5/25 Johnny Cat ... +5 tonight is 44

Status
Not open for further replies.

Janice & Johnny

Member Since 2010
We were going to withhold the shot this a.m., but hubby in all his tiredness misinterpreted this and gave the 1u. Maybe we'll eliminate this evening's and let his shed empty out. He'll be monitoring throughout the day and I'll update the SS. Thanks again for the rally last night. :) Assembling a good hypo kit today.

AMPS 247
1 unit
+ 4 ~ 154
+ 6 ~ 93

Johnny's adventures 5/24
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=15371
 
Re: 5/25 Johnny Cat AMPS 247; +4 ~ 154

let's see what tonight's number is, so far he's doing great on this dose so we may or may not still need to empty the shed. I suggest getting at least one more spot check before PMPS, maybe at +8 or +9, in case he's still dropping.
 
Re: 5/25 Johnny Cat AMPS 247; +4 ~ 154

Libby and Lucy said:
let's see what tonight's number is, so far he's doing great on this dose so we may or may not still need to empty the shed. I suggest getting at least one more spot check before PMPS, maybe at +8 or +9, in case he's still dropping.
i agree with libby. also wanted to check... what time zone are you in and what time is PMPS?
 
Re: 5/25 Johnny Cat AMPS 247; +4 ~ 154

Thanks for looking at his chart today.

+9 ~ 101

He's really been pretty steady today, or so it seems.

PMPS is at 8 p.m. Central Time. Just about three hours from now.

Do you guys think a +11 give us the info we'll need to talk dose? I'll be home by 7 and will jump online when I have the #.
 
Re: 5/25 Johnny Cat AMPS 247; +4 ~ 154

yes, get a +11 to see where we're at. that will give us an hour to talk before shot time.
i may be a few minutes late because i shoot and feed at 7...
 
Re: 5/25 Johnny Cat AMPS 247; +4 ~ 154

Sorry, took longer than I thought to get home. First time driving to/from work from the new place (took bus/train before). Anyways, enough about me...

Johnny's latest number is 174 @ +11.25
 
Re: 5/25 Johnny Cat AMPS 247; +4 ~ 154

looks to me like sticking with 1u bid will work well for now.
however, i wouldn't be the least bit surprised to see another reduction coming soon. johnny is responding very, very well. the switch to an all wet low carb diet has helped immensely.
 
Re: 5/25 Johnny Cat AMPS 247; +4 ~ 154

We think 1u sounds good tonight too. Thanks for the confirmation. I'm super nervous about having another hypo situation tonight, though we're better prepared now. Do you have any theories about why that happened yesterday?
 
Re: 5/25 Johnny Cat AMPS 247; +4 ~ 154

Janice & Johnny (starfishj) said:
We think 1u sounds good tonight too. Thanks for the confirmation. I'm super nervous about having another hypo situation tonight, though we're better prepared now. Do you have any theories about why that happened yesterday?
imo, johnny's low numbers were due to an overfilled shed which had the power to override the bounce... the bounce we would normally expect to see. removing dry food from the picture dramatically reduced his insulin requirements. i really wouldn't be surprised to see him race down the dosing scale.
 
Re: 5/25 Johnny Cat AMPS 247; +4 ~ 154

Hope your night isn't as exciting as it was last pm. Several of those nights in a row are hard. Good set of numbers today!
 
Re: 5/25 Johnny Cat AMPS 247; +4 ~ 154

+3 tonight was 31. Yikes. We're thinking we should skip tomorrow's shot and let the shed drain.

We just gave him 1 tsp of low carb FF followed by 1 tsp higher carb FF (FF grilled beef with gravy). He ate it like it was the best meal he'd ever had (first time he's had it).

I'm kind of sad about this. We should have tested him earlier, but his (light-colored) ears look like pin cushions. We felt good about the numbers. Is it possible that the insulin was never necessary after the diet change? I can't imagine if we just gave him another 2u, blindly, like the vet talked prescribed while never mentioning home testing. He could have been dead by now. :(

We'll test in 15 minutes.
 
Re: 5/25 Johnny Cat ... +3 tonight was 31

I'll see you in 15 minutes. Let me look at your spreadsheet and I'll be back.

They LOVE that gravy food. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/25 Johnny Cat ... +3 tonight was 31

are you still there? I see a 42 on his spreadsheet, that's better. You can feed a little more high carb, there's a ways to go in this cycle and it would be nice to get him surfing in the 60's or 70's.
 
Re: 5/25 Johnny Cat ... +3 tonight was 31

i don't think johnny wants to stay on insulin much longer.
let's see the next number and get him bumped up. go ahead and use hc. he's earned a reduction. he has nothing to prove tonight.
and tomorrow morning... imo, the shot should be skipped... no matter what the amps number is.
 
Re: 5/25 Johnny Cat ... +3 tonight was 31

Still here! Thanks for the reply, Libby.

Should we test at +3.75 or wait until +4?

We've got some yummy high carb on hand.

I appreciate your responses! I'm not a morning person, but these late-night crashes are draining...whatever it takes, though.
 
Re: 5/25 Johnny Cat ... +3 tonight was 31

for what it's worth, I doubt you'll have to do this for much longer (*anti-jinx*).

I would test at +3.75, it's still early in the cycle.

You're doing great, and so is Johnny.
 
Re: 5/25 Johnny Cat ... +3 tonight was 31

Sounds good. Should I remove the 911? Although I think Johnny would enjoy internet-drama-king status, he's out of the woods, right?
 
Re: 5/25 Johnny Cat ... +3 tonight was 31

he's going to need watching for awhile yet, but you have at least 4 sets of experienced eyes on this thread. i'd remove the 911 icon.
i'm not going anywhere until i know he's in the clear.
 
Re: 5/25 Johnny Cat ... +3 tonight was 31

cid_008701c86223f513c4b0cbdf6e47lad.gif
 
Re: 5/25 Johnny Cat ... +3 tonight was 31

Thanks for the laugh!! :-D I needed that!

Should we feed between now and +4.5? High carb, low carb? I'm wondering if I will skew his natural numbers.
 
Re: 5/25 Johnny Cat ... +3 tonight was 31

Wow, Johnny's having another drama night. Glad you have HC on hand for him tonight. (Jill - love the laughing cat :-D )
 
Re: 5/25 Johnny Cat ... +3 tonight was 31

Janice & Johnny (starfishj) said:
Should we feed between now and +4.5? High carb, low carb? I'm wondering if I will skew his natural numbers.
probably high carb, but let's see what the number is.
 
Re: 5/25 Johnny Cat ... +3 tonight was 31

+ 4.5 ~ 36.

He's eating another tsp of the higher carb FF (grilled beef with gravy).
 
Re: 5/25 Johnny Cat ... +3 tonight was 31

44 at +5.

He could just be tired, but he's definitely coming across to me as lethargic.
 
Re: 5/25 Johnny Cat ... +3 tonight was 31

go ahead and mix a little karo/syrup into some of the high carb gravy for him to lick.
the karo won't last long, but let's get him bumped up a little more. retest in 20 minutes...
 
Just fed a couple of tsps of the higher card FF (beef) with some honey drizzled on top. We'll test in about 10 minutes. Really getting worried though for the night. The nearest 24 hour animal hospital is 1.4 miles...
 
from here, the three of you are looking good, but i'd certainly understand if you want to go to an ER.
i'm not there and i'm not you. are you awake enough or ready to crash?
i would never discourage anyone from going to an ER.
 
see if johnny will eat a little hc.
the hc has more staying power than the honey.
the honey is good for a quick boost in numbers.
 
for anyone who is following this thread...
i spoke to janice. she and brian are doing fine. johnny is, too.
janice will be posting the next test number shortly...
 
92 at +6.5

:) Thanks for the chat, Jill. Johnny just ate some more of the HC Fancy Feast (beef with gravy) with some honey and some high carb treats. I think we're good for the night. I'll post his AMPS in the a.m., but we're definitely skipping a shot tomorrow a.m.
 
i'd set an alarm to retest in another hour to make sure johnny's still on his way up. he should be, but he's been known to drop through +8. leave food out for him... and definitely skip the shot in the morning!
you guys did great tonight! good talking to you...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top