5/25, Frodo, amps 404, how soon can we increase dosage

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ruth Ann and Frodo

Member Since 2015
Frodo continues to get high numbers, although the last couple of days look possibly slightly better, even if we didn't test as much. I'd sure love to get him off the 300s and 400s ASAP. The protocol seems to say we should be good to increase by another half unit? Would of course watch him carefully and test often.
 
Here is your previous post here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-23-frodo-amps-hi-got-some-overnight-numbers.138323/We like to include the links so people can go back and see what was discussed previously.

Have you looked at the Sticky Notes on the Tight Regulation Protocol and the Start Low Go Slow Method? They are the two ways we use here for determining doses. The answers to your question would be different depending on which you pick. You might want to put either TR or SLGS in your signature, so people can tell at a glance and don't have to keep answering the question. With TR, it suggests getting at least two tests per cycle, the preshot and one other so we can see what the cycle looks like. Without that data, it's harder to tell if Frodo is just high and needs more insulin, or is bouncing because he got low when there were no tests. A before bed test each night is handy as a large number of cats go lower at night.

Ok, with that preamble, there are two answers. With TR, I think you've been at this dose long enough and can go up to 3.5U. If you are following SLGS, you'd hold the dose for two more days (a total of a week), do a curve, and decide what to do based on the results, likely going up by .25 units.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top