5/26 Ann & Maggie AMPS 98; +4.5 107; PMPS 106

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

Very Active Member
Mornin! Maggie woke up a couple times asking for food but mostly sucked the juice and ate some bulk. Dental day this Friday, so hopefully getting this tooth extracted will help her eat better. Is it no food after midnight? The Vet Tech said no food after 8 pm, but that seems a long time for a diabetic kitty to fast!

Yesterday
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=15447
 
good luck with the dental!

I agree that 8pm seems like a long time. Maybe if they are actually going to do the surgery first thing in the morning... You do want the stomach to be empty.
 
Hi Libby,
I hope that's the reason for the no food after 8 pm. When they call tomorrow with the reminder, I'll ask about it! This will be the hardest part withholding food, as she's a grazer
 
if you're withholding food that early, you might want to give a half dose or no dose of insulin. She won't be able to do her normal snacking to keep her numbers up.
 
Generally, I believe they want anywhere from 8 - 12 hrs without food. Remember, anesthesia slows gastric motility so if there's food in the system, it could be a problem. Definitely check on what time they plan on doing the procedure. What time is your usual shot time in relation to when Maggie eats?

I'm also really glad you spoke with the vet vs. the tech who was giving you misinformation!

Great numbers for Maggie. I'm wondering what will happen with her numbers once that bad tooth is gone.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top