5/26 Apollo AMPS 117, PMPS 212

Desi D

Member Since 2022
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...WtAPCx9bgynkBABtO3Bt5m5Wafo/edit?usp=drivesdk Did a glucose curve today and trying to follow the TR method after a rough couple of weeks of starting. Just want to make sure I understand the general idea behind the TR method. Are my numbers good enough to keep this current dosage? Should I keep it longer and try another curve in a few days?

I also learned that anytime my Apollo ate Purina Prescription DM his numbers subsequently increased ao no more.of that food.
 
Hi Desi I see you feed mostly all fish flavors
I remember seeing this posted by one of our members here

as for your question on seafood, each caregiver needs to decide for themselves - per Dr. Pierson of catinfo.org "Fish can be high in mercury, high in PBDEs (fire retardant chemicals linked to hyperthyroidism), high in phosphorus (not good for older cats’ kidneys) and can be very addicting. It is best to feed poultry-based diets to cats." She also says, "If you want to feed a fish-based food as a treat, please limit it to once ortwice a week." FWIW, I didn't know any of this about fish and cats before joining FDMB.

Here is the food chart for you to take a look at
Most of us feed Fancy Feast Classic Pates or Friskies Pate , or any that you might see that are 6% carbs or under
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/

Also we increase or decrease the dose by 0.25 units , not half or whole units
but always post for advice
:cat:
 
Last edited:
Hi Desi I see you feed mostly all fish flavors
I remember seeing this posted by one of our members here

as for your question on seafood, each caregiver needs to decide for themselves - per Dr. Pierson of catinfo.org "Fish can be high in mercury, high in PBDEs (fire retardant chemicals linked to hyperthyroidism), high in phosphorus (not good for older cats’ kidneys) and can be very addicting. It is best to feed poultry-based diets to cats." She also says, "If you want to feed a fish-based food as a treat, please limit it to once ortwice a week." FWIW, I didn't know any of this about fish and cats before joining FDMB.

Here is the food chart for you to take a look at
Most of us feed Fancy Feast Classic Pates or Friskies Pate , or any that you might see that are 6% carbs or under
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/

Also we increase or decrease the dose by 0.25 units , not half or whole units
but always post for advice
:cat:
Unfortunately both my diabetic guy and his brother REFUSE to eat anything with chicken or beef. They gave always been seafood eaters and nothing else...ive tried, they just refuse to eat.
 
Back
Top