5/25 Marvin pmps 344 amps 331 Vet visit this am

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marvin's Mom - Nat

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-24-marvin-amps-367.178325/#post-1968713

Good Morning All,

Well today Marvin had his blood work taken for the IAA and Insulin growth factor tests. Vet weighed him, he has lost some weight @ 18.5 pounds today. He was a good kitty today did not pee in his crate (first time ever), I did use feliway spray, it worked better this time than last. He still growled at vet staff tho ;) Yes my cat actually growls like a dog, must be cause he grow up with my other dog and he didn't learn how to meow until I pet sat a cat for a couple months. It's weird to her a cat growl.

He seems to be doing well today, personality is definitely my Marvin. Still not eating all at once. I eventually get him to eat his food, but I have to present his unfinished food bowl to him a couple times. Like others mentioned it maybe the low numbers from the other day and he just needs to feel more himself by getting used to the change in his body. I will keep an eye out on that.

Vet wants to stay at 6U for now as we saw some activity this week and wants to see if we see some more movement in the next week, just in case we are approaching the right dosage for my baby.

Well that it for the moment. I will try and get a couple mid cycle BG test today, mind you Marvin was really fed-up with that this morning.
 
Good luck with the BW results. Did they tell you how long it would take to get the results back?

And glad that no accidents in the crate in transient. Too funny with the growling at the vet team. :rolleyes:

Glad you will be able to get more mid cycle tests as that will tell how low the Lantus is taking him and will help with dosing. Since you had to shoot late this AM you will need to shoot no more than 11.5 hours from the AM shot tonight. If you were to shoot any earlier than that tonight it would act as an increase. If you need to regain the time frame you were on previously, you can move your shot time up by 1/2 hour a day or 15 minutes each cycle.

Glad that he is eating for you even if you do have to present the bowl to him a few times. These cats know how to train us! :cat:
 
G If you were to shoot any earlier than that tonight it would act as an increase. If you need to regain the time frame you were on previously, you can move your shot time up by 1/2 hour a day or 15 minutes each cycle.

Glad that he is eating for you even if you do have to present the bowl to him a few times. These cats know how to train us! :cat:
They sure do know how to train us :) Like anything else I learned when having challenging times with my pets, the problem was not the Pet, it was me who needed to be trained :)

Yes I want to get back to regular timing for his shots, as when back to work normally amps is at aprox 6:15 am. I thought that there was a little more leeway, as vet had said it was ok on weekends to shot a bit later(1-2 hrs, never more than 2). I will need to be more careful, I preferred shooting later than getting up at 6am and going back to sleep as I love to sleep so when I go back to sleep end up sleeping the day away, 7:30 normally I can stay up. D'oh....

If it's .5 hour per day to get back to the normal routine, I will move the AM cycle back by 30 minutes as this is the one I do not have control over during work weeks :) wish I did. Thank you for clearing that up for me. It's good to know when you are not a morning person ;)
 
Vet wants to stay at 6U for now as we saw some activity this week and wants to see if we see some more movement in the next week, just in case we are approaching the right dosage for my baby.
Has your vet every had high dose cats in their clinic? I seriously doubt it. With high dose cats, you really don't want to sit on a dose too long. You have to try to beat the resistance. You've been on 6 units for two weeks now which is twice as long as even SLGS suggests. I would increase to 6.5 units at your convenience.
as vet had said it was ok on weekends to shot a bit later(1-2 hrs, never more than 2).
I'm also wondering how much experience this vet has with Lantus. :blackeye::rolleyes: If you want to shoot later on a weekend morning, shoot 1/2 hour later the night before, then the other 1/2 hour later in the AM. Shooting later isn't really the problem, it's catching up the time when you have to go back to work. Shooting early can act like an increase, which is OK with the numbers Marvin is in now, but not so much when he gets into good numbers.

You should get the bloodwork results back the end of next week, Friday the earliest, provided the blood sample gets to MSU early next week, which it should. I got the IAA results back on the Saturday and the IGF-1 results on the Sunday, but that's because my vet clinic is open those days.
 
Has your vet every had high dose cats in their clinic? I seriously doubt it. With high dose cats, you really don't want to sit on a dose too long. You have to try to beat the resistance. You've been on 6 units for two weeks now which is twice as long as even SLGS suggests. I would increase to 6.5 units at your convenience.

I'm also wondering how much experience this vet has with Lantus. :blackeye::rolleyes: If you want to shoot later on a weekend morning, shoot 1/2 hour later the night before, then the other 1/2 hour later in the AM. Shooting later isn't really the problem, it's catching up the time when you have to go back to work. Shooting early can act like an increase, which is OK with the numbers Marvin is in now, but not so much when he gets into good numbers.

You should get the bloodwork results back the end of next week, Friday the earliest, provided the blood sample gets to MSU early next week, which it should. I got the IAA results back on the Saturday and the IGF-1 results on the Sunday, but that's because my vet clinic is open those days.
Thank for the info, I will increase tonight to 6.5 as see where that takes us. The vet only had a few cases with high dosage, since I have been researching so has she. She is also more willing to work with me and my budget than the internist. The clinic cat is a diabetic, but regulated by normal doses and is OTJ at the moment. She does seem to be interested, as she also did research when I mentioned the different conditions mentioned here, and I think she may have visited the site too :)

I think if we are successful with Marvin, that she will take what she learned with him and use as reference point with other hard cases. What's nice is she hasn't given up on him either, and it's not all about money for her which is great.

:cat I love my cat lol
 
I'm also wondering how much experience this vet has with Lantus. :blackeye::rolleyes: If you want to shoot later on a weekend morning, shoot 1/2 hour later the night before, then the other 1/2 hour later in the AM. Shooting later isn't really the problem, it's catching up the time when you have to go back to work. Shooting early can act like an increase, which is OK with the numbers Marvin is in now, but not so much when he gets into good numbers.
It's clear your vet has some learning to do, not only about high dose cats but Lantus as well. I'm glad she is willing to work with you and hope she continues to do so.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top