5/25Max AMPS440++5.5=194+6.5=204PMPS296+3=213+5.5=103+6.5=99

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
I'm wondering if this vial is not any good. If it isn't very potent and he continues to be so high today, should I increase a little more until I get more Tuesday? This is scary high for me!! Thanks.

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=119236

YESTERDAY'S #S
AMPS 171
+1.5=253
+4=251
+6=303
PMPS 343
+3=380
 
Re: 5/25 Max AMPS 440 HELP!+2=389

Hi, I don't have any dosing advice for you as I'm too new at this but I just wanted to let you know that Pixie's numbers for the first three months after diagnosis were all in the red and black range. Some of his numbers were over 700 which would really freak me out and he was definitely unwell. This was what led me to this forum and thank goodness I decided to join. Pixie is now surfing the greens so there is definitely hope for our kitties that have high, scary numbers. Hopefully, Max will come down soon - sending you tons of healing vines. Anne
 
Re: 5/25 Max AMPS 440 HELP!+2=389

Hi Elise!

I don't think i'd worry about the insulin at this point. Especially not if you're planning to get new insulin on Tuesday. I don't see anything that says it's not working, although if it's old, it never hurts to have fresh insulin to compare it against and make sure it's still working.

What I'm seeing is that on Friday Max started the day in a bounce in the high 300's, then went straight down as it cleared. So that 171 you had at amps yesterday was either the low point as the bounce cleared from Friday, or he'd gone lower than that in the wee morning hours of Saturday and was rising up to 171 at amps. Either way, it says he got into solid blue numbers late Friday night/early Saturday morning.

If he were mine, I'd hold the dose through tonight and decide based upon today if it should be increased in the morning - so a total of 6 shots at this dose.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.

I suspect the 440 this morning is the peak of the next bounce that started with yesterday's amps 171. He went high from that and this looks like the apex this morning. Hopefully he'll be coming down and clearing it today.

:YMHUG:
 
Re: 5/25 Max AMPS 440 HELP!+2=389+4.5=238

Thank you Julie. You were right as usual. I went into panic mode when I started to see this last several days of numbers. After 6 months I was thinking he should at least be in decent numbers and felt we are either going in the wrong direction or the insulin I was given is not potent. It likely is fine. Maybe my original vial had lost a lot of oomph and he didn't have any depot left so it took longer than usual to rebuild? He is clearly one of those cats that bounces easily and a rainbow kitty at that. I need to learn not to panic. I'll try.

Thanks for stopping by Anne and giving me encouragement. It was really needed this morning. It's a good thing I left the house and took a spin class. I forgot about him for a couple of hours and came back to your message and Julie's and a better number.
 
Re: 5/25 Max AMPS 440 HELP!+2=389+4.5=238

you just love him a lot and want to keep him safe! nothing to apologize about, elise. he's your little sweetheart. :YMHUG:

With that 4.5 it does look like he might be clearing the bounce - that was a drop of 161 points in 2.5 hrs, so pretty fast - something like 60 points an hour. i'd give him some low carb and try to slow him down a bit. you might see more dropping numbers as the bounce is clearing.
 
Re: 5/25 Max AMPS 440 HELP!+2=389+4.5=238

I did just give him some lc. I hope he doesn't bounce yet again but if he does I will know why!! Thanks.
 
Re: 5/25 Max AMPS 440 HELP!+2=389+4.5=238

Hi Elise:

I'm glad you found a stress reliever and came home to better numbers. I understand your fear and your frustration. The saying we keep seeing that this is a marathon, not a sprint, is so true. Hang in there. You are doing a great job and I just know Max is going to do fine. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 5/25 Max AMPS 440 HELP!+2=389+4.5=238

I'm sorry I didn't see your post this morning. Mike let me sleep in and he did Gracie duty :-D :-D

After 6 months I was thinking he should at least be in decent numbers and felt we are either going in the wrong direction

Remember that you are increasing in very small amounts and so it is unlikely you are going in the wrong direction with the dose. If you stick with the protocol, you cannot overdose him. (I'm not sure if that was what you meant so please forgive if you meant something else).

I don't know if this will help you, but it helped me when Gracie was newly dx; I looked at ALOT of other SSs. It helped me realize that other CGs were having the same issues that we were. Gracie would have periods of looking incredible where we were certain she was going to go OTJ....but then she didn't and she'd start to look horrible again. I still study her SS and others (besides looking at them to help people) that are on levemir. It is often easier for me to see a pattern on another cat's SS and then come back and look at Gracie's and see if I missed that kind of a pattern. For example, I didn't realize what a high before a break was or that it could occur in Gracie's cycles. But then I realized it did and boy was that a breakthrough for me.

I also have found that when I get to the end of a pen and it's getting wonky, it does sometimes take a bit of time to rebuild the depot with the new pen. Sometimes....sometimes not.

I'm glad you got out and got some of the anxiety out (I hope). We have found that when numbers are high and we know she is safe, we need to get out and do something FUN. I know it's hard to not have that anxiety so maybe refocusing it for a bit might help.

I'm glad your mom is doing better but I'm sorry she's not going to be able to fully recover the use of the finger. I just hope she will be in a lot less pain. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 5/25 Max AMPS 440 HELP!+2=389+4.5=238+5.5=194

Thanks, Marje. Actually I was thinking that perhaps I haven't been aggressive enough with the increases. For the longest time I was so scared of a hypo. Of course I still am but now when I see higher numbers than ever before I got scared that he will have issues with his kidneys and other organs from being too high. I have looked at other ss and I see many like Max. When I first started looking I saw so many go OTJ when newly diagnosed and thought Max would too. That was not to be and hard for me to accept. I really feel that the pancreatitis he suffered from for so long is making it impossible for his pancreas to heal. I guess each time I see something new I will likely panic until I get used to it, LOL. Thankfully I have you, Julie, and the others to help keep me grounded. I so appreciate that I have you to help me with this.

I'm glad you got to sleep in. Gracie is looking so good these days.
 
Re: 5/25 Max AMPS 440+2=389+4.5=238+5.5=194+6.5=204

Hi Elise,
I'm glad Max's number came down. :-D
Phew!!!!

I've learnt something about myself.
I get more frustrated with Lucy's numbers when I don't have anything worse to worry about.
When I have other issues to worry about, I don't feel nearly as attached to her numbers.
All that matter is how she's feeling.
I kind of miss the good old time when I was going "why did she bounce?!" "why isn't the dosecrease working?!". :-D

What I'm trying to say is that being able to focus on managing BG is the next best thing to OTJ as far as I'm concerned. :-D
I know Max has multiple issues too, but I hope he's doing fine other than bouncing. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 5/25 Max AMPS 440+2=389+4.5=238+5.5=194+6.5=204

Mariko, I've given up a long time ago on Max going OTJ. Now I would give anything for good numbers at least 75% of the time. Max sleeps way too much but seems comfortable otherwise.
 
Re: 5/25 Max AMPS 440+2=389+4.5=238+5.5=194+6.5=204

I don't think Lucy will go OTJ either.

BUT!!!
There's always hope, Elise!
 
Re: 5/25 Max AMPS 440+2=389+4.5=238+5.5=194+6.5=204

Yay! Glad to see some movement on Max's numbers. Hopefully, he's getting ready to clear the bounce and/or has almost re-filled the depot. Hugs to you, Elise. I know exactly how frustrating it can be when the SS is filled with yucky numbers. :sad: I'm sure Max will get back on track for you soon!
 
Re: 5/25 Max AMPS 440+2=389+4.5=238+5.5=194+6.5=204

you shouldn't give up the hope that he'll at least get regulated or at best go OTJ, elise. Mr Tinkles went OTJ after about 2 years, Devon's Mocha (she posts to you sometimes) went after about 20 months. We'll just keep working on it!
 
Re: 5/25 Max AMPS 440+4.5=238+5.5=194+6.5=204PMPS 296

I'm more or less resigned that Max won't likely go OTJ but haven't given up on getting him regulated. I'm going to concentrate on trying to get him to lose 12oz. or so. Maybe that will help. It's hard though because he is so hungry with diabetes. This wanting food between 4-6 a.m. is really difficult. I have to give in when it starts between 4 and 5 or I won't survive this. As it is I'm not getting more than 5 hours sleep on a good night.

I also need to figure out how to take care of Max and have a social life. If he would just get regulated that would be possible. I don't know what I would do if I was still working.
 
Re: 5/25 Max AMPS 440 HELP!+2=389+4.5=238+5.5=194

tiffmaxee said:
I guess each time I see something new I will likely panic until I get used to it, LOL.

Oh my goodness, this so totally describes me to a T!!! I was so comfortable with Trix's FD (although it did take a while before I could say that), but this whole pancreatitis/kidney value/high BP nonsense, all of which popped up out of the blue after her check up on March 1, has my head ready to explode! I keep hoping some day I'll get used to this new version of normal.

I gotta tell ya....I really don't consider Trix to be OTJ because of our circumstances (suddenly stopping insulin because of the pancreatitis), but...she was on insulin for over 3 years, and now she has been without insulin for almost 5 weeks. She had an ultrasound a few months ago that showed her pancreas was "abnormal", so both the vet and I agreed that this was why she never went OTJ and never would go OTJ despite being aggressive with her treatment. Then bam...no insulin and she's holding her own. It's not ideal or a normal version of OTJ, but you never know...

You are doing an awesome job with Max. It is tricky balancing FD with a social life, but you do eventually get there. Looks like Max is starting to work the new juice!
 
Re: 5/25 Max AMPS 440+4.5=238+5.5=194+6.5=204PMPS 296

I'm so glad to see a yellow start for Max tonight! Paws crossed he'll dip his toes a little deeper into the blues tonight. Waiting for better numbers is so hard! Sometimes cats just need more juice, for whatever reason. Neko just decided after her last dental that she wanted twice as much insulin. I have no idea why, but it sure was frustrating having to keep heading back up. I had just switched cartridges and thought that might be the issue, but usually it's not. Often as not it's the cat. :roll: You think after a couple years of chasing numbers it wouldn't bother me, but nope! We all feel the same here. Just keep following the protocol and you'll get there, when Max decides he wants to. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 5/25 Max AMPS 440+4.5=238+5.5=194+6.5=204PMPS296+3=213

Thanks Wendy and Amy for your advice. I think I finally get that for most it's a marathon and totally unpredictable this diabetes!!
 
Re: 5/25 Max AMPS 440+4.5=238+5.5=194+6.5=204PMPS296+3=213

Yes...the first step is regulation. But don't give up hope he will go into remission. You never know. There is a list of several cats that went into remission at or after about 2 years and they bounced most of it.
 
Re: 5/25Max AMPS440+4.5=238+5.5=194+6.5=204PMPS296+3=213+5.5

My vet thinks Max is regulated but we haven't talked in a few weeks so maybe he has changed his mind and agrees with us.

Sooo, at 5.5 he is at 103. I'll do one more check before going to sleep unless he takes a big drop. The question is, what do I do tomorrow morning? Do I go up again or give this another cycle or two to see if the depot has been built back up and he has been bouncing? If he is high again in the morning will that mean another bounce and reason to hold the increase? Just thinking ahead so that if anyone that gives dosing advice reads this before I shoot at 7:00 a.m. pacific time will tell me what to do.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top