5/25 Kitty Boo 312 AMPS

Status
Not open for further replies.

emmabirch

Member Since 2014
I just don't know why he is all over the place with his numbers. Can't see anything consecutive. I know this weekend I have not been around to do a lot of numbers..but yesterday he was 80 and I was afraid to give him his 1 unit because I was going to be gone all day, came back home last night and it was 484. He did get into his can of food that was left on the counter for later, but it was his food pate'. Then this morning it was 312.

I will get this weekend over and things will settle down hopefully. Have been really busy with the end of the school year things, and tournaments, graduation, and today is the graduation party.

Emma & Kitty Boo
 
Hey Emma,

So sorry to hear your having such a rough time with Kitty Boo`s numbers. Maybe after the holiday weekend is over and people come back from the holiday I can get someone to help you with his dosage. It seems like a lot of folks went away for the weekend,

Terri
 
Hi Emma

Terri asked me to pop in from lantus land and give you some thoughts on Boo's numbers.

I looked back through your previous threads and didn't find that anyone gave you the following information but I did go quickly so please forgive me if it is repetitive. Also, I know you are a diabetic and I believe you use either lantus or levemir? At any rate, the info below might help you with Boo.

Lantus and Levemir are long-acting depot insulins. Through different mechanisms, the insulin is slowly released over time. Each shot you give builds upon the previous one. For this reason, it is important to try and maintain as much consistency as possible. I know this is a very hectic time for you and you have to keep Boo safe. Smart choice because keeping him safe, even though his BG might go up for a few cycles, is most important. Now that just about all the graduation excitement (congrats to your daughter) is finished, then we can see what consistency will do for Boo.

One of the things that helps us determine what is a good dose for Boo is spot checks. You don't have to test every two hours and do a curve. Besides the pre shots (PS) which you get every single time, one cycle try to do a +2 and +6 and the next do a +3 and +7, etc. Of course, if he's running lower, you'll need to test more often. Try to get the spot checks for a few daytime cycles. At night, please try to get at least a +2 test and then a before bed test. If he's dropping, I would encourage you to set an alarm and get up to test later depending on how fast he's dropping. I know this is difficult; most of us deal with being tired from having to occasionally do nightime testing but we just won't know on the dose without a few tests. Do the best you can. :-D :-D

The 1u dose looks like it might have the potential to be a good dose for him but we'll need more tests to determine if it's good for him (he got down to 80 which is a great number) or if it's a tad too much.

His numbers went up so high last night because you started draining the depot with the 0.5u shot on the evening of 5/23 and then the skipped shot on the a.m. of 5/24 (wise decision to skip given your need to leave). There could also be some bounce in there because we don't know how low he went the evening of 5/23. Something to keep in mind is that because of the depot, if you reduce a dose temporarily as you did the evening of 5/23, the cycle might play out the same way as if you had shot a full dose. He definitely came down that night into lower numbers because he was at 80 the next morning. Did he go lower? We don't know.

Now you have to refill that depot with the 1u dose. And if he's bouncing, too, we have to let the bounce clear. AND, when you increase a dose back up, you can also get some New Dose Wonkiness. This is where we put on some patience pants and see what the dose will do. If he goes below 50, you need to reduce the dose down to 0.75u.

If you are not able to do the extra tests, it might be wise to consider dropping the dose to keep him safe since we have no idea how low he gets. Bouncing can be triggered by fast drops or lower numbers than his liver is used to; they don't have to be dangerously low but just lower.

Does that help and do you have other questions? I'll be around today and can check in to see how it's going.
 
thanks for the information. Very helpful. I don't know how long you have been following, but I have it on the spreadsheet where Boo dropped to 30 one morning. That is the longest he goes without eating is through the night. I feed him his last feeding right before I go to bed and I give him his shots at 10 AM and 10 PM now because I am not getting up till around 9:30 I tried to do the 8/12/4/8/12 feeding cycle but found I couldn't. So now I try to feed him 3 to 4 times a day, and his shots are at 10 & 10.

His lowest has been at night time, as he goes from 10 til 9:30 the next morning to eat.

I am home all day tomorrow, but Tuesday I again will be gone most of the day. I would like to stick as close to the dosing at 10 & 10 as I can. I do my levimer just at night before I go to bed (around midnight)..sleep by 1:00 or 2:00 and up at 9 to 9:30

He is doing ok..but i don't think he is used to the lower numbers yet. As when he has a lower number, he bounces back high again.

Emma
 
Timed feeder? Do they make those for the canned food? Is it safe to put food out of the can for like all day?
 
Yes they do make them and you can also put his food in ice trays, freeze, and then put the allotted amounts in the feeder so they thaw during the night. They don't have to be frozen solid. This auto feeder shows dry food in it but I think this is the one many members use for canned or raw food.

Because lev cats nadir later (+8 to +12), are you able to be up by 8 or 8:30 am and check him?
 
Yes there are many mornings I am up at that time, usually because I got to sleep around midnight. Because of my health and sleep problems, I have to get the full 8 to 8 1/2 hours a night. So if I stay up at night to get a 2 hour one in, then I could get up at 8 for the morning time..but I will say, as soon as I do his BS, he is ready to eat. LOL! That is why I am able to get more during the day because he eats every 4 hours and I can test him then. Night time is different. I will need to try to get a couple night time ones in.
 
If you shoot at 10 PM and feed, then you could get a +2 and go to bed at midnight leaving his timed feeder out. Then if you were able to be up at 8 am, you could get a +10 :-D
 
Ok. I am trying to get on a schedule that would work for me. I was feeding at 10 and giving him his shot and testing for PMPS..so if you could help me with a schedule?

Greatly appreciated.
 
Did you see my post above?

-AMPS and feed at 10 a.m.

-spot check around +4 or +5 in different a.m. Cycles to find onset

-vary spot checks during a.m. cycle but alternate around +7, +8, +9 to see when he comes down and, depending on numbers or when you do those tests, also check at +10 or +11

-PMPS and feed at 10 p.m.

-test at +2; set up feeder and go to bed unless he's dropping

-test at +10 (8 a.m.)

You will need to figure out a feeding schedule that works for you and also helps to manage his numbers. My kitty is on lev and I feed her at AMPS, +2, +3, +6, +7 in the a.m. and PMPS, +2, +3, +4, +5 in PM. You might find Boo needs a different feeding schedule and we can help you with that as you get more tests and feed. You might want to put an asterisk in the column on his SS where you feed so we can see what he's doing in relation to feeding.

The goal would be to get every PS and then a couple of spot checks each cycle; one around onset and one around nadir for the a.m. cycle, and then a +2 and a +10 in the p.m. Cycle.

We might have to modify if he goes low or is dropping at other times.
 
You will need to figure out a feeding schedule that works for you and also helps to manage his numbers. My kitty is on lev and I feed her at AMPS, +2, +3, +6, +7 in the a.m. and PMPS, +2, +3, +4, +5 in PM. You might find Boo needs a different feeding schedule and we can help you with that as you get more tests and feed. You might want to put an asterisk in the column on his SS where you feed so we can see what he's doing in relation to feeding.

The goal would be to get every PS and then a couple of spot checks each cycle; one around onset and one around nadir for the a.m. cycle, and then a +2 and a +10 in the p.m. Cycle.

Ok sorry I am confused..are you feeding your cat at AMPS and then again in 2 hours, 3 hours and 6 hours and 7 hours? So if I check at 8, I will have to feed...then in 2 hours..i will check him, feed, him and do shot? in another hour feed him again?

I am confused...sorry.
 
Yes that is when I feed Gracie but it's just an example and I shoot at 7/7 so a very different schedule.

Again, as you get tests and we see what his onset, nadir, and duration are, we can better identify if you need to feed him at specific times or if just free-feeding works.

No, you won't want to feed him at 8 am. You can feed him at AMPS and PMPS and for right now, feed him when he's hungry or set his feeder up at night for when you think he might be hungry but I would try and avoid feeding him after +7 which would be 5 a.m./5 p.m.

So sorry...didn't mean to confuse you. Just wanted to give you an example. Again, it often varies by cat.
 
I updated his blood sugars for the last couple days. I did the +10 at the 8:00 AM test.

If I do it at the 8:00 AM before feed and shot, do I have to do at shot time at 10:00 again?

Emma
 
Yes because a lot can change in two hours. I have one that will drop over 100pts in two hours.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
No biggie I'm horrible about remembering to put p.m. doses and readings in. But then again been doing this for 4 years with 6 different cats of my own.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Today is my first day home so I can get that done. So should I do it like +3 +5 + 8? What times are the best?
 
Mel's idea is fine for today but instead of doing curves, it's better to do spot checks as I suggested earlier up in this thread.
 
I agree, I think spot checks so see how it is running. But when you do spot checks, the best ones to get? I had heard the +5 and someone else said the +7 and I did that one for a while...I was going to do one at +3.

Emma
 
Lantus cats normally nadir between +5 to +7 but any additional tests just add points of data to fill in the whole picture.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top