5/25 Merlin AMPS 313,+2/240,+5/97,+6.5/97,+8.5/166,PMPS 325

Status
Not open for further replies.

Merlin

Member Since 2014
5/25
AMPS 313; 1u

Oh it is so nice to go to bed early and get about eight hours of sleep straight through.

Found a little stomach acid throw up near the litter box this morning (assuming due to CKD).

Hmmm. Merlin not as hungry again this morning. Only ate about 1-2 tablespoons so I open up a new can of Soulistic Polynesian Picnic (P-62,F-35,C-3,Phos DM-.96) from Petsmart. I have never tried this before and it looked kind of gross. I was a little worried that it was kind of an "old" food type of gross and smelled it...yuck. But thought it could be a kitty kind of yummm. I gave Merlin another 1-2 tablespoons of this and he gobbled it all up. Cha-ching.

Merlin gets incredibly "same" amount of numbers. He has the same number that he got yesterday morning. On 5/17 he got the same AM & PM PS number. There are a few others. He and Eddie got the same number at +6 yesterday (well one number off but close). I guess when you are reading spreadsheets all the time, you find those oddities.

Anyway, hoping for another good day...three more days before his dental.
 
Re: 5/25 Merlin AMPS 313,+2/240

He does get very similar numbers. I think that's good though. You want to get that smile curve where it dips low at nadir and goes back to the same level at night I believe. I think the dental will help bring the numbers down some too so that hopefully he can hang out below the renal threshold at AMPS and PMPS. I'm interested to see what happens with him after that dental.

Hope you're having an excellent weekend! Woohoo for getting that sleep!
 
Re: 5/25 Merlin AMPS 313,+2/240

Looking pretty good so far today!

HIs +2 is a pretty big drop, so to me, it looks like a short-lived bounce that is going to clear out quickly. Hopefully he comes down (safely) for a good cycle today!
 
Re: 5/25 Merlin AMPS 313,+2/240,+5/97

5/25
AMPS 313; 1u
+2 - 240
+5 - 97

Looking good. Next test is at +8. Thought since it was similar number as yesterday, I thought I would get a well-rounded look at these two days.
 
Re: 5/25 Merlin AMPS 313,+2/240,+5/97

Wow! Look at Merlin go today! :mrgreen:

Any chance you can get a +6 in?

With what Merlin is doing with the 1u, I'm wondering what you think about holding the 1u for a few more cycles, then trying 0.8u to see if Merlin will continue to give you good nadirs?
 
Re: 5/25 Merlin AMPS 313,+2/240,+5/97

Oops - didn't see your post until 12:25pm but I got it and it was 97. Yeah, I can go a few more cycles to see if he continues and then try a .8. Do you think I should try it before the dental? His schedule is - I will give him his food and insulin Tuesday night and then take him to the vet by 6:30pm. He will stay at the vet so he can get IV fluids, then his dental is Wednesday morning.

5/25
AMPS 313; 1u
+2 - 240
+5 - 97
+6.5 - 97
 
Re: 5/25 Merlin AMPS 313,+2/240,+5/97,+6.5/97

Nice! Looks like Merlin is going to give you a bit of a surf in some green numbers today. :mrgreen: Fingers crossed he stays down and surfs into a good PMPS for you. I'm thinking wait until after the dental. Maybe hold the 1u until and after the dental (unless the numbers say otherwise of course), to see what effect the dental has. If things look pretty much the same, maybe experiment with the 0.8u after that. What do you think?
 
Re: 5/25 Merlin AMPS 313,+2/240,+5/97,+6.5/97

I think that is a good plan. We will wait till after the dental and see what that does. Do you think his pancreas and liver is working? Or is it all insulin? Also he is not hungry all the time. Is that because he is feeling better in those lower numbers?

Oh by the way, Marje responded to my Azodyl question on the health board. I also had BJ and Anita respond too. Marje actually has some experience with Azodyl with two of her cats. Azodyl did not do anything to help. So sounds like it would be just a waste of money not to mention the fact that it probably isn't for diabetic cats. Marje also offered to look at Merlin's lab results. She has had four cats have CKD. So I am going to be putting that together for her. Hopefully I can combine the results somewhere on Merlin's spreadsheets for easy access. So thank you very much for posting that question on the Lantus board.
 
Re: 5/25 Merlin AMPS 313,+2/240,+5/97,+6.5/97

Ya know, I'm not sure with Merlin. Most diabetic cats do have a working pancreas. It's just not working well enough. Kitties are unique in that the damage that is done to the beta cells in the pancreas which produce insulin can heal to the point that they are able to produce enough insulin to keep up with the glucose on their own without exogenous insulin. I can't quite put my finger on why exactly, but something about Merlin's numbers suggested to me that lowering the dose might do it. I think he's pretty unique in that - at least in my humble opinion. For most cats, reducing doesn't work to make a kitty's numbers better - but occasionally, there are some cats that do better on a lower dose. So far, it looks like Merlin just might be one of those cats.

I'm glad Marje responded to you on your question about CKD. She is SUPER knowledgeable about a huge variety of kitty diseases and treatments. :smile:
 
Re: 5/25 Merlin AMPS 313,+2/240,+5/97,+6.5/97

A lower dose was actually the only thing that worked for my Gypsy. She was stuck in high numbers but when I finally lowered, we started getting much better. I have no clue why.

I like the idea of lowering after the dental. I think that will lower his numbers some too.
 
Re: 5/25 Merlin AMPS 313,+2/240,+5/97,+6.5/97,+8.5/166

5/25
AMPS 313; 1u
+2 - 240
+5 - 97
+6.5 - 97
+8.5 - 166
 
Re: 5/25 Merlin AMPS 313,+2/240,+5/97,+6.5/97,+8.5/166

Nice and easy Merlin! No need to get on the rocket ship to space. Hoping it's a slow climb up to PMPS. Great cycle today!
 
Re: 5/25 Merlin AMPS 313,+2/240,+5/97,+6.5/97,+8.5/166,PMPS

5/25
AMPS 313; 1u
+2 - 240
+5 - 97
+6.5 - 97
+8.5 - 166
PMPS 325; 1u

I knew he was coming up too fast. It has been a pretty uneventful day for us as compared to others. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top