5/26 Johnny - AMPS at 7:30 CT tomorrow - Dosage help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Janice & Johnny

Very Active Member
Hopefully inflated number after last night's tricks (HC FF beef and honey? Yum! ;-) ) to get his BG up. No insulin this morning. Hoping to see the number come down today, but not too low. Still deciding about insulin tonight. I am soooo tired after two nights of being up past 2 (and last night, 3) and going to work. My boy is worth it, but we could really use a night without adventures in hypo right now, him included.


Yesterday's adventures
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=15463
 
Re: 5/26 Johnny Cat ~ +9.25 (307) - Shot tonight? Dosage advice?

We can also do a +11, but I'm wondering what people's thoughts are on giving the insulin tonight and, if so, how much? Shot is supposed to be given at 8 (central), so almost three hours from now.
 
Re: 5/26 Johnny Cat ~ +9.25 (307) - Shot tonight? Dosage?

i peeked. +11 238

looks like the bounce is beginning to clear.
while johnny is obviously high enough to shoot... in light of his response the last 2 nights to a greatly reduced dose, i think it might be a better idea to skip tonight's shot to let the bounce clear. tomorrow morning's amps number may give us a better clue as to dose. this would also allow you to get a good night's sleep. i would imagine you're pretty tired after the last couple of nights.
what do you think?
 
Re: 5/26 Johnny +9.25 (307) +11 (238) Shot tonight? Dosage?

I think that makes sense, Jill (or was that Alex typing, hehe). Tomorrow will give a better look at his true levels. Why was the bounce expected again?

Any reason to believe his numbers could keep dropping drastically without the insulin tonight? Not that I'm nervous or anything. ;-)
 
Re: 5/26 Johnny +9.25 (307) +11 (238) Shot tonight? Dosage?

Janice & Johnny (starfishj) said:
I think that makes sense, Jill (or was that Alex typing, hehe). Tomorrow will give a better look at his true levels. Why was the bounce expected again?

Any reason to believe his numbers could keep dropping drastically without the insulin tonight? Not that I'm nervous or anything. ;-)
a bounce was expected because 1u dropped him into the 30s and you had to fight to keep his numbers up. 30s are too low. his body did what it was supposed to do. the body sensed danger and dropped a bunch of counterregulatory hormones into his system. these stress hormones released into the body cause opposing effects to the actions of insulin... the numbers rose.

there is no insulin on board. he won't drop dangerously low. you can sleep without worry or fear...
 
Re: 5/26 Johnny - No PM shot - would-be +1 ~228

Just tested him. 228 at would-be +1 after no shot tonight.

Will anyone be around tomorrow a.m. around 7:30 CT? We'll take his AMPS and post, since we'll need to decide dosage and give the shot at 8. We're thinking maybe .5u, but aren't experts in any way.
 
starting over at 0.5u sounds good. we're curious to see if johnny continues to drop all night. posting a number before shot time is a good idea. if the number is low you might even want to start over at 0.25 unit. cheryl (sienne) will be looking for you in the morning. i'm going to try to duck in her for a couple of minutes as well.
hope you get a real good night's sleep. :-D
 
Thanks guys!

Just took one last reading for the night. At +3 (no shot since last night), he's 236.

It seems like he's leveling out. That's good, right? We never really had a true reading of his numbers on the new diet. So, maybe that's what we're starting to get.

I'll check in with a AMPS tomorrow around 7:30 a.m.-ish.
 
Janice & Johnny (starfishj) said:
Thanks guys!

Just took one last reading for the night. At +3 (no shot since last night), he's 236.

It seems like he's leveling out. That's good, right? We never really had a true reading of his numbers on the new diet. So, maybe that's what we're starting to get.

I'll check in with a AMPS tomorrow around 7:30 a.m.-ish.

Hi Janice- All + numbers are from last shot time. Your +3 is really... +15? or, +27

If so, 236, NOT SO BAD!!

You can see on this chart, that 40-80/100 is the range for non-diabetic cats. Most people consider a cat who stays under 200 as tightly regulated (I think). at +27 with no exogenous (from outside the body), Johnny cat is doing extremely well!!
 
Sounds like a plan. I'll be on line somewhere between 7:30 - 8:00.

Between getting rid of the evil dry food and shooting more consistently, you are getting a clearer picture of what's happening.

Cyn actually made a good point. If you skip a shot, you keep adding the numbers from the previous cycle. So, your PMPS would be a +12, 2 hours after that would be +14, etc. It's a way of looking at the subject line and knowing that a shot was skipped.
 
Thanks, Cyn. I knew it seemed akward how I was wording it! Yes, his 236 is really at +27.

It's kind of funny to have to see the reaction of you all to know that I really am excited! LOL I'm glad it's looking good. Thanks for chiming in, Cyn and Cheryl.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top