? 5/25 Post DKA Millie, Need help AMPS 203 (AT), how to avoid hypo?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sylvia & Millie

Member Since 2017
We were out of town for 6 days, returned Tuesday night. Millie seemed to have been bouncing a bit while we were away. The care taker wasn't available to test her very often. This morning she is 203 for her AMPS. We're still relatively new to all this and I just need to make sure I do the right thing with her insulin and after. We are TR, Millie is eating CORE Chicken with a little CORE beef and a little FF to top it off. Appetite is good, she is drinking, grooming and in a good mood (happy we're home, purring lots). I can cancel my plans so as to be available to monitor her today if there is concern of her going hypo. Just a bit worried.

Input welcomed!!



http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-to-barter-kitty-sitting.177188/#post-1953286
 
Looks OK to me. Why not do a mini-curve on this dose to evaluate it better after being away for several days?
I was actually planning on trying to do additional testing today. So the 200 isn't anything to worry about as a preshot? Millie"s numbers fluctuate in a major way, I was concerned she'd go too low.
 
My sprocket used to do that too. Practice putting her in your test spot and giving lots of love while her sitting on her belly with feet tucked so she wont run easily. Pet her firmly from head to toe while playing and rubbing the ears to get her used to the spot n position. After a while you wont need someone to hold her.
You also need to stay calm. I find that I talk to Sprocket and tell him why I am doing the pricking and how important it is...."I have to prick to know how your body is working with ur insulin. Cause unless you can talk my language, this is how i know its working or not. Its really important fo u to trust me. Its hard for me too but we will learn together. Just be patient and when I say dont move then trust me its for a reason. I do this because I love you so much and you will feel better"
Stuff like that. I also found that I use a folded napkin on backside to hold ear helps. Plus I use unscented natural baby wipes folded to hold pressure on ear after pricking is done for like 30 seconds to help with brusing. Neosporin too.
Good luck! You will get there!!
Sprocket is post dka too. 2 times plus 4 other ketone times. He is almost regulated now. His body is feeling good in 100s and stays there for like 6-8hrs now. I am amazed but it can happen!
Hugs!
 
My sprocket used to do that too. Practice putting her in your test spot and giving lots of love while her sitting on her belly with feet tucked so she wont run easily. Pet her firmly from head to toe while playing and rubbing the ears to get her used to the spot n position. After a while you wont need someone to hold her.
You also need to stay calm. I find that I talk to Sprocket and tell him why I am doing the pricking and how important it is...."I have to prick to know how your body is working with ur insulin. Cause unless you can talk my language, this is how i know its working or not. Its really important fo u to trust me. Its hard for me too but we will learn together. Just be patient and when I say dont move then trust me its for a reason. I do this because I love you so much and you will feel better"
Stuff like that. I also found that I use a folded napkin on backside to hold ear helps. Plus I use unscented natural baby wipes folded to hold pressure on ear after pricking is done for like 30 seconds to help with brusing. Neosporin too.
Good luck! You will get there!!
Sprocket is post dka too. 2 times plus 4 other ketone times. He is almost regulated now. His body is feeling good in 100s and stays there for like 6-8hrs now. I am amazed but it can happen!
Hugs!
It's good to hear that Sprocket is doing so well. Millie never liked being held and our initial attempts to test were pretty bad causing her pain (before we knew to use the Neosporin). I try to use my fleece robe because she like it and it seems to calm her a little. I do need to talk to her though, thanks for the suggestion.

I just tested her and her BG was 347! She ate a couple of hours ago but I guess it influences her numbers a lot. Someone is coming for the next bg testing so I can change ears, lol!
 
It's good to hear that Sprocket is doing so well. Millie never liked being held and our initial attempts to test were pretty bad causing her pain (before we knew to use the Neosporin). I try to use my fleece robe because she like it and it seems to calm her a little. I do need to talk to her though, thanks for the suggestion.

I just tested her and her BG was 347! She ate a couple of hours ago but I guess it influences her numbers a lot. Someone is coming for the next bg testing so I can change ears, lol!
This curve is only to establish a baseline so you know where to go with dosing now that you're back home.
 
It's good to hear that Sprocket is doing so well. Millie never liked being held and our initial attempts to test were pretty bad causing her pain (before we knew to use the Neosporin). I try to use my fleece robe because she like it and it seems to calm her a little. I do need to talk to her though, thanks for the suggestion.

I just tested her and her BG was 347! She ate a couple of hours ago but I guess it influences her numbers a lot. Someone is coming for the next bg testing so I can change ears, lol!

Great idea! Comfort wrap is great!
Did I forget to mention that Sprocket never liked being held before? Idk.
Anyway, he was abused as a baby so he is not a snuggler or holder type. When he comes to sit next to me its like....dont move...all stops for him! Lol.
He learned to get his attention by being up high. He used to sit on an old dishwasher we had in our kitchen and hang with me. I noticed from then on that I could give him affection if he was up so now he has taken over half our dining room table but he loves it to look out window too. Spoiled...yes...he deserves it.
He seems to be ok with seeing whats going on by being higher up. It took alot of time but I have always been honest with him and we now have bonded alot. He trusts me even if he grumbles everytime its bg time. People might think I am crazy but I am 200% positive cats hear us and understand us!!
Even if they dont listen...lol.
:smuggrin::p:bighug::joyful:
They can also be trained...just like they train us! Lol

So I hope your Millie just needs that extra chat or hugs to calm her for testing. Before ya know it you will be able to test alone like me. I never thought he would let me.
Hugs!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top