5/26 Colonel Mustard AMPS 319

Rhea and Colonel Mustard

Member Since 2021
@tiffmaxee, what is "Romp Rand"? In the links you shared in my thread on Monday morning, I didn't see that phrase used.

I talked to my vet yesterday and she said she trusts us since we're testing and wants to help us get him into remission again, if possible—so we've got the go ahead to switch to 2x/day. Now that the vet is on board, I need to get my partner on board. She's very concerned about a hypo event happening overnight, so doesn't want to do it at night. (even though, two years ago, we were giving him novolin 2x/day without testing much at all:(). But this time she's much more hesitant. The scare last Friday really freaked her out—and since she's the one who administers the insulin (I'm the ear tester and the food person), she has to be on board with the change. So I'm going to print out the SLGS instructions, and will discuss it all with her today.

My thinking is that we jump him down to .5 units every twelve hours, as recommended by the SLGS method.
 
Good to know about a second remission being harder, and needing to get him there asap. It's good to see that in writing. Thank you. Will the budesonide make it even harder? I think the IBD diagnosis earlier this spring + choosing inappropriate/high carb LID foods is what caused his BG to spike again. But now that we've got him on a better food and the budesonide seems to have really helped, I would really love to TRY to get him back into remission. Colonel Mustard acts like the chillest cat in the world, but oh boy is he high maintenance! <3 Thanks for any input you have about the dosage!
 
For most cats budesonide does not raise the bg but there are some that it does. Lots of cats go into remission a se cind and even third time so be optimistic.
 
My thinking is that we jump him down to .5 units every twelve hours, as recommended by the SLGS method.
That's for newly diabetic cats, which he's not. The sooner you can get him to a dose that regulates him, the greater the chance of a repeat remission. His pancreas isn't as strong as it used to be before FD.

My Neko was on budesonide. She was pretty well regulated when I started it, so I could see if there was any difference, and for her there wasn't. But it's ECID. IBD means inflammation, so that alone can make it harder to regulate. Best to keep him GI system happy.
 
He’s staying so low in the evenings with just the 1 unit in the morning, and then it shoots up at some point in the night before the next shot. I worry that giving him .75 2x will still send him too low overnight? The only way to know though is to just stay up with him one night to check his nadir, right?

Thanks for all of the info about how Budesonide may or may not impact all of this! And for all of the info in general. I greatly appreciate it.
 
You don’t have any tests at night yet. One thing that helps many is to test at onset, when insulin kicks in, which is often at +2. If lower than the preshot it might be an active cycle. If not or a lot higher, you don’t need to stay up. A before bed test is always a good idea. An auto feeder will also help you at night and when you are not home.
 
what is "Romp Rand"?
The authors of the original articles on Tight Regulation, Kirsten Roomp and Dr. Jacquie Rand. Management of Diabetic Cats with Long-acting Insulin

He's shooting up at night because the 1 unit of insulin he got during the day has worn off. If you shoot 0.75 units, you might find his PMPS number is high enough you will feel comfortable shooting it. Note, over time and with data, people shoot a lot lower preshots. Lantus (and Levemir) are great at keeping numbers low and flat all cycle if you start with lower preshot numbers.
 
Thank you both so much. My plan has been to start this new process tomorrow, so fingers crossed I can explain all of this to my partner today in a coherent way. What we’re doing now clearly isn’t working. The research you just linked to is super helpful, thank you!!

We have 4 cats total and I invested in the surepet microchip feeders back when Colonel was first diagnosed. A godsend honestly, because my other cats are food bullies and Colonel is a pushover. So the auto feeder wouldn’t work with our other cats—he’d probably let them get to the food first. I’ll just make sure he has extra food before we go to bed.
Thank you both again for all of this.
 
If you shoot 0.75 units, you might find his PMPS number is high enough you will feel comfortable shooting it.
@Wendy&Neko
What’s the best way to get an accurate .25 unit (or the .75units) dose on a u100 syringe? We currently have the 3/10cc syringes (linked below). Trying to figure out how to be accurate/consistent.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B009LTE0DO?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20


Edit: never mind— I dug around and found the guide for dosing with calipers!
 
Last edited:
Back
Top