? 5/25 Leonard- PMPS 84 - we stalled then had 84 and 90 - decided to give 1 unit instead of normal 3.5

Marie&Leonard

Member Since 2018
He is doing this about weekly for a little while now .. I’m wondering if his dose is too high, but can’t “catch” the proof. Thoughts/opinions from the more experienced please. Also, opinion on our choice of giving 1 unit. I do have numbers for the blanks earlier this year - just haven’t gotten to it :(
 
With SLGS, cats earn a dose reduction by going under 90. So, looks like the new dose is 3.25 units. Also with SLGS, you aren't supposed to shoot under 90, 1 unit should be OK. But I'd get a test at +1 to make sure he's on his way back up. If not, possibly a +2 as well.

Has been a while since your last post, linked here: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-at-10-propping-with-food-11-5-now-62.236571/

How's Leonard doing other than teasing you with his BG numbers?
 
He hasn’t done well in the past with dose decreases (we usually have ended up going back up on the dose) so I haven’t been taking decreases for readings in the higher 80’s. He’s doing well other than these all over the place numbers.
 
SLGS does allow some customization. Since you have the experience to know he doesn't hold reductions below 90, maybe change it to below 80, and put that on your signature so we know that's your current strategy.
 
Will do - thanks ! Any thoughts on his all over the place numbers ? Sometimes his numbers are nice and flat and then other times large changes. Insulin resistance ? He’s 20 lbs
 
Some cats are just bouncy. He'll be high tomorrow due to the BCS dose.

Is Leonard overweight or just right at that 20 lbs? Extra weight makes it harder to regulate.
 
Some cats are just bouncy. He'll be high tomorrow due to the BCS dose.

Is Leonard overweight or just right at that 20 lbs? Extra weight makes it harder to regulate.
He needs to loose some weight - we are trying to put him on an exercise program :)
Do you feel that giving him the 1 unit is a better choice than if we gave nothing at all ? (When his number isn’t too horribly low)
 
Do you feel that giving him the 1 unit is a better choice than if we gave nothing at all ?
This will depend on several things, your ability to monitor the cycle, HC and test strips on hand, data and experience in similar situations. Experienced people following SLGS can shoot full dose over 90. Stalling to see if he went up might have been an option.
 
Back
Top