5/25 Leo AMPS 423, PMPS 466, +3 324 Lantus Pen Q

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tracy & Leo

Member Since 2011
Morning All,

All is well in Leo land this morning. He's in good spirits this morning, full of purrs. Still chowing down on breffis, stopping a few times to wash up. Every morning I get up he's laying on the floor by his dish, I thought I'd put his bed there seeing as how that's his new favorite spot, but nope he lays right beside it. silly kitty.

He had a very flat evening last night despite the dosecrease so I'm ready for whatever today brings.

Have a great day all.
 
Re: 5/25 Leo AMPS 423

Good Morning Tracy & Leo! Silly kitty just doesn't want to miss it if you happen to drop something in the dish. :smile: Hope you have a great day and that Leo comes down gently off the red floor.
 
Re: 5/25 Leo AMPS 423

'Morning Tracy. Leo's waiting for the dish to refill itself. Hehe :-D
Hope he comes down to a prettier color soon, but not too quickly. :smile:
 
Re: 5/25 Leo AMPS 423

Hi guys .. come on down leo, all the kitties are on the lower floors this morning ... how funny are cats that they would rather lay on the floor then in their soft beds? Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 5/25 Leo AMPS 423

Funny about the bed. I've done the same thing with Champ...notice him laying somewhere all the time, put his bed there, and then he looks at me like "why'd you mess up my space," and then leaves and doesn't go back until I move the bed out again. Cats are so funny!!!

Here's hoping Leo gets out of the red and decides a lovely shade of low yellow (could we hope for lovely blue?) would be more fun.

Have a happy hump day!!! :-D
 
Re: 5/25 Leo AMPS 423, +4 281

Hi Tracy, how cute with Leo sleeping by his dish; they can be so funny at times. Looks like Leo is coming down. Thanks for visiting us. I had no idea either that anesthesia could have those effects. She's had other dentals, but she is getting older (12), and they continue to surprise us. Have a wonderful day.
 
Re: 5/25 Leo AMPS 423, +4 281 Lantus Pen Q

So i called around to find out how much the pens are, as opposed to using the vial (which is what we're using right now)

Costco has 5 pens-3ml each for $93.00. Is this a good price?

Now the pens we can use right up until they're gone....right? They don't have the 28 day expiry date like the vial?
 
Re: 5/25 Leo AMPS 423, +4 281 Lantus Pen Q

I'm not sure about Canadian prices, but that seems pretty good. I got a box mail ordered from a Canadian pharmacy for $95....that's less than half the price we pay here in the US. Did you call other pharmacies to compare prices? That's what I would do.

The pens are good up to their expiration date as long as you store them in the fridge. The 28 days doesn't come into play until you start using a pen. As far as how long the pens last....I use mine for no more than 30 days. It seems like it starts to lose potency around the 28-30 day mark. Others have used their pens longer. I just don't mess around, Tinkles is well regulated and I don't want to risk losing regulation. I would use it until you see signs that it is losing potency. The pens are cheaper than the vials even if you toss them after 28 days, as long as you are on a dose below about 8 units.
 
Re: 5/25 Leo AMPS 423, +4 281 Lantus Pen Q

at a dose of mostly 7.25-7.5 recently, punkin went through the pen in 3 weeks. and i used it up to the last drop. that cost $41 here for the 1 pen. are you saying 5 pens are $93? that's great.

after all the trouble i've had with bubbles & this pen, and the dose punkin's at, i'm going to switch back to the vial. that's the equivalent of 3 pens and costs $111 at our local pharmacy, so i'm just about at a wash on it.
 
Re: 5/25 Leo AMPS 423, +4 281 Lantus Pen Q

Yup i called around and that was the lowest price, Shoppers Drug Mart and Walmart both sell their pens for $102, so Costco was the lowest price.

I think i'll give them a shot, seems more economical to use the pens than the vials. 3 ml compared to the 10 ml which Leo doesn't even come close to using, last month i threw out the vial and we hadn't even used a quarter of it!
 
Re: 5/25 Leo AMPS 423, +4 281, +6 250 Lantus Pen Q

These are the kitty cubes. If you have Target where you are, they may carry them in the store or be able to order them for you (vs. you're paying the ridiculous price to import them).

Nice drop into the yellows!
 
Re: 5/25 Leo AMPS 423, +4 281, +6 250 Lantus Pen Q

Tracy, good evening. I hope that you had a good day.. Leo came down pretty well today huh! That's nice to see.
That price for those pen's, Julie is right on! They are pretty expensive here. I bought a 5pack from a Pharmacy in Canada and got them for $110 and that included shipping.. You are getting a real good deal with that..
I hope that you and Leo have a wonderful night. :-D :-D
 
Re: 5/25 Leo AMPS 423, PMPS 466 Lantus Pen Q

Yeah i thought it was a pretty good deal too, as opposed to paying $80 C for a vial that i waste most of and throw out in a month. I stopped by the vet today and he phoned in Leo's script to Costco today. So i'll give em a shot, the vet had never heard of the pens BTW.

He asked about Leo's numbers and i told him what's been going on (Leo shooting up before shot time), he says "hmmm that shouldn't be happening with glargine" I told him about the liver panicking and releasing its stored glucose and hormones and i stumped him..... :lol: He does want me to raise him up to 2.75 but i told him that i had just raised him yesterday to 2.50, he is following the protocol, he referred to it today. It came from the VIN (veterinary information something?) website.

And that darned PMPS.....ugggggggly! I swear that grass drives his numbers up, he's been outside all afternoon and of course chowing down on grass, it happened on Sunday as well when i took him to the park. I know he would have probably been in the pink or lower red, but not high red!
 
Re: 5/25 Leo AMPS 423, PMPS 466 Lantus Pen Q

HI Tracy & Leo, You should definitely get the pens. They are so cheap in Canada (btw, I thought that you didn't need a prescription to buy insulin in Canada; is it different in your province?).
Don't worry about the bounce/NDW or whatever it is. Just keep on being patient and let your vet know that you are being patient!
Have a great evening. Rusty will see Leo at Billy's OTJ party.

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top