ran a dipstick on it and the vet indicated that along with lots of sugar there seemed to be some blood and pus still, so I'm thinking her infection is not cleared. Which I suppose means that after the culture comes back, I'll see if they switch to another AB. And the offices will be closed Fri-Tues due to resurfacing of their parking lot and the holiday. So, if she has a reaction or if anything else goes wrong, I don't have the usual options.

I can see that despite everything I do, nothing is working. I am going to end up with no cats and no money (hey - already there!). Why is this happening?

I hate my life so much right now.
 
Ok, before I just go kill myself... did I end up with a fur shot this morning? I did smell Lantus on my hands and couldn't figure out how it got there, but when I smelled her fur at first, I didn't smell it. then later, I smelled it on her fur, but couldn't tell if it was from my hands. I don't know what happened, but I've never gotten a "HI" reading before and I pretty much just want to die now. Why? Why??????!??!?!!??!?!!??!!?

I shot the PM shot about 10 - 12 min early cuz I just couldn't stand the idea of waiting any longer.

she ate a good dinner - more than usual after I plied her with chicken dust. Nearly 3 Tbsp and a few pieces of shredded chicken. Also took her pill in the pill pocket eagerly. She did run and hide from me at one point, which was very odd. But she came out when I let her smell one of the pill pockets.

I'm losing her. I'm doing everything I can think of, and I'm still losing her.

I am so angry and upset and sad and frustrated now.
 
OK, let's regroup here!

Take a deep breath and get all the bad feelings out of your head. It's not going to do you or Kasha any good to feel guilty, angry or negative in any way.

Now, let's take things one at a time.

If you smell lantus on your hands and on her fur, it is quite possible it was a fur shot. OK - congrats you've just joined the I'm not perfect club! This has happened to many of us - experienced and newbie alike.

The thing to remember is to NEVER give more insulin, as you don't know how much got in and how much didn't.

The only thing happening now, is that you are depleting the storage shed. So, we need to start over with her next dose and rebuild it.

The high readings could be a combination of things - her infection, vet stress, etc.

So, that in combination with possible fur shot....well you've just got your hands full is all.

Shooting 10 minutes early or late, is honestly no big deal. You can technically and safely shoot 30 minutes early or late and it's not that big a deal. Now, while we won't recommend or suggest doing that, the fact is life happens and sometimes we do shoot a bit early or late for whatever reason.

When Maui was on insulin I used a 30-45 minute window to shoot. Now is that protocol or the correct thing to do - not necessarily, did it affect her negatively - no it didn't. I'm not saying for you to follow what I did, but rather just so you know that not everybody can or is able to shoot a strict 12/12 schedule. Again, life happens and there is a need for flexibility.

Obviously you're goal is to get her to eat and my guess is once she is feeling better and her numbers are steadily lower, she will feel better enough to eat.

It's gotta be a crappy feeling being high like that and food is probably the last thing she wants. So, whatever you need to do to entice, go for it.

As for your negative feelings, stop. You need to project optimism and positive spirit as she can feel what you are feeling.

So, buck up, chin up, deep breath and regroup - do something for yourself so that you can come back to her in a refreshed positive way - maybe even take a shower and calm down.

hope this helps.
 
((((Krys)))) I'm sorry you are having to deal with ther recurring UTI. With the sugars still high it is almst like a losing battle. With the sugar in the urine it is prime area for bacteria to thrive. I know you already know this. I do not think you are losing her. Just having a bad day....we have all had those. And the fur shots!!! They never happen at the right time :twisted:
 
((Krys)) Everything that Hillary said!

We've all given fur shots. I've done it and it's usually at a point where Gabby is seeing some progress. It sucks. And there's nothing you can do except know that it happens. And there are times when you'll oversleep, actually forget to shoot, and all kinds of things where you smack yourself in the head and go, "Doh!!"

Kasha's UTI is challenging. The good news is that you know what's effecting Kasha's numbers. You'll get a handle on it. Or Kasha will.
 
keep going Krys, HI happens. It sucks but it happens. Hopefully it was just a fur shot. I agree with Sienne that it's good to have a reason for the numbers. You want to keep on top of them and increase the dose as needed to try to get the numbers back in control.

Incidentally, I have a coworker who is diabetic, and she ran in high numbers for years because she insisted on using oral meds instead of insulin. She said she felt fine in high numbers because she was used to them. It's not like she was sitting around feeling miserable all the time. She does feel better now that she is on insulin and her numbers are better, but she did not feel horrible when she was high. I'm sure everyone is different and maybe some do feel like a wreck, but to me it was comforting to know that she wasn't miserable when she was high.
 
OK - I've been where you are now. Agree, no words can express the personal frustration & sadness. We feel for you. That said, please listen to Hillary as she expressed so well what you need to hear. Sometimes I think we just need to put our heads down (on the counter, on our forearm, on someone's shoulder, etc.), breath, and then get up and do what needs to be done. Not easy, just do it. Take care sweetheart, we all care & want to help.
 
((((Krys)))) I agree with everything that Hillary said. Time to step back and regroup, do something nice for yourself and try to be positive. Kasha can pick up on your feelings and will react to them.

As everyone has said, fur shots happen....I don't think that there is anyone on the board who has not done one of those. All you have to do is dust off your hands and start all over again. I am so sorry that you are so frustrated and I hope that Kasha's UTI will bet better soon.
 
Krys, I'm so sorry for all you're going through. I'm new here, so I can't help in the numbers sense, but will say that it's perfectly normal that you'd be overwhelmed in your situation. I'm so sorry about the loss of your precious Big Cat and for all Kasha is going through. You're dealing with a lot right now. Be good to yourself and realize how much *good* you've done all along the way for both of your kitties. Spend some quality time with Kasha and play or just snuggle. I know you have to be focused on her in a medical sense now, but you both could benefit from a little TLC and downtime to just be kitty and parent.

As you know, you've got great support and wisdom availabe on the board. In the nearly three weeks we've known about Johnny's dx, there have been many times when I felt like my head was barely above water. So much to learn. So much (self) pressure to do things right for my boy. It wasn't until I found the support of this forum that I finally felt like I was in the shallow end of the pool and could stand. The stress is still there, but it's much more manageable.

Hugs.
 
I am so grateful for all of you. Thanks.

I just got verbally ripped apart by someone close to me cuz apparently he's sick of hearing about things going wrong. But things ARE going wrong, and I could really use a shoulder and a little support, instead of hearing how annoying it is to hear about my troubles.

Thanks for listening to me. I don't have a whole lot of support outside of this forum (they're just cats, right? )- funny how you find out who your real friends are.
 
kryskat said:
I just got verbally ripped apart by someone close to me cuz apparently he's sick of hearing about things going wrong. But things ARE going wrong, and I could really use a shoulder and a little support, instead of hearing how annoying it is to hear about my troubles.

Thanks for listening to me. I don't have a whole lot of support outside of this forum (they're just cats, right? )- funny how you find out who your real friends are.

Here's the thing. Yes, they are just cats. However, they are our cats and our family and they have needs just like we do. We brought them into our homes, we chose to love them and it's our duty to do all we can for them. WE on this board get that, cause that's how we feel about our own furry family. Sadly, many people don't feel the same way and don't get it, either they don't have pets or they just look at it as another possession. So, fine. That's their option.

If it were a human child you were crying about, I'm sure the friends would be more supportive, some people can't seem to relate the feelings from human to animal and honestly it's their loss not yours.

So, yes, this forum is a place where you can vent, rant and ask for support. Diabetes is manageable, it's also overwhelming at times even for the experienced caregiver, things happen, other medical issues show up and sometimes it all just happens at once and well...it's challenging to say the least.

Just continue on, take each day at a time and it will become more routine and this UTI will hopefully clear up soon!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top