5/26/14 Mom-mom AMPS hi, +7-329,+8-302,PMPS 235

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mom-Mom

Member Since 2014
I never had a number in the 200 range. BEFORE she ate (Just now) she is 235. How much of her dose do I give her??
 
I would give her her regular dose. 235 is not nearly a dangerous number. It just means you should start the cycle's testing at +2, and don't feed her all her food at once, so she will be hungry if needed, later in the cycle.
 
Thank you Dianna, although I went with 0.75. I talked to my vet and that is what he suggested. I feel like everything I do on here, someone has a problem. Either they don't feel like I answer all the questions, my story didn't require a 911 or I put it in the wrong place. I don't want to get anyone mad at me so I will VERY MUCH my posts. If it wasn't for you guys, I would have never got this far to begin with. I will post only if I feel its absolutely necessary. Thank you for your input :? :?
 
Oh please don't quit posting....

None of us want you to think we are fussing....
we aren't....
we all just want to help.
Perhaps there are just too many cooks in the kitchen.... ( so to speak)

From your spreadsheet, the 1.5u got a response..... that is why so many of us would like you to give that dose.

We are a small community of cat lovers and we really do want to help you....
We all want Mom-mom to feel better.... and to help you get her there.....

So many people and their cats have gotten so much help here....
I managed to be one of the lucky ones and make it to remission status..... and I couldn't have done it without everyone here helping me and guiding me.....
 
((((laura))))

we really all understand how hard this is - and to be caught between a vet's advice and our advice can be really hard.

we want to help you & mom-mom. when people are talking online it is much harder than talking in person - and so easy for misunderstandings to happen.

i hope you don't stop posting.
 
Hi Laura,

First of all, I need to acknowledge that our cats are twins and it's adorable!! Beyond that though, I want to say please don't stop posting. I am writing to you as a newbie. Billie was diagnosed less than a month ago, so I know how crazy/overwhelming/scary everything feels at first, but without FDMB, I would also feel blind and alone. This is an amazing lifeline full of genuinely good people who love cats and are experts about feline diabetes. If you keep posting a condo every day and asking questions, you will get answers, and everything will start to make sense eventually! There is so much to learn. I keep re-reading the stickies, and I feel like I'm studying for an exam. :lol:

I have been following the advice I get here because I trust the people giving it. I trust them because I can tell that they are extremely experienced with feline diabetes (way more than my vet is - no offense to her), and also because my intuition tells me to trust them. Of course, you should do what feels right to you, but I have a lot of faith in the people here. Also, it's always okay to ask questions if you are not sure about something, and I don't think anyone will ever get mad at you if you don't take their advice or if you go with your vet's advice instead. I think they will still be there for you and will still guide you. The more information you give them, the better they can help you, so that's why asking and answering questions is so important.

Here's to hoping that Billie and Mom Mom will be OTJ twins one of these days!!
 
Hi Laura,

Please keep posting and asking questions! I may not the best advisor (I'm still rookie around here), but I am hoping the best for Mom-Mom. I hope you feel comfortable to go back to the 1.5u dose, and keep testing as much as you can.

:YMHUG:
Cristina
 
OK Laura, we know that a lower number than usual at preshot is scary, just breathe. :YMHUG: Being given conflicting advice is confusing too, especially when you are scared for Mom-mom. You need to decide who you are going to listen to and stick to that way of treating Mom-mom.

What we are telling you to do is based on a clinically proven protocol aimed at getting cats into remission. Many vets don't have as much experience w/ FD on a daily basis, or with owners who are willing to put the effort into their cats that following the protocol requires. Too many beans just view it as too much trouble and vets tend to treat the cats to keep them safe. Not too high a BG and not too low, that is what most vets are trained to do, just keep the FD under control.

When owners express the desire to really work on getting their furbaby into remission vets are often surprised. And frequently they don't have the training to follow (or even knowledge of) the Roomp & Rand protocol and how to guide owners through it. You arejust such a caring bean who will do whatever it takes for your baby.

Shooting lower preshot numbers is the path to bringing Mom-mom's numbers down over-all. Eventually you will feel comfortable shooting lower and lower numbers. Just because you had a big drop earlier, you shouldn't expect as much of a drop once Mom-mom is in lower numbers. Things do tend to slow down. AND you have the tools with testing and food to control things if her numbers do drop. sometimes all of us find the need to shoot a reduced dose for safety, but if you are home and have the supplies we are here to help you, so please don't stop posting. That is how you will learn and gain confidence.

If you do decide to go back to the 1.5U dose remember that the reduced shot has drained the shed and you need to reset and count your 6 cycles from when you resumed the dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top