5-25 Munchkin AMPS 304, +3 311, + 5 244, PMPS 292

Status
Not open for further replies.

Munchkin's Reagan

Member Since 2012
Good morning all,

Yesterday's Condo

TGIF! Hope everyone's had pretty blue and green nights!

Munchkin's #'s don't seem to be moving, much at all. Logically I am trying to remind myself that we are starting over and might need a few days, but on the other hand I'm concerned because I just discovered I have been handling the insulin incorrectly. It's was left out one day for 5 hours (69 degree house/mostly cloudy day) but also, what concerns me more is I was filling the syringe wrong and have pushed air & insulin back into into the vial. There are no floaties or cloudiness to her insulin, but I would think we should see some sort of # shift -- But I could be letting the stress get to me.

Also, Sienne & Gabby had suggested adding Miralax to Munchkin's food. She has IBD (Colitis) -- pooping last night was incredibly difficult/painful for her. Has anyone had any issues in regards to Miralax and IBD?

Thanks in advance. I'm hoping to venture out of our condo today and make some introductions and learn about all of you. Hope today is well for all!
 
Re: 5-25 Munchkin AMPS 304 -- IBD, Miralax, Insulin ?

Hi guys ... awww poor munchkin and her LB issues .. that can't be any fun :sad: No advice from me, other then I know quite a few people here use miralax, as well as pure pumpkin .. but I know someone will be along soon to help answer those questions .. I think your insulin should be fine, your house was kept cool while it was out of the fridge and there are no floaties in it .. but again, more experienced members might see something I can't! I hope you guys have a great holiday weekend!
 
Re: 5-25 Munchkin AMPS 304 -- IBD, Miralax, Insulin ?

Thanks, I'm hoping I'm just being paranoid, but thought it wouldn't hurt to get some input. The vet and I put and little to much faith into my memory from last year. I should have insisted on a refresher course.
Mocha is a very gorgeous kitty. I love her coloring. Hope you have a fabulous weekend as well!
 
Re: 5-25 Munchkin AMPS 304 -- IBD, Miralax, Insulin ?

Miralax is good to add, but be sure to add a healthy amount of water to the food because the miralax draws moisture from the body and into the stool to soften it for passing. For Oliver, I always put equal amounts of water to food, and for Shadoe, I put 2 parts food to 1 part water. I gave them 1/2 tsp BID and it helped to keep them fairly regular.

It may be an idea to have the vet see Munchkin; Shadoe needed her anal glands 'expressed' a couple times, and she did NOT like that one bit, but afterward, she was prancing around like a little pony and felt much much better.

I hope things get moving smoothly soon.
 
Re: 5-25 Munchkin AMPS 304 -- IBD, Miralax, Insulin ?

Hello Gayle.
Thanks for the tips. I certainly don't need her to be dehydrated! 1:1 sounds like a good starting point.

I'll have to give the vet a call regarding the glands. She was put under, and actually had an invasive rectal exam (when she was dx with IBD) We had discovered blood and mucus and both fecal tests had shown no parasites. She has to be put under for a basic exam so he made sure to check everything. Anyway, my point, is I'll see if he already did that or not. Thank you!!
 
Re: 5-25 Munchkin AMPS 304, +3 311, -- Insulin ?

Regarding the insulin...

If you are using a vial, it's less of an issue if you inject air into the container. I would check to make sure there are no "floaties" (clear particles) that have formed. Injecting air into the vial will agitate the insulin and, as you know, you don't shake or roll Lantus.

If you are using a pen, it is more of an issue. The pens work on a negative pressure system so you shouldn't inject air. I would still inspect the cartridge to see if there are any floaties.

The vial needs to be refrigerated. The pen does not require refrigeration but keeping it refrigerated will prolong the lifetime of your insulin. You can check with your pharmacist regarding having left the insulin out for several hours.

Please keep in mind that with having skipped 4 shots, Munchkin's shed took a big hit. It takes about 5 - 7 days to establish the insulin depot and you hadn't fully established the depot before you left to be with your aunt. You're going to need to give this a bit more time to see some results. You're starting to see more yellows. I do suspect that Munchkin will need an increase but you need to give this a little more time.
 
Re: 5-25 Munchkin AMPS 304, +3 311, -- Insulin ?

Sienne and Gabby said:
Please keep in mind that with having skipped 4 shots, Munchkin's shed took a big hit. It takes about 5 - 7 days to establish the insulin depot and you hadn't fully established the depot before you left to be with your aunt. You're going to need to give this a bit more time to see some results. You're starting to see more yellows. I do suspect that Munchkin will need an increase but you need to give this a little more time.

Patient Pants, I might need a few extra pairs. :oops: We got to see a ever so slight dip--but I might have thrown a small party. Chicken bites for everyone! I was just so concerned I had ruined the vial. (We aren't using pens) (No particles, either)

The info you shared has put my worries to ease though. Sincerely, whole heartily, thank you!
 
I want to amend what I posted above. I miscounted the days before you skipped the shots. If Munchkin stays yellow tonight, if you're comfortable with it, I think you'll be OK raising the dose tomorrow. Munchkin is back from the Falls and you can be more aggressive, especially since you're monitoring carefully.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top