5/25 Moonie PMPS 238,+4~170 ATE!!!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Roni and Moonie

Member Since 2009
Morning!! Moonie is much better,not even ear flicking, but today she is throwing up!! She ate very little of her food, a few licks lc, then I gave her 2 pill pockets with the baytril split into them & she ate that..Hour & 1/2 later she threw up watery stuff--Tried to get her to eat MC(which she loves) but she ate only a little gravy-she ate 6 temptations, but wouldnt eat any chicken that I cooked for her..
Called vet(not mine -assoc. but ok) & they will call back by 12--
I have to go on a business thing at 1-2pm DH comes home at 4:15, I am already so worried, will try to make her eat some more--Last nite she ate MC, but not today!
Suggestions??
Thanks--Hugs from us!

http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=71705
 
Re: 5/25 Moonie AMPS 195,+3~208-threw up no eat

Hi guys .. I'm glad to hear the ear flicking has gone away .. but I'm sad to hear she is throwing up and not wanting to eat .. I don't have any suggestions myself, but I'll send lots and lots of good thoughts and eating thoughts moonie's way .. and keep you guys in my prayers!
 
Re: 5/25 Moonie AMPS 195,+3~208-threw up no eat

Roni, so sorry to hear Moonie is throwing up! Do you ever give Pepcid, 1/4 tablet Pepcid AC? It always seems to help Maggie's tummy. I hope the Vet calls back soon; I know you're worried, and we are, too. Sending vines and prayers for Moonie, hugs.
 
Re: 5/25 Moonie AMPS 195,+3~208-threw up no eat

I do give her pepcid..she ate a little more chicken..but that's it ..
Waiting for vet to call..she tolerates pepcid well...It's cat food she wont eat.
Maybe I'll try somehting else another cat food?
 
Re: 5/25 Moonie AMPS 195,+3~208-threw up no eat

Roni,
First, BIG HUG. The Baytril may be upsetting her stomach now....I don't have any suggestions but I do hugs well...

And Another one....
 
Re: 5/25 Moonie AMPS 195,+3~208-threw up no eat

She ate a little LC whilke I was standing over her d\saying Good Girl Good Girl!!!
Maybe 6 licks :mrgreen: She ate 6 tempataions, few licks of mc, some chicken so she is gettin there--Waiting for the assoc vet to call..Hugs BBL!
 
Re: 5/25 Moonie AMPS 195,+3~208-threw up

Sending eating vines and keeping it down vines to Moonie.
 
Re: 5/25 Moonie AMPS 195,+3~208-threw up

Poor sweet Moonie...I bet it's the baytril, too. Rocket has such a hard time with that stuff. I'm glad she's feeling better otherwise, though. I hope the vet has some answers for you!
 
Re: 5/25 Moonie AMPS 195,+3~208-threw up

Sorry to hear about the pukus, but being on ABs it isn't unusual. When Tess was on ABs for her UTI she threw up regularly an hour after every pill! Appy was off too. So this could just be a side effect and you have to wade through it. Hugs to you and scritches to Miss Moonie. Sending fell better tummy vines.
 
Re: 5/25 Moonie AMPS 195,+3~208-threw up

(((Hugs for Moonie and you, Roni.))))

I hope she feels better very soon and your worries are eased.
 
Re: 5/25 Moonie AMPS 195,+3~208-threw up

Those AB's are mean to kitty tummies. Even my civvie Jesse James, he of the iron tummy, doesn't feel good on them! Hopefully Moonie will feel well enough to eat more soon; when all else fails, mine will almost always eat baby food.
 
Re: 5/25 Moonie AMPS 195,+3~208-threw up

Hi Roni,
I hope that the vet's call will set your mind at ease. It is probably the Baytril, but it's good to make sure.
Feel better, beautiful Moonie! And eat some of the nice fuds your mamabean has for you. Temptations are OK, but they need to be supplemented with real fuds!

Love and BIG HUGS,

Ella & Rusty

Moonie, I'll let you have some of my FF T& G.
Love,
Rusty
 
Re: 5/25 Moonie AMPS 195,+3~208-threw up

I would get cerenia or ondansetron for nausea - it may help if its due to antibiotics.

Is Moonie walking okay or is she more staying in one place. If you hold her head in your paws do her eyes stay steady? No fast movements? I wonder if they flushed her ears too aggressively.

I hope everything is okay.
 
Re: 5/25 Moonie AMPS 195,+3~208-threw up

Also what was the list of possibilities for walking on her hawks like she was? Did they do blood work and check things like potassium levels?
 
Re: 5/25 Moonie AMPS 195,+3~208-threw up

Oh, Roni, I'm just getting on here and was hoping Moonie was all better. I do think it could be the AB's. All my cats always felt sick with them. I wonder why more vets don't give the injection abs? It was the first time a vet offered it to me for Daphne and it lasted 2 weeks she said. I figured it would bypass their stomach...

Sending healing vines for sweet Moonie to feel all better. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 5/25 Moonie AMPS 195,+3~208-threw up

Poor, Moonie! I also think it may be the baytril. I agree with Karrie -- maybe talk to the vet about a cerenia shot or ondansetron. Both of those have been a lifesaver for Cleo, who has so many nausea issues.
 
Re: 5/25 Moonie AMPS 195,+3~208-threw up

Hoping there is good news on the way. Sending good tummy vines for Moonie.
 
Re: 5/25 Moonie AMPS 195,+3~208+6~206,PMPS 238no eat

Moonie will not eat anything but temptations , chicken and I have tried 5 cat foods tonite--
She ate about 1/2 can cat food all day, but tonite she is not-
Spoke to Vet about 1 pm & He said Moonie's Bloods were FINE!! and Her urine too, her kidney function is the same, high normal like last time--He said I could give her a pepcid which I did tonite -
Hope she will feel better & maybe eat later, or else I will have to syringe feed--
No baby food here, but have lots of cat food!!!
Will call my regular vet tomorrow she will be in in the am--
Send eating vines to Moonie!--How come I can eat anytime even not feeling well:lol:
Cats NEVER --Picky Picky Picky!! Hugs
BTW She just had bloods, I lowered the dose to F0.25U as if she isnt eating anything & is sick, I dont want to upset her tummy anymore trying to get her bgs up and she's not eating anyway!
!!
 
Re: 5/25 Moonie AMPS 195,+3~208+6~206 PMPS 238 no eat

I hope the vet called back Roni, and Moonie is feeling better now. I also would suspect the antibiotics for the nausea & vomiting but it would be good to know if the vet thought there were other possibilities. Poor Moonie. It's been a rough couple of days for her.

Hugs,
Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 5/25 Moonie AMPS 195,+3~208+6~206 PMPS 238 no eat

Hi Roni,
So sorry to hear that Moonie still isn't eating. Good call to lower her dose right now. Did the vet give you any explanation?

I hope that you won't have to assist-feed Moonie; maybe try the baby food first. How are Moonie's teeth? Maybe she has a toothache?

Come on, Moonie, EAT!!!!! Sending "please-eat vines" to you tonight,

Big Hugs,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 5/25 Moonie AMPS 195,+3~208+6~206 PMPS 238 no eat

Healing vines for sweet Moonie! Baytril does the same thing to Tarragon. I hope she eats soon ((((Roni))))
 
Re: 5/25 Moonie AMPS 195,+3~208+6~206 PMPS 238 no eat

I'm sorry Moonie isn't eating tonight, but that's great news about her BW. C'mon Moonie...I know the ABs make you feel icky, but you gotta eat!!
 
Re: 5/25 Moonie AMPS 195,+3~208+6~206 PMPS 238 no eat

The cerenia works magic for Zener too and he is also on 1 mg of ondansetron BID. We think inappetance is the worst. ((((Roni)))) Sending tons of eating vines to Moonie.
Liz
 
Re: 5/25 Moonie AMPS 195,+3~208+6~206 PMPS 238 no eat

Roni, just checking in on you and Moonie. I was hoping she was feeling better. Maggie loves the Stage 2 bf Gerber chicken if you want to give it a try. The Beechnut chicken stage 2 has no cornstarch and is also good but not as tasty, according to Mags. Sending please eat and feel better vines to Moonie. Hugs and love to you.
 
Re: 5/25 Moonie AMPS 195,+3~208+6~206 PMPS 238 no eat

I'm so sorry to hear Moonie is not eating. It sounds like the ab is causing her to feel nausea. When Furball was first diagnosed with diabetes, she wouldn't eat because she felt nausea. The vet had to give me medicine to settle her stomach. Hopefully your regular vet will be able to help you tomorrow. I will be praying for Moonie to be able to eat.
 
Re: 5/25 Moonie AMPS 195,+3~208+6~206 PMPS 238 no eat

I hope Moonie is feeling better soon. The last time Tess had ABs she vomited and wouldn't eat.Our vet gave her cerenia and some sub-q fluids. They can get dehydrated from vomiting.

Pick a food she doesn't like for the assist feeding. She could reuse to eat it again afterwards. I put a can in the blender and an equal amount of water. i didn't have a larger feeding syringe, but even in the ditsy little thing I had it was pretty easy to do. I just had to keep refilling! :roll:
 
Re: 5/25 Moonie AMPS 195,+3~208+6~206 PMPS 238 no eat

Roni,

You must have posted while I was typing. I'm glad the vet called. At least you know it's probably the meds now. I don't think you should worry too much. Look how often Racci does that to me. They are so picky! At least she ate something. I sit with Racci and coax her when she's like that and sometimes she'll eat to humor me. Maybe Moonie will too if you do that?

Hugs,
Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 5/25 Moonie AMPS 195,+3~208+6~206 PMPS 238 no eat

Moonie you gotta eat. It'll help your momma bean feel better too. Roni, did you try putting a little on your fingers and holding it out to her. Sometimes it would help kickstart my Buster if he wasn't feeling like eating.

Sending lots of healing vines and hungry cat energy your way.
 
Re: 5/25 Moonie AMPS 195,+3~208+6~206 PMPS 238 no eat

I'd start assist feeding. Have you done this with Moonie yet?

The vomiting from earlier - how long was it after eating and was it clear or foamy or food?

Did Moonie get a pancreatitis test?
 
Re: 5/25 Moonie AMPS 195,+3~208+6~206 PMPS 238 no eat

Dont' syringe feed a food you want her to eat again on her own. You risk food aversion to that food.
 
Re: 5/25 Moonie PMPS 238 ATE!!!

OMG After oening 7 cans of FF I put them under her nose, & saw her lick her lips at her old
Fav food---FF Chicken feast, which she ate for years!!!!!!!
She ate while I held the dish and told her good girl!!
Ate about 1/3 of a 3 oz can :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Still asking the vet for cerenia, I think she will need it...
You'd think with all the medical advances, they could improve animal meds, especially ABS!
I am so so so thankful she ATE--The well Wishes WORKED AGAIN!
Love you LL!!
Now Please* prayers for my Auntie--Having surgery tomorrow am!!
 
Re: 5/25 Moonie PMPS 238 ATE!!!!!

Good for you, Moonie! Now, keep that good food down, OK?

Many good thoughts and prayers for your auntie, Roni.

Tomorrow will be fine. Ni ni,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 5/25 Moonie PMPS 238 ATE!!!!!

Oh, good! We are so happy to see Moonie eating something. She must have read Karrie's advice on assisted feeding. :smile: Sending calm stomach vines to Moonie and good surgery vines to DA. Thinking of you all. ((((Roni)))).
Liz
 
She ate some more chick feast & played with me while she laid on all her toys & I flung her stick with fabric!
Her legs arent wobbly at all but I see they are a little weak, I really think she needs some help from either adequan or bupe, BUT NOT TODAY!! Or till she is off these abs!!
Blessings to you all for caring about us!! It amazes me the love & support here--
Have sweet dreams, calm sleepus, & good health--Hugs & love from us--Ni Ni LL!

Prayers have been sent from here for my DA--Once she is OK, Moonie is ok, we can move on. Right now
I am so fearful, hope all will be better tomorrow.
 
I'm so glad she ate, Roni! Tomorrow will be a better day. I love when they lie on their toys and play like that. All is well and Moonie's content with a full belly. :smile:

I'm sorry your aunt wound up needing the surgery after all. Will be sending healing vines to her and brilliance vines to her dr.

Goodnight, sleep tight.

Melanie & Racci
 
Way to go Moonie!!! Keep gobbling the fuds up...they're gonna make you nice and strong:)
 
I'm glad to hear Moonie ate some more for you. I will continue to pray she gets better and will be praying for your DA's surgery today. Also praying for comfort for you as you deal with all of this.
 
I have bee looking for you this morning and just caught up w/ last night. Sending whit light for you DA, so sorry to hear that she needed surgery after all. Praying that all went well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top