5/26 Darcy AMPS 191, +3.25 113, +5 84 (kibble), +6.25 67 (HC) +7 65, uh oh! ... he's gone to 55.

Suzanne & Darcy

Member Since 2020
Hello there everyone! Darcy is in the greens today (who knows why). Look at the phenomenal food bump I got from feeding him the high carb renal food (syringe fed since he wouldn't eat it)... from 65 to .... drumroll please..... 67! Whoa, slow down, Darcy, don't shoot to the moon or anything :confused: I guess he wants to surf today? I think he's not eating that much today because he wants to be really hungry tonight for the Full Moon Pawty! It's just great when your cat starts dropping and he is also a cat who won't eat much on his own (he ate the kibble, I had to syringe feed the canned food). I've got a karo/water 50/50 mixture ready just in case we need it. I bet he surfs though... although I am nervous because yesterday he nadired at PMPS!

He pooped a little bit this morning... small pieces though so I'm worried. I'm still giving 1/4 tsp. Miralax twice a day. Memorial Day weekend is here. I would hate to pay the ER vet to give an enema. The world's most expensive enema. Besides, I don't want him going through that again! It really seemed to take a lot out of him and took 24 hours to even look normal in his face. He had the squinty eyes and his nictitating membrane was partially covering his eyes ... I think I already mentioned that yesterday... but it really freaked me out to see him like that.
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...i-indicate-that-on-my-ss.247811/#post-2795171
 
He's gone to 55 just now... so continuing to drop. I'm taking him out of his bedroom and bringing him into the office and giving him karo mixture.
 
Slow down Darcy! Do you have time to update the spreadsheet - it's the main tool we look at when helping.
 
No idea what is up with this cat. I really haven't changed anything. Except... his shot times have been wonky lately. I won't be increasing the dose after six cycles and may be decreasing. He got his shot late last night, yes... and this morning I gave it closer to his normal shot time... so the late shot is like a dose decrease and the early shot is like a dose increase. Poor Darcy.
 
And the kids and I were supposed to go on a little day excursion with some friends on Friday for Memorial Day.... I doubt if we will be able to go now. Things are just too wacky. And since his appetite is still really poor/unpredictable, it's not like I can just leave food out for him and expect him to eat it. He dropped to 55 and is still just sitting there looking at the food I brought in. I have Tiki Stix that he likes, but those are low-carb treats! He eats some kibble. His eating of any of the other flavors of renal food (or regular food for that matter, which I tried yesterday).
 
Okay good. 67 after Karo. He'll probably drift back down, so I may have to repeat. I'm feeding him again at 3:00 p.m. (about 40 minutes). He needs to eat more.
 
His glucose is really looking good and I love your "poop description". I am so thankful to know that he is pooping. Now, we have got to get his appetite back. I'm happy for you Suzanne. Today is your lucky day. Great numbers, great poop and no more "squinty" eyes. Thinks are looking up!
 
Oh, poor Darcy and poor you! I am sorry he is giving you a run for your money. Very glad to hear he came up, and I hope you can tempt him to eat a bit more!
 
Oh, poor Darcy and poor you! I am sorry he is giving you a run for your money. Very glad to hear he came up, and I hope you can tempt him to eat a bit more!
Thanks, Kathleen. I need to go out to WalMart for more test strips, of course. I can't go pick them up right now though!
 
And the kids and I were supposed to go on a little day excursion with some friends on Friday for Memorial Day.... I doubt if we will be able to go now.
There is no harm in temporarily reducing his dose a bit, to a level where you'll know he'll be safe so you can take an away day. I did it tons of times. Living with an acro kitty means learning how to balance his insulin needs with your life. :bighug:

Doses with green get held at least 10 cycles, and there's a chance that after today he'll bounce a couple days.
 
There is no harm in temporarily reducing his dose a bit, to a level where you'll know he'll be safe so you can take an away day. I did it tons of times. Living with an acro kitty means learning how to balance his insulin needs with your life. :bighug:

Doses with green get held at least 10 cycles, and there's a chance that after today he'll bounce a couple days.
Half dose on Friday morning? I still worry about the depot. I guess I will see what he does tomorrow.
 
Yikes, I have been neglecting Minnie's boyfriend. We have been chatting so much on Minnie's condo I only just realized I hadn't seen Mr D's today! Why is it some of the most stressful days give the most beautiful s/s? Glad to hear he sorted out the squinty eyes before the pawty...the girls might think he was leering at them otherwise. And Minnie approves of the poop discussion. Poop is important.

Hope this evening is calm for you and you don't feel the need to be up and down every couple of hours squeezing Tiki into him! (sigh, another treat that Minnie no longer likes...)

:bighug::bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Suzanne, Mr D - hope you are having a good day. Yesterday's colors were divine though clearly took some work on your part! Crossing paws you get your day out tomorrow.
 
Back
Top