5/25 Henry C AMPS=397, +5=378

Seeing ketones increased from 0.4 to 0.9 today. What level should they stay under? I think 0.9 is still ok but pretty big jump. When do I need to start worrying?
 
From this document: Ketones, Diabetic Ketoacidosis (DKA), and Blood Ketone Meters
The latest published research/studies in cats indicate ketones will begin to show up at readings of 2.4 and 2.55 on a blood ketone meter:

Measurement of ketones - Weingart_J VET Diagn Invest-2012(1).pdf
Measuring ketones - JSAP_Zeugswetter - 2012.pdf

I would increase tonight and make sure he's staying hydrated. Add extra water to his food if he'll take it. You are OK, just trying to make sure it doesn't go higher.
 
Ok, thank you. will increase tonight to 3.75. He refuses water in the food but i bought this topper and has tons of water and a some chicken breast 30 kcals per tray and no carbs lots of moisture basically. he liked it the first time so fingers crossed. I can use this in addition to his regular 3 oz can and split it tonight. He is the worst at drinking water hence his former urinary issues (tried many different fountains and other tricks). He had less water for the past 24 hrs than usually but also had more moisture in his Weruva food so maybe that is why he was not interested in water. Will monitor ketones closely and try to increase his water intake. 25 mins to PMPS and libre shows 485 already. Hope the increased dose will take down down a notch.
 
Back
Top