5/25 Faraday AMPS 83, 111 +2, 79 +3, 83 +5.5, PMPS 69, 83 +2, 70 +4

what was the latest advice on holding this dose? I am guessing he will need another increase but then again, maybe not. This dose is definitely getting much closer to where he needs to be but I wonder if 1.75 is still going to be needed
 
what was the latest advice on holding this dose? I am guessing he will need another increase but then again, maybe not. This dose is definitely getting much closer to where he needs to be but I wonder if 1.75 is still going to be needed

This is a great question. I like to increase on Friday nights so I'll be around, so I suppose I'll give him a few more days on this dose and see where we are. If his nadirs have bumped up out of the 50s, I'll feel more comfortable if we have to increase, as I don't want to push him down too far! But we haven't seen the 50s since Sunday, so it's looking likely that we'll need an increase? I just feel a little uncomfortable with green PS numbers bumping the dose up, but we'll see what the collective wisdom of the group thinks!

The TR publication (Roomp and Rand, 2009) is happy with anything between 50 and 200, which obviously we're sitting firmly in, but this group seems to have slightly more stringent requirements for moving forward? I'm obviously far too new to all this!
 
This is a great question. I like to increase on Friday nights so I'll be around, so I suppose I'll give him a few more days on this dose and see where we are. If his nadirs have bumped up out of the 50s, I'll feel more comfortable if we have to increase, as I don't want to push him down too far! But we haven't seen the 50s since Sunday, so it's looking likely that we'll need an increase? I just feel a little uncomfortable with green PS numbers bumping the dose up, but we'll see what the collective wisdom of the group thinks!

The TR publication (Roomp and Rand, 2009) is happy with anything between 50 and 200, which obviously we're sitting firmly in, but this group seems to have slightly more stringent requirements for moving forward? I'm obviously far too new to all this!

you would think at this point, doing TR with Hendrick for nearly 6 months, that I would have all this down but I do not. I read the TR documentation and still don't know what to do, so thank goodness for people like @Bandit's Mom
 
i just re-read TR for what feels like the hundredth time and my takeaway is that I just dont know. My best guess is Faraday is in Phase 3 and you'll be advised to just hold this dose for as long as needed, but like you said the advice I see given here seems more aggressive than that.


Phase 3: Holding the dose
Try to keep the cat at a dose where the BGs are in the 50 to 200 mg/dl range for as much of the day as possible. The majority of cats are actually able to achieve consistent BGs in the 50 to <100 mg/dl range with consistent dosing. A well regulated cat looks like this.

Don't let the cat go below 50 mg/dl (N.B. there are some cats that do well with BGs >=40 mg/dl and are difficult to regulate unless the dose is held at BGs in this range, but a cautious approach should be used until you are sure your cat reacts this way). 200 to 220 mg/dl is approximately the renal threshold for glucose and important for renal health and general recovery. This phase may last a long time (many months). Periodic slight adjustments are necessary in many cases.

If your cat remains in this range, testing for ketones is no longer necessary. But if your cat should, for example, develop an infection and suddenly have higher BGs as a result, start testing for ketones immediately and adjust the dose appropriately.
 
what was the latest advice on holding this dose? I am guessing he will need another increase but then again, maybe not. This dose is definitely getting much closer to where he needs to be but I wonder if 1.75 is still going to be needed
He saw nadirs in the 50s just a couple of days back. It's possible he is bouncing a little bit from them. This is the 6th cycle after those 50s. You might see some action today.
See what he does today (and maybe even tomorrow) before you think about an increase.
 
Looks like Faraday is just enjoying a nice flat cycle. I'll take it! I'd rather have an earlier bedtime anyway, so I'm not complaining!
 
Back
Top